Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Harvey Dunn Elementary - 54 1

Posted October 08, 2015
- a parent
I sent my needs son there a year , he was crying a ruffled up everyday when I arrived when I enrolled him they assured me it was not going to be like that, he was picked on beat up and teased by other kids and I brought it to attention of the teacher she blew me off so I went to the principal 3 times and was once actually told it was good for him it'd make him "fit in" it absolutely ruined his and my view on public special ed and if I even mention school now he panics then I pulled him from school and they threatened to report me for taking him out of school he had bruises nightmares and wet the bed and stopped trying to talk altogether then they harassed me for months over scholar lunches and things that weren't relevant because he was no longer in school there!. . . I wish I could give it -50 stars what a nightmare

Harvey Dunn Elementary - 54
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted October 08, 2015
- a parent
they don't teach their students to respect other children or people who are different they allow kids to tease bully and disrespect eachother


Harvey Dunn Elementary - 54
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted October 08, 2015
- a parent
they teased and bullied my son and the teachers did not step in to help, and when I went to the principal she didn't either

Harvey Dunn Elementary - 54 5

Posted September 29, 2013
- a community member
my school is awsome because they are nice and try very hard to improve our learning skills !!!!!! :)

Harvey Dunn Elementary - 54 1

Posted April 23, 2013
- a parent
This is one of the WORST schools I have ever sent my child to. The test scores are probably so high because the curriculum is so elementary (they were teaching things in the first grade that my daughter learned in pre-k at a school in Wisconsin). My daughter, who has an IQ of 150, was said to be "average" by the teacher, and was not allowed to take the test for TAG because the teacher did not think that she was in the 97th percentile. I tested her privately and turns out she was in the 99.9 percentile. I pulled her out of this school, and I enrolled her in the 2nd grade at Challenge Center (so she skipped first grade). I am disgusted that the school would not give my child the enrichment that she needed and that I begged them for. I am disgusted that they brushed her off as "average "without testing her. In cases like this, only the child suffers. They do not understand progressive learning; they seem to assume that all children are the same and learn in the same capacity, which they do not. Library books were censored. They reward with candy. If you are moving to Sioux Falls from out-of-state, do not be fooled by the GreatSchools Ratings. The name should be called Harvey Dumb.


Harvey Dunn Elementary - 54 5

Posted August 22, 2012
- a parent
Excellent teachers with great teacher - student interactions. transferred my son here from a private school in Sioux Falls.. He hated going to his former school. He enjoys going to Harvey Dunn school and we have no problems getting him up for school. He is excelling in his studies! The principle has strong leadership skills and she is great to work with.

Harvey Dunn Elementary - 54 5

Posted August 21, 2012
- a community member
I just finished 6 years of school at Harvey Dunn, and I loved all the teachers. Counseling there helped a lot with family and friend troubles, and there were no bullying issues at all. The teacher were always making sure their students were happy, and they would not give up on any kid that did not get average. Band, and orchestra was fantastic, they have a great system. I loved the principal, she was very kind and smart. There are lots of fun things and activities to do at Harvey Dunn. Love it!

Harvey Dunn Elementary - 54 5

Posted June 15, 2012
- a parent
I have put 5 children through this school and find it EXCEPTIONAL! The teachers are amazing and when my last child moved on I cried!! When we moved I made sure we could open enroll here as I knew I did not want my children anywhere else! Thank you for 14 years of excellence!


Harvey Dunn Elementary - 54 5

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
I had two children attend Harvey Dunn and the experience was exceptional. The teachers, principal and parent involvement make this school stand-out in performance. Having the Community Center on the same site is a tremendous benefit to the children.

Harvey Dunn Elementary - 54
no rating

Posted April 29, 2010
- a parent
The dedication of the parents and teachers to the school and school children is amazing!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Harvey Dunn Elementary - 54
2400 South Bahnson Ave, Sioux Falls, SD  57103
(605) 371-4120
Last modified Harvey Dunn Elementary - 54 is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Harvey Dunn Elementary - 54 Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. Top