Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

A. Z. Kelley Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 755 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 30, 2014

My daughter attends AZ Kelley and absolutely loves it! Her teachers have all be wonderful and very helpful and the principal Mrs. Dunn is amazing. She always greets my daughter by name and inquires about her classes. On valentines day my daughter wrote out an extra card for mrs. Dunn but had to leave it with a secretary because she was not in the office at the time. A day later or so she came home with a huge smile because Mrs. Dunn had taken the time to figure out which "Aubrey" in the school had wrote her the valentines card and came to personally thank her. She really goes above and beyond to make the students feel special and it makes a difference. Thank you Mrs. Dunn!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2014

AZ Kelley Elementary is an outstanding school! The principal, Mrs. Dunn, is fabulous; knows every kid by name (which is unheard of considering the number of students there), she even knows their families, sisters, brothers, parents.... I have personally seen her stand in the main lobby in the mornings on a regular basis and greet everyone as they come in. Who does this? She not only knows children's names but also remembers little details about then, like "how was your big performance? How are you liking being in Mrs. Smith's class? Etc... I was blown away! You can tell that Mrs. Dunn loves what she does and her dedication and excellence carries over to teachers and students at AZ Kelley as well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2013

My children and my grandchild go to A Z Kelley. They have been there since Kindergarton and the oldest just finished 4th grade. The teachers are wonderful. They really care for their students. One of my children was having a hard time in math and reading. His teacher worked with him and he completed the end of the year with a B. I am very pleased with A Z Kelley and would recommend it to anyone that was moving into the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

We just finished our second year as parents of AZ Kelley students and I can't imagine a better school in our area. The teachers have been great and have been perfectly matched with our kids and their needs. The principal is AMAZING and you can easily see that she cares about each and every single one of her students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2013

This is our second year with students at AZ Kelley. We chose our house based on this school's zone. AZ Kelley is an excellent school, with great faculty and staff that care tremendously about their students and families. I have always felt welcome and free to discuss any concerns with the teachers and office staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 30, 2013

My son went to Granbery, then we moved to this school zone. I was weary at first b/c Im Granbery was supposed to be the "it" public school in Nashville. Well, I loved this school and my son's teacher. Test scores were in line or better than some of these school that are considered to be "better". This school is big on education and preparing the kids for upper grades. college, and being successful in life. There are bad apple teachers in every school, but I had a great experience here. Also the principal was great and was a member of Granbery for many years before coming over to AZ
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2012

I moved from Rutherford County schools to this school expecting great results. Well I was wrong, the teachers at this school are mean and incompetent. My son went from an A and B student to a C average student in one school year. He entered this school his second grade year and his teacher would pick at him, call him names and talk down on him. I found that to be insane and unperfessional. I thought it was just that teacher well little did I know I would encounter another one. His 3rd grade teacher was incompetent, she never helped my son with anything, she would show the students the work then test them. I found her teacher method to be disturbing and needs improvement. We will not return to this school and nether will I refer anyone to allow their child(ren) to attend this school. Maybe some children can learn the way she's teaching but my son didn't learn anything. I like highly qualified teachers who not only teach the student but allow them to apply it to everyday life. Teachers who teach and include each learn skill (auditory, visual, and hands on).
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

The teachers principals staff and children all are very proud of this new school and make a difference in every childs life... they take pride in education and as a mothe rof 2 that goes there I could not be happier!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 15, 2009

My son has been going here since it opened. I feel he is getting the best education he could get while being in the best environment. The principal is very caring and does a great job connecting with parents. The communication is consistant and parental input is always welcome. This school is as good as any private out there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2009

My grandson has been going to this school for 3 years he's on the honor roll. There are great teachers at this school.


Posted October 4, 2008

I am so pleased with this school overall! Their staff is extremely friendly, respectful, and caring. My child has never been enthusiastic about going to the same place everyday until now - kindergarten is going very well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2008

I am the parent of a 8 year old that is going to the 3rd grade this fall, I really was impressed with AZ Kelly we moved here last fall and my daughter was faced with the pressure of not only meeting new friends but an entirely different learning environment, her teacher Mrs Devault made that transition a very smooth and pleasent one and I had no doubt in my mind that she would be back this fall for her 3rd grade year. Keep up the good work maybe this year there will be more parent involvement (including me)!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2008

I'm a proud parent of a Kindergartener that is on a 3rd/4th grade reading level because the teachers take it one step further than just leaving it up to us, the parents, working with the children. They have special interests in children that speaks volumes! They also make learning fun, which in turn, teaches our children not to be scared of the things they don't know, but to encourage them to explore and learn about it. I would highly recommend this school to any parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2008

My son just moved to the nashville area and this is his first year at AZ Kelley. He is in the 2nd grade this year. The school facilities are great since it is a new school adn the principal, Ms. Dunn, is definitely involved. She is always in the hadd and at all the extra curricular events at the school. The teachers are great also.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2007

My daughter is in her 2nd year at AZ Kelly. I like it. The teachers have been really good so far, the principal is right in the mix of things and spends quality time with the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
48%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
61%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
33%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
33%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
38%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

118 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
African American62%
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
White66%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities61%
English language learners40%

Reading/Language Arts

All Students54%
African American54%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
White55%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities61%
English language learners33%

Science

All Students66%
African American66%
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
White62%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities56%
English language learners27%

Social Studies

All Students86%
African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
White93%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learners67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students43%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
White37%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learners20%

Reading/Language Arts

All Students37%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic32%
White37%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learners13%

Science

All Students48%
African American45%
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
White50%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities19%
English language learners33%

Social Studies

All Students93%
African American88%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities75%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 50% 24%
Hispanic 24% 6%
White 23% 67%
Asian 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5834 Pettus Rd
Antioch, TN 37013
Phone: (615) 941-7535

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT