Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bolton High School

Public | 9-12 | 1946 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 23, 2013

My daughter loves this school!!! Awesome teachers!!!! My daughter is always happy and in such a great mood when she arrives home from school.....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2013

I love it at Bolton! I've been here 3 years, and it keeps getting better. Of course their is going to be some gang related issues, since it's a high school. They have them at Bartlett and Millington, and no one says anything about that! Overall, it's a great school to meet new friends, and the IB program, the band, choir, and orchestra, and the athletics program help make this school as great as it is today! It's kinda different since our old principle left, so the rules have changed a little. People just need to get use to it. Bolton is a wonderful experience for any teenager.


Posted June 4, 2013

I have one child that is about to be a senior and one that is going to be a freshmen. I must say that Shelby County does a great job of keeping the school's discipline trouble out of the media. I don't blame the faculty; it's the students. Like many schools in and around the Memphis area there is a gang problem. And my eldest has complained of racial problems amongst the students and blatant disrespect towards the teachers . There are good aspects about the school such as the band, choir, sports, and some academic programs . I just hate that some of the students wont recognize and accept the great education they could get from the educators there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2009

Bolton High School is one of the best places to go! The people are extremely down to earth and actually nice and caring. This school has roots because it has been around for a long time and is very well established. The extra curricular activities are amazing especially band! The sports teams really make an effort to come together and bond. The classes are great and the teachers not only teach school related things but also help us learn life lessons. It has been a wonderful 3 years here!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2009

Bolton High is where I have one son attending and two others will be attending down the road. I have the highest respect for the administration, staff and athletic coaches. This school is very, very well thought of in our community and does a great job !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2008

I have had two kids attend Bolton. The teachers are very good and the honors classes offer much. I think their sports programs are good (exception: head football coach is awful and does not have a clue). All in all, the school is safe. There is some racial tension from time to time, especially when Obama got elected. The slurs were being thrown by the black kids no less. Principal Stevens is outstanding. Its a good environment and I think they try hard to keep it that way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2008

This is an excellent school and i could not imagine attending any other high school other than Bolton High School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 3, 2008

Excellent student support; safe campus; enforces a dress code without reverting to uniforms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2007

I believe bolton is a great school. My son attend and we have always had great reviews. This is his last year. Keep up the great work. Thanks to all the teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2007

While the variety and selection of courses available in the Honors/A.P. programs are superior to those found at other schools, there is a continual problem with racial and socioeconomic tension that manifests itself DAILY in aggressive behavior in the hallways, cafeteria, etc. My daughter is a junior, has never had a conduct related incident at school, but comes home often with stories of pushing/shoving, racial slurs and aggressive behavior from total strangers. I think a concerted effort by all teachers to maintain higher visibility between classes would significantly reduce these incidents. I'll have another child entering the school next year, equally as mild mannered, and my husband and I are very concerned for her safety also. Unfortunately, this appears to be the best of the available schools, including private ones, so I guess we'll just hope for the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2006

Bolton is a great school if you know which teachers to choose. As with all schools, some teachers are better than others. Overall, I'd say it has an excellent staff. The new principal is great on discipline and will have the school running tightly in no time.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 31, 2005

I couldn't have asked for a better school for my daughter to attend. The students are great, the teachers are awesome, administration is phenonmenal, and the parental involvement is priceless. I know that my daughter is working towards a wonderful future and will be fully prepared for any college that she chooses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2005

Great School!!! I am a graduate of Bolton and I have never been more proud to tell people where I went to school. I will never forget the caring staff there that helped me to become the person I am today. A special thanks to Dr. Carruthers, Mrs. Pittman, Mrs. Murphy, Mrs. Berkes, Ms. Burns, and Mrs. Dodd. Thank you so very much for for everything!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 13, 2004

My daughter went from a catholic school 1-8th grade to Bolton and she absolutely loves it! 98% of her 8th grade class went on to St. Benedicts, IC, or CHBS, but we have been thrilled with the academics and environment at Bolton. I am so glad there is a variety of people, cultures, etc. and there are so many activities and opportunities for college prep. We both love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2004

My son is a junior this year and we love the staff at Bolton high school. principle is great, and so are the teachers. He love the concert choir and looks forward to each year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2004

My daughter graduated in 2002. She received an excellent education that prepared her well for college. She was offered scholarships from six top-tier private colleges and is now attending her #1 choice, Hendrix College in Conway, AR on scholarship. The extracurricular opportunities are great, including activities in academics, athletics and the arts. The Bolton theatre department is one of the best and consistently wins state-level competitions. The racially diverse student body and faculty presents some challenges, but respect and harmony prevail. The student body is a mixture of urban and rural students. One downside is overcrowding; the schol has expanded in size to accomodate enrollment, but students can get lost among nearly 2500 students. Overall I was pleased with Bolton and my daughter's high school experience. She attened private middle school and I am glad she went to high school in a more diverse setting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 14, 2004

I am student of the Class of 2005 here at 'the Ranch', and I couldn't see myself anywhere else. The teachers that I have had honestly care about us -- to quote one, 'It's not about grades; it's about learning.' Personally, I'm involved with the Drama Department, and studying/working under Mrs. Debbie Nelson has been the pinnacle of my high school career. I've ventured out to see other High School Productions, and none can compare to the quality you find in a Bolton play. I was also a part of the football team at BHS (who placed 5th in the State, by-the-way!) Extracurricular activities are great at Bolton, and staying afterschool on its beautiful campus is never a downer. It is not hard to find tons of school spirit in yourself and those around you when you attend such a great school as Bolton.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2003

I'm not actually a parent but an alumni. I absolutely loved attending Bolton. The teachers are helpful and attentive creating a fun and inviting work environment. I was personally envolved in the band program and wouldn't have changed my director for anyone else in the world. The honors programs are lead by excellent teachers with a gift for encouragment and leadership. I would advice anyone who can to enroll in Mrs. Martin's Math Class. She will absolutely change the way you think about school. Altogether I would have never wished to attend a different school. The staff and fellow students make it a throughly enjoyable experience.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 11, 2003

My son is Junior at Bolton and he has been challenged by his teachers and given the resources to meet every challenge. My second son is now at Bolton and I sent him without hesitation. The administration has a firm control of the student body. My son's teachers have all taken an interest in helping him acheive his goals of college, even when it means less involvement in the clubs that teacher sponsors. We have always felt welcome at the school and impressed at the interest the faculty and staff take in the students' lives. My son has really grown academically. Parent involvement is encouraged and appreciated.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

374 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
40%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

488 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
20%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

494 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
58%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

463 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
66%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

464 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
69%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

436 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
35%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students64%
African American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
White82%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities35%
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students36%
African American21%
Asian69%
Hispanic56%
White49%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students66%
African American51%
Asian88%
Hispanic83%
White82%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities37%
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students65%
African American50%
Asian85%
Hispanic77%
White84%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students61%
African American47%
Asian67%
Hispanic67%
White78%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities26%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students40%
African American29%
Asian56%
Hispanicn/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 47% 23%
White 47% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Hispanic 2% 7%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 37%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

7323 Brunswick Rd
Arlington, TN 38002
Phone: (901) 873-8150

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Arlington High School
Arlington, TN



Millington High School
Millington, TN



Varangon Academy
Memphis, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT