Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Dakota Middle School - 31

Public | 6-8 | 696 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 29, 2011

My son has attended DMS for 3 years now, he was so excited about the new school year, and the 1st day. All of the staff @ this school have been nothing short of awesome. When your child is excited about school, and eager to go back, what can i say.. it just makes me smile. Keep up the good work DMS. and Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2008

My son attended DMS last year as a 6th grader and I couldn't be more pleased with how well he adjusted! I was apprehensive at first because so many people want to blame the schools or the school system for their childrens problems. My son hangs around with a great group of kids with parents who are very involved and have taught their children manners. I wouldn't think of my child going anywhere else. I LOVE core 602 teachers, also the rest of the staff is fabulous and is very helpful when you have a need or concern. This school is awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2007

I am a parent and think this school needs a lot of work. There have been several write ups in the paper lately and nothing good might I ad. My child is very unhappy here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2007

My child goes there and she says its fun and awsome. It is a great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2006

DMS has been a supportive, safe and positive learning experience for our student. Yes, many behavioral problems have been observed by our child in the classroom, but I do not feel this is a teacher or administrative deficiency; if there is a problem with the student population as a whole, it can be largely attributed to the actions of the parents. All parents must be disciplinarians and have daily involvement in their child's activities. Core manners must be taught at home; this will alleviate 90% of classroom disruptions. The teachers at DMS (all grades) have been professional and diligent in their work and have been so appreciative of students who put academia and respect at the top of their list while attending school. Parents must step up and work side by side with the wonderful staff who work so hard daily for their children-no matter what school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

Hello my name is Davida J. and I do not have any kids that attend Dakota Middle School but I was a student there. I attended Dakota for my 8th grade year, from moving from new york and loved every minute of it, the staff is increadible and the teaching there is high quality. I have now moved back to New York and was planning to attend Central. When walking that stage for my 8th grade graduation, I was proud to say that i was just 1 of many students that attended Dakota. I love all my core 802 teachers i had and hope to here from you soon. But the one person i thank for getting through the school year was my councilur Mr. James! I love you and miss You dearly. Personal once attending dakota i think that it is one of the very best schools in Rapid City.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 21, 2006

My son went to Dakota Middle School and it was horrible! The treatment included being literally yelled at in front of his class for sitting sideways in his desk, being called names by a teacher (i found this out after pulling him from the school), etc. He is ADHD and the school obviously has no clue how to deal with such children. I pulled my son from the school when i realized what was going on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2005

Deleted: My daughter and I had many bad experience at this school. We ended up pulling her out of this school 2 months into her 6th grade year. The school says they have a no tolerance policy. In fact they tolerate all kinds of behaiver and then try to blame it on your child. According to them It was my daughters fault she was pushed down a flight of stairs. I have talked to a number of parents who have taken their children out of this school because of this same type of problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2004

As a parent of two former students who attended North Middle School, I honestly have to say they did and excellent job on preparing my students for the High School years. The school did a tremendous job of supporting me and my students as I was a single parent. My students were never made to feel out of place, something greatly appreciated!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 76% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
64%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Dakota used the Dakota State Test of Educational Progress (Dakota STEP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The Dakota STEP is standards-based, which means it is aligned to South Dakota's educational standards and measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state. The standards-based Dakota STEP results are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: South Dakota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 71% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Dakota used the Dakota State Test of Educational Progress (Dakota STEP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The Dakota STEP is standards-based, which means it is aligned to South Dakota's educational standards and measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state. The standards-based Dakota STEP results are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: South Dakota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 75% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 73% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Dakota used the Dakota State Test of Educational Progress (Dakota STEP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The Dakota STEP is standards-based, which means it is aligned to South Dakota's educational standards and measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state. The standards-based Dakota STEP results are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: South Dakota Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Dakota used the Dakota State Test of Educational Progress (Dakota STEP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The Dakota STEP is standards-based, which means it is aligned to South Dakota's educational standards and measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state. The standards-based Dakota STEP results are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the South Dakota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Dakota Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Dakota used the Dakota State Test of Educational Progress (Dakota STEP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The Dakota STEP is standards-based, which means it is aligned to South Dakota's educational standards and measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state. The standards-based Dakota STEP results are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the South Dakota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Dakota Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Studentsn/a
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Americann/a
Whiten/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 South Dakota used the Dakota State Test of Educational Progress (Dakota STEP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The Dakota STEP is standards-based, which means it is aligned to South Dakota's educational standards and measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state. The standards-based Dakota STEP results are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the South Dakota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Dakota Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 78%
American Indian/Alaska Native 11% 12%
Hispanic 3% 4%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
Black 1% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A39%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

615 Columbus St
Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone: (605) 394-4092

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT