Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 44 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


64 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Arlington Elementary School 3

Posted May 07, 2014
- a parent
The school needs a change of leadership to truly be considered one of the better in the Shelby County area...
1 person found this helpful

Arlington Elementary School 5

Posted April 04, 2014
- a community member
I am the grandmother of a second grader at Arlington Elementary School.. This is our third year at Arlington and we could not be more pleased. He has had three excellent teachers who love teaching and they have made learning fun. The office staff has always been nice and helpful to our family . Last night we attended their 2nd grade music program that was wonderful. This reminded us of that a great school Arlington is.


Arlington Elementary School 5

Posted February 04, 2014
- a community member
This is the best school ever i am a student there my teachers are the best

Arlington Elementary School 5

Posted August 01, 2013
- a parent
I love this school! The teachers and staff are truly there for the kids. The kids love going to school too. Can't say enough great things!!

Arlington Elementary School 5

Posted March 07, 2013
- a parent
Two of my kids go to AMS and we love that school. The care and commitment of the teachers towards the children is amazing. I would recommend it to everybody. They are learning so much and are exited to go there everyday.


Arlington Elementary School 5

Posted January 25, 2013
- a parent
This is our second year at AES and we love it! The teachers are professional, well-organized, and great communicators. The PTA is very organized and welcoming. I love that my daughter gets weekly art, music and PE. My only complaint is the constant fundraising. Such a great school and community!

Arlington Elementary School 5

Posted August 03, 2012
- a parent
We LOVE this school! We moved here last year and could not be happier with our decision to buy a home in Arlington. The teachers are all fantastic and the PTA is amazing. The kids are definitely top priority at this wonderful school.

Arlington Elementary School 5

Posted July 22, 2012
- a community member
My family loves Arlington Elementary School. We are sad that this will be our last year at AES. The administration, teachers, and staff are amazing. Our PTA is the best. Arlington is a great community and our schools are the heartbeat of our town.


Arlington Elementary School 2

Posted July 18, 2012
- a parent
This school is overrated. The principal is the first AND the second problem with my son's 2nd grade teacher in a close third. My initial encounter with the principal was on registration day where she wouldn't allow my son, who was new to the school, to walk to his classroom because they were "tired and ready to go home". I had to write a letter to the superintendent before she showed any empathy. Another encounter was at the kids' musical program where the principal held an ambush PTA meeting where the kids were not allowed to leave the stage until the meeting was over. There was a teacher on the stage ensuring the kids wouldn t get up. Throughout the year, my son had been absent for different reasons. His teacher wouldn't allow him to finish any work at home. However, when the school year was coming to an end, she sent home a large stack of papers that needed to be completed over the weekend. Her reason: she would "get in trouble" if she didn't have grades in her book. I could list more, but I'm out of space. I can't stress how disappointed I am in this school.

Arlington Elementary School 4

Posted September 30, 2011
- a parent
The teaching staff is great but the principal and office staff leave much to be desired. The principal is rude and condescending and the office staff were not able to answer basic questions at registration.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Arlington Elementary School
11825 Douglass St, Arlington, TN  38002
(901) 867-6000
Last modified Arlington Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Arlington Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 64 reviews. Top