Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Shadowlawn Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 907 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 6, 2013

I'm in the 8th grade and has been at Shadowlawn since 6th grade. Shadowlawn Middle School is not one of the best schools out there. The teachers are lazy and strict. The kids are disrespectful and don't care about their education. The school is nasty, occasionally when I go to the bathroom there might be a roach in there. Overall the school is a bad place to be. There is there good side though, the principal Mr. McDonald is a nice caring person. There are some teachers that do a good job teaching, and also some students do care about their education and actually want to learn. So if you are new to Shadowlawn try your best to get adjusted and just go with the flow. Yours truly, - Student


Posted October 20, 2013

This is my son first year at shadowlawn its some things I dont understand how is it the school dont know what is happening on their bus students bullying , trying to set students on fire on the bus it sad. And I am so mad cause it no protection for my son if you call the school they aint do jack its all about the money. My son came from a city school they never had a problem out him I felt he safer there than were at now. I Don't Like No To Bully No One Child & it sad that parent dont know what their kids are doing.Far as school learning It good so far my son loves his school. He just wish everyone could get alone with each other. I do too!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2012

My kids just graduated from 8th grade from Shadowlawn Middle. I have to say that even being a middle school it provided lots of opportunities for the kids who want to avail them like geography bee, spelling bee, band activities, opportunities to send an essay for competition, and to top it all a very competitive curriculum. The teachers I came across were remarkable, including the bus drivers. Mr. McDonald took personal interest in each and every kid and kept the discipline his main focus. As a parent I can understand how hard that can be. I also applaud the parents who stay involved with PTA and other school activities. Overall a very good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2012

My son attends Shadowlawn and is now in the 8th grade. We had a chance to move to another Arlington school this year, and my son refused. He loves it there. All of his teachers are caring and really know their subject, especially the advanced teachers. The principal knows every student's name and is available anytime. I have never had a problem with visiting him during his lunch. They DO have an open door policy. Their PTSA is getting better and better, now that we have parents who really want to help. I was concerned with discipline, but they have instituted a school-wide discipline plan that seems to be working. At least my son thinks so. I LOVE this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2012

I have had two children graduate from Shadowlawn and one currently attending. Thus far I have seen three different principals and three different choir directors come through. I personally feel that the school has gotten worse. I don t think that some of the teachers are concerned or care about the fighting, bullying, bad language, etc that goes on here. These issues really need to be addressed, not just here at Shadowlawn- throughout Shelby County. Here at Shadowlawn, the principals and some of the teachers are quick to place children in ISS. Their needs to be some other type of discipline plan in place. when a child is taken from the classroom he/she is missing out on learning. With the way children are so disrespectful now, I personally think paddling needs to be brought back to schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2009

my daughter has attended this school for two years now and I've noticed everyday back from school she would have a smile on her face.....unlike her other school when she was sad all the time. I don't know if its her friends here or what but I'm glad that whatever changed her life,changed and mine also......=)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2009

My son attended for two years and we were pleased with the school. The advanced level courses they offer were really good for him, his test scores were well above average. No complaints here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2008

Hello I am a seventh grader at Shadowlawn Middle School. This school overall is better and getting better every moment. Ms. Garner and Mrs. Foster are one of the best teachers their, but every teacher their cares for their students. Shadowlawn is an awesome school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 27, 2008

My daughter just completed sixth grade at SMS. Our family has been very pleased with SMS! Mr. McDonald is a wonderful, caring principal. He is present at every basketball game, even the away ones. I have not seen neighboring schools' principals do that. He also brings his family with him. I feel that shows his dedication to our school and my daughter. Officer Hamm is also a great asset to the school. Just watching him interact with the kids at the dances and games, it appears that he is well liked, which means a safer school. My daughter was on a team of 4 different teachers whom I was very pleased with. I have always felt I could discuss anything with them. I will say that I fought very hard to get a transfer for my daughter because of Shadowlawn's bad reputation. I am very glad that my request was denied.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2008

I went to Shadowlawn as the class of 2007. The word I can use to describe it is 'change' every year I went, there was a different principal, and the first two didn't seem to keep a hold on things well. Mr. McDonald however, is great. Discipline is nopt handled well at Shadowlawn. Sometimes, ISS or OSS doesn't work. I saw a person with a switchblade get caught and only get 3 days of OSS. Terrible. One other example is the food fight. We were put on lockdown. Why punish us all for some thing started by one student.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 23, 2007

I am not please with my children's stay at this school. There are hardly any extracurricular activities. The staff does not seem to want the parents involved unless it for discipline problems. I need a school that has an open door policy. I don't want to interrupt instruction time, I just want to check on my child. I still want to be involved even more so, now that my children are in middle school. They don't really have a discipline program in place, except to put students in ISS or OSS. The teachers seem well educated and seem to do a good job educating my children, but what about the activities, discipline, and parental involvement. I feel like I just drop my child off and that is all I can do is wave bye.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2006

I go to Shadowlawn Middle School... It is a great school to meet friends.The Cafeteria Luches are Great.However,some teachers are not fair and pick students to favor. Also, some teachers load students down with home and others give maybe 1 homework assignment for the whole year. The Teachers are great but some cannot handle the classrooms there and therefore students that want to learn cannot learn in a well environment because of the conduct of some students. The language at SMS is also not very pleasent. Since i've been to shadowlawn i have probobly learned more cuss words than my dad knows. Also, in the time i've attended this school i have been offered drugs at least 10 times. The cleaness of this school is not very well kept up. Bathroom stalls have writting everywhere, water fountains have mold on the sides, and in the cafeteria the trays sometimes have food-on-them-from-the-day-before.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 9, 2006

I love this school i think it is great place to meet freinds and have acedimic programs after school ! my child is a cheerleader for shadowlawn and it is great ! the teachers are wonderful especially mr.Webber ! although the pricipal is newer at the school she knows how to deal with kids great ! this is a great strict school for your kids to learn acedimic greatness !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2005

I went to sms for sixth and seventh.i know this school like the palm of my hand just about,and i love it.its not that clean always,BCUZ OF THE STUDENTS!!but the teachers are always watching out for dress code violations,the students have minor behavior problems,and the teachers are strict and friendly!(they truly do care!)
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 5, 2005

I think SMS is a great school, although we might see bugs every now and then...its still cool.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 1, 2005

Children are not well supervised. In appropriate touching is going on in the Gym and Cafeteria often. School is not very clean. Staff act concerned but do little to change things.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2005

This school is an okay school. However, dress code here is not dealt with carefully, cleaniness in some places is not very pleasant and teachers are not give that much homework.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

242 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
30%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

242 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
45%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

242 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
48%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

242 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

278 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
27%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

278 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
37%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

278 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
40%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

278 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
27%

2012

 
 
10%

2011

 
 
15%

2010

 
 
11%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

318 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
35%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

269 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
50%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

318 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students36%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilities37%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students50%
African American43%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students46%
African American37%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities23%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students86%
African American82%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities47%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students33%
African American28%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged27%
Students with disabilities26%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students33%
African American28%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Students with disabilities26%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students63%
African American57%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities44%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students81%
African American78%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities62%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students27%
African American24%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White40%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students37%
African American34%
Asian50%
Hispanic44%
White47%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students43%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic30%
White63%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students79%
African American74%
Asian80%
Hispanic81%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities61%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

54 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
91%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students95%
African American92%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 69% 24%
White 23% 67%
Asian 3% 2%
Hispanic 3% 6%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4734 Shadowlawn Rd
Arlington, TN 38002
Phone: (901) 373-2654

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT