Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Henry Maxwell Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 681 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 25, 2013

This is a great school! Its a wonderful environment with faculty that works together to serve the children and families of the community. I am so tired of the bad press and gossip that Antioch/Cane Ridge schools get. Get involved,visit and make a difference. Henry Maxwell has given my family as good of opportunities and education as any other school. Thanks so much!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2013

First off, my wife and I are quite overprotective parents. Also, our children transferred from a private school that we loved. So when we enrolled our children here we were cautiously optimistic. However, this school has been absolutely amazing. The faculty are incredible. Our daughters have felt safe and loved by their classmates and teachers. The lunch staff are top notch. This school has such a close knit community feel that I don't know if we could have been any happier. This is an amazing school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2013

Henry Maxwell is one of the most promising schools in the Metro Davidson County school system. The principal and the entire staff inspire and encourage the students to be their BEST.


Posted February 15, 2013

We LOVE this school. It has outstanding and exceptionally dedicated teachers, administrators and staff. Has a welcoming and caring environment a strong PTA and parental support. I wouldn't want to send my kids anywhere else! Maxwell Elementary is definitely the best kept secret in Metro in my opinion.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2012

My kids love this school the teachers are awesome, I hate that we are being rezoned next year I hope this won't be to hard on my kids. But oveall a wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2011

My son attends Maxwell Elementary and Is doing so well. I hate that they are changing his zoning for the next school year. Because he truly loves he school as well as teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2010

My children transfered to this school. They have learned more at Henry Maxwell. They are being challanged and the Teachers are well aware of the help the child needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2009

I am really pleased with my son's teacher, Ms. Eagan. What a saint she is. My son enjopys going to school to learn and read. Thank you sooooo much Ms. Eagan
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2009

I love this school, it's great administration & faculty. My son is in Miss Assalone's class, and although she is new to the school this year, me & my son adore her. She has been there time & time again whenever I have a question about an issue & her communication has been excellent. My son actually loves going to school & he knows that when he has to pull a card, it's not because he didn't know the rules going in. I hope that my son has teachers like Miss Assalone for the rest of his education career.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2009

I love this school the staff is great and a big thanks to Miss Allison and Mrs Ashworth for making me feel that my son was going to be ok and showing me a different side of my son too We made it to 1st great with all your help and understanding so thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2009

I have had 2 children at Maxwell & have been extremely satisfied. We were blessed to have Mrs. Shreeve for a teacher. She was always very professional yet friendly with us, and she has excellent communication skills with both the students and parents. Our kids loved her. She always made learning fun and challenged the kids to do their very best and beyond. Because of her instruction and leadership my children are both doing very well now in middle school. She went the extra mile and turned my son and daughter into students who love to read and learn. Unfortunately, I wasn't so pleased with the principal, Ms. Ashworth. I found her to be very unfriendly and unapproachable. She seemed to never have time to talk to parents or students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2009

My daughter started kindergarten at Maxwell. She felt completely invisible. So many children in her classroom had to have constant discipline that she always was stressed out. She hated school and refused to do homework. When she did excel at a project, it was not given notice. Whe really only felt comfortable in art class, where she had a fantastic teacher who recognized what she is capable of. The atmosphere of the school felt like a military camp, especially the lunch lady screaming all during lunch. I tried to be invovlved as a parent, but was always told that I was not needed. We moved mid-year and found a fantastic school. My daughters grades and attitude turned around completely. We feel that there are some great teachers at Maxwell, but our overall experience there was terrible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2007

Maxwell is a great school! My son has been diagnosed with ADHD which has been a real headache when it comes to school work! However, Mrs. Matthews and Mrs. Westerman have gone out of their way to ensure my son excells ... while still tending to their other students. Their dedication and hardwork is VERY MUCH appreciated!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2006

Maxwell has been a great school for my children. I am not sure what some of the other parents who have left a review have witnessed with the discipline, and not seeing the principle, I believe that is simply a lack of being involved as a parent. I have a kindergartner that is reading on a first grade level and my second grader is reading on a fourth grade level, thanks to their teachers. It seems to be all of the teacher's mottos to allow the child to continue learning even if it exceeds the expectations of the curriculum. I love that! That means that children have no reason to every be 'bored' at Maxwell. The school definitely requires a lot of parent involvement academically, but that's ok, a parent should be involved in their child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2005

My son who was in the second grade last year had a great year at Maxwell. Mrs. Woodroof was an outstanding teacher! If ever there was an issue it was taken care of. I would recommend Maxwell Elementary for all children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2005

I have had one child at Maxwell k-2 and one child in kindergarten. I have no complaints. My children are bright and happy. Both of my children are reading way above grade level and get consistently good grades. My children both love Maxwell. Ms. Biggs is a great Kindergarten teacher. My kids especially love Art and Music. This school is very culturally diverse, but I don't see that as a problem in itself. I have found all the teachers I have dealt with to be approachable and helpful and genuinely concerned about the children. I do wish the school wasn't so crowded, and that the children had time to use the playground. I have found 'good discipline' to be the rule. There are always children who present challenges, but I think the teachers do the best they can with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2004

The leadership at this school seems very unfocused on academic richness. If you want your child to meet the standards, this is the school for your child. However, if you would like your child to exceed the standards, it will likely not happen at Henry Maxwell.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2004

Our daughter was diagnosed with ADHD. We found the school administrators totally indifferent to her needs. We became so frustrated with the lack of support that we had no option but to transfer her to a different school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
35%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
30%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
51%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
18%

2012

 
 
22%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
24%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
35%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
39%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

114 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students52%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
White73%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities64%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students43%
African American43%
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
White50%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students62%
African American57%
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
White73%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students82%
African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanic74%
White85%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities55%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students18%
African American15%
Asiann/a
Hispanic12%
White22%
Economically disadvantaged18%
Students with disabilities15%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students36%
African American39%
Asiann/a
Hispanic26%
White47%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students45%
African American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
White54%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learners10%

Social Studies

All Students91%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
White93%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities69%
English language learners67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 39% 23%
Hispanic 31% 7%
White 24% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5535 Blue Hole Rd
Antioch, TN 37013
Phone: (615) 333-7180

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT