Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Antioch Middle School

Public | 5-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 23, 2013

Would not want my children here under current administration. Executive principal is the worst I've EVER seen or heard of. Would advise against AMS until change is made in leadership.


Posted May 9, 2011

I happen to go to Antioch Middle School, and I am getting sick and tired of people judging my school without knowing a SINGLE thing! Parents talk like they know, but they don't! Antioch Middle School is NOT filled a bunch of gangsters and violence! I refused to be called that, when I know I am not! And fights are rare! "Don't judge a book by its cover" whatever happen to that? Antioch Middle School is the best!


Posted May 2, 2011

Antioch Middle School is NOT the most horrible school on the planet! This school is always spoken in the same sentence with the words "horrible","gangs","fights","no good teachers", etc. Show me a school that has no gangs, or fights,or a weak teacher! there is none. Not even Montgomery Bell! The principal is great, and the students are so helping. In 3 days, they raised over $1000 for Haiti relief, and donated over 97 new pairs of shoes. Oh yeah, a gang school could NEVER pull that off. And in the floods last year, the students, teachers, and community volunteers helped it get back on its feet, with NO government help. This school truly is amazing. and, the students ARE intellectually. do not blame the teachers, when some students refuse to learn. that is the student's, or the student's parent's problem. a TEACHer's job is to TEACH, not to disiplince children that should alreay have been disiplined at home. only thing remotely wrong with this school is the lack of parental help.


Posted October 18, 2010

I did not like this school at all! I was so bad. My children were forced to do (pushups, situps, etc) in the classroom. My son cried everyday after school for 1 month at this school. We moved to Brentwood, TN. Now we go to Brentwood Middle School!!! We willever return there again. My osn now loves school at Brentwood!!! :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 29, 2009

My son attened this school 5th-8th grades and were some of the worst times of his life. The teachers don't care and pick favorites, the principle did'nt care and most of the students are unruly and bullies. I wish I could turn back time and have sent my son to another school. I don't think he has any good memories of middle school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2009

Since my son who is in the 5 the grade has attended this school his educational needs, social interactions and self esteem has dropped to the lowest that i have ever seen. There is a lack of communication between the teachers and the office faculty including the principle. The guidance counselors at the school take it upon themselves to not investigate things such as children with disablilities personal needs which has lead to invalid information . Some of the teachers in the school are still stuck with blinders on from the middle ages. They have not, what I feel, meets the no child left behind becaus my child was being left behind. This school needs to go back to ground level and help the teachers to learn to meet all the childrens needs no matter how tedious it may be to the educators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2009

I've been at this school for two years ad its been the worst of my life. This school has terrible discipline and their only real discipline is either detnetion, no eating in the class room for lunch, and for the act of violence iss and rarely oss. The principle rarely ever runs the schol or deals with the principle. so instead of the principle running the school the assistant does everything. The children are rude and act vey imature about things. Every few students in my class are passing and paying attention while others fail miserably without knowing abou the lessons. Some teachers actually pick favories letting them get off very easily. This sochool is also filled with rumors and people wanting to fight people because of those rumors other imature children have said.So no i dont recomend this school at all unless you want your child to come up terrible.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 6, 2008

Antioch Middle School is a poor school. My daughter and son went to this school for two years. My daughter she got perfect attendence and she did nt get recongize for it. She also got Honor Roll but she got recongize for Honorable Mention.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 2, 2008

Of all the people saying that AMS is bad and no kid has any discipline they are wrong.We have the best teachers here. The only problem is that the school is old and needs to some freshening up. The discipline problem is because of the students. Not the staff but the students. The students choose to behave that way which cause them to get into trouble. Parents think that just because this school isn't that tough and all they can take advantage of teachers and make their children not have to go through the consequences other kids go through. I personally hate AMS. It think it's an old school and nobody really cares. The staff don't like each other and don't get along very well.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 11, 2007

I think Antioch Middle School is a great school, although there are many many many problems that have came about in the last year. The new principle is very young therefore the children do not respect her like older more experienced principles would be respected. The grade level principles on the other hand have been there much longer and are way better than the new ''head principle'' at handling behavior problems and other things that might arise. I think discipline at this middle school is the biggest problem which affects learning, which causes a distraction and its just a bad situation to be caught up in. But every school has its issues Antioch Middle just has more than others.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 6, 2007

I have more bad than good experiences with the administrators.My experiences with a majority of the teachers have been good and bad. I know there has to be some good teachers there...we just have not been assigned to them as a student yet. There are problems at the school- some teachers with poor attitudes and or poor communication skills, a principal is of no use and may as well not be there for all the good she's done.The Grade Level principals are top notch and run the school.Maybe if they take a proactive approach with discipline & students,partner with parents and insist on parental involvement I believe the school will have a better reputation in the community,better grades,test scores and efforts from the students. I do not think that the expectations are high enough or clearly stated. Are the students there to be baby-sat or be challenged and learn?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2007

The school does have some problems, but it IS a good school and the teachers DO care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2007

my son is in the 7th grade and he loves the school, he is in almost every sports. He took the gateway test today for algebra credit. He walks to school everyone, no problem. He is an 'A' and 'B' student, just 1, 'C'. The students have to have some responsibilities also and the parents. He is mad about having to wear standard attire. He makes good grades and he does not sag.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2007

My Stepson moved in with me and my wife last Christmas. He was enrolled in AMS for the remainder of the year. He had a great start with the school however as the year ended and the New School year began. He was bullied by other students and there was a strong lack of involvement by the teachers to prevent the issues. Some teachers seemed to genuinely care for the students others seemed to feel the system had failed and lost interest in trying. There is a serious lack of Discipline in the school. I know some of the problem lies with us but we can't control what happens at the school. We hope that the Faculty would attempt to control things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2006

This school alone has made me regret that I moved my family into this area. Without a basic foundation of discipline, all extracurricular activities are merely diversions from their failing program. As for parent involvement, It would seem to me that parents that want to make a difference and get involved are met with a frustrating wall of apathy put up by the administration and staff. Its a no win situation.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 23, 2004

this school has a great acedemic program! Although we do change principals alot the school holds it together pretty well! We have alot of after school programs like basketball soccer football cheerleading dance team wrestling and we even have our very own newspaper staff! Great Job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2004

This school has also been a big disapointment for us. My 5th grader needed help in reading. He was in an IEP program for reading and math. I feel this school did not provide the help he needed to learn and join his regular class. After talking with one teacher I had the feeling they do lable the kids here and at this point in their education they feel they can't or won't learn, so why push them. Because of my husbands occupation we move around. We have been in 4 different states and this school district by far could use help.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
15%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
15%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
37%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
20%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
26%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
26%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
5%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
37%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
21%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
22%

2010

 
 
6%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
28%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
15%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

162 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

149 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
19%

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
3%

2010

 
 
1%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
19%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
17%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students15%
African American9%
Asiann/a
Hispanic13%
White33%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Students with disabilities11%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students34%
African American30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
White40%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students28%
African American27%
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
White40%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learners19%

Social Studies

All Students75%
African American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
White83%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learners65%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students26%
African American24%
Asiann/a
Hispanic21%
White39%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learners14%

Reading/Language Arts

All Students31%
African American28%
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
White37%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learners10%

Science

All Students36%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
White42%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learners19%

Social Studies

All Students77%
African American69%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
White90%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learners52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students33%
African American27%
Asiann/a
Hispanic29%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White49%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learners18%

Reading/Language Arts

All Students29%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Hispanic35%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White32%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learners6%

Science

All Students46%
African American44%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White54%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learners12%

Social Studies

All Students65%
African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic66%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities44%
English language learners30%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students19%
African American22%
Asiann/a
Hispanic14%
White11%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learners19%

Reading/Language Arts

All Students29%
African American20%
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
White41%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilities16%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students43%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic47%
White43%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilities24%
English language learners12%

Social Studies

All Students58%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
White73%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities44%
English language learners15%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

28 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
63%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students93%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 46% 7%
Black 26% 23%
White 24% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 90%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Dance
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5050 Blue Hole Rd
Antioch, TN 37013
Phone: (615) 333-5642

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT