Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rapid Valley Elementary - 12

Public | K-5 | 550 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 28, 2010

I would like to comment on the early dismissal times. It may seem as though students are getting less classroom time, but the total weekly instructional time is the same as for other Rapid City schools. The difference is that Rapid Valley has longer school days on the other four school days, going to school earlier and dismissing later than schools that do not have early release on Wednesdays.


Posted November 12, 2009

I have to say I am pleased (so far) with my daughters education at Rapid Valley. She is excelling in all her studies. She is in 1st grade. I do think that the early dismissal on Wednesday is a bit ridiculous. I hope that she will continue to excel, but if she doesn't that is when I will take a closer look at the school, because we go above and beyond at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 23, 2008

I do have to agree with the other parents. I think that Rapid Valley really needs to take a look at what they are teaching compared to the other schools. Also having school get out early on Wednesday is a really bad thing, our children need to have the same chance as the other schools and without the same schedule that is not happening.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2008

Having Twins going too this school, I can really tell that some of the teachers are lacking the quility that some of the other kids are getting. It's just the luck of the draw, if you get a good teacher or not... One Twin always gets a good teacher and the other one well, not so much... Last Year I went to the pricipal for help with the one twins needs and she told me if I have a problem with one of her teachers, I can go to the teacher direct, I know I do not want any unsatisfied parents going into the classroom while my child is in class. You will not find teachers at the school after the kids are gone. It seems that they can not wait to rush them out the back doors....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2006

I think the class size is rediculous in this school. 25 in a Kindergarten class is too many. Only having school until 12:10 on Wednesdays is putting the teachers priorities before the students. If we want these kids to be adequate to the rest of the students in America, they need to have school 8-3 Mon-Fri. I like the teachers I have met in this school. I am just not sure about the scheduling and class size.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2005

I have 3 grandchildren in this school. None are getting the education that I believe they should be. One is in grade five and can't read or do math. One is in 3rd grade and is failing. They are both very smart children. Something is wrong! We can't afford a tutor and don't know where else to turn for help. We help with homework every night and they 'get' it at home. Where does the parent's responsibility end and the teacher's begin?? I am bewildered that the quality of education is so poor that at this school there are children being passed from one grade to the next without the knowledge that they need. Investigative math and no phonics - what is that? I am disappointed greatly in Rapid Valley Elementary School!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 78% in 2012.

82 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
50%

2009

 
 
57%

2008

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

82 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
64%

2009

 
 
66%

2008

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 South Dakota used the Dakota State Test of Educational Progress (Dakota STEP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The Dakota STEP is standards-based, which means it is aligned to South Dakota's educational standards and measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state. The standards-based Dakota STEP results are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: South Dakota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2012.

79 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
64%

2009

 
 
64%

2008

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2012.

79 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
74%

2009

 
 
65%

2008

 
 
78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 South Dakota used the Dakota State Test of Educational Progress (Dakota STEP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The Dakota STEP is standards-based, which means it is aligned to South Dakota's educational standards and measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state. The standards-based Dakota STEP results are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: South Dakota Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

87 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
68%

2009

 
 
64%

2008

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2012.

87 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
68%

2008

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 South Dakota used the Dakota State Test of Educational Progress (Dakota STEP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The Dakota STEP is standards-based, which means it is aligned to South Dakota's educational standards and measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state. The standards-based Dakota STEP results are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: South Dakota Department of Education

Math

All Students51%
Female44%
Male58%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students63%
Female67%
Male61%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 South Dakota used the Dakota State Test of Educational Progress (Dakota STEP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The Dakota STEP is standards-based, which means it is aligned to South Dakota's educational standards and measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state. The standards-based Dakota STEP results are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the South Dakota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Dakota Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
Female67%
Male66%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students71%
Female69%
Male73%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 South Dakota used the Dakota State Test of Educational Progress (Dakota STEP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The Dakota STEP is standards-based, which means it is aligned to South Dakota's educational standards and measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state. The standards-based Dakota STEP results are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the South Dakota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Dakota Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Female76%
Male85%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities72%
English language learnersn/a

Reading

All Students77%
Female74%
Male80%
Blackn/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Native Americann/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities63%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2011-2012 South Dakota used the Dakota State Test of Educational Progress (Dakota STEP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math. The Dakota STEP is standards-based, which means it is aligned to South Dakota's educational standards and measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state. The standards-based Dakota STEP results are displayed on GreatSchools profiles. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the South Dakota Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: South Dakota Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 81% 76%
American Indian/Alaska Native 9% 16%
Two or more races 6% 1%
Hispanic 2% 3%
Asian 1% 1%
Black 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A40%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2601 Covington St
Rapid City, SD 57701
Phone: (605) 393-2221

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT