Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Arlington Middle School

Public | 5-8 | 1135 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2014

My school Arlington middle school one of the best.The school could put more drink in the school like coke or other thing. If the parent let their child drink coke and other thing.I think other people should know that this is the best school for the child to best friends ever.Even get help with their work.


Posted August 23, 2013

This is my daughter's third year at Arlington Middle. We are very happy with her progress in this school. The teachers and office personnel are wonderful. We are very happy with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2009

My son has gone to AMS since 6th grade - he's in 8th grade now. I find the teachers wonderful! The office personnel have been nothing but completely professional and pleasant to me and my son - but of course, we treat them the same way. My son has learned manners throughout the years, so people treat him reciprocally. Lunches are school lunches. Some great, some not so great. If a child wants to learn, a child will learn wonderful things at this school. If a child doesn't want to learn, and wants to goof off, the teachers can be strict, and there IS discipline! AMS is a great school for people who want to learn, and want to at least TRY.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2009

Its my last year at AMS, and i am very sad to leave it. The band program is amazing. We have the best band director. I love the principals and they are willing to do almost anything to help us out. All of the teachers that i have had are amazing, so i am very sad to leave AMs. As always, go Bobcats!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 6, 2009

The front office staff is rude and unfriendly. My son complains that the lunches are awful and has had sour milk on several occasions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2008

Disappointed to find out through my child that the office staff is lacking in the interpersonal department and some of the teachers need to take an anger management class.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2008

This school is the best school i've ever been to. I am extremly sad to leave it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 11, 2007

Im happy and learning a lot. I say keep it up go bobcats
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 24, 2007

I have 2 children at Arlington Middle School. As a former teacher, I can say that this school is one of the best I have ever seen! The faculty are fantastic, the principal is dynamic, firm, and compassionate. My son and daughter have flourished. I have convenient access to the teachers' websites and electronic gradebook. I can get consultations with them as needed. It couldn't be easier! Don't waste your college money on private school - this public school is super!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2007

My family has been very happy with the standards this school has set. It is refreshing to see a public school compete with some of the private schools in terms of discipline, education and athletic endeavors.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2006

I am thankful every day for the offerings of Arlington Middle School and it diverse academic as well as its emotional opportunities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2006

Arlington Middle offers a quality academic curriculum for the students , I have been pleased with the academic performance of theis school. It doe offer a challenge academically , but with strong involvement has proved to very good for my daughter. The prinicipal does provide a very disciplined environment and is very concerned with controllingthe difficult children. This has advantages, as it is very clear that schools need a great deal of structure , with all of the things showing up in our schools today. While I do not always agree with how things are handled in regard to discipline - I do understand the importance of the structure and control that he administrative team has implemented. My daughter was in 6th grade last year, and I was very impressed with her team of teachers. For the most part their communication with me when I had concerns was outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2006

My child has been at Arlington Middle for 7th and 8th grade. She has a learning difference. It has not been a good experience. This school is more worried about the kids that excel then the kids that struggle. I am also upset that the principal punishes everyone for a few misbehaved students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2006

My children have been at Arlington Middle for 2 years, and I have been extremely satisfied with the school, its faculty and administration! I have found the school to be very cooperative in meeting my children's needs, academically, socially, and mentally. I strongly disagree with 'Concerned Parent' in their assessment of this school's approach to teaching our children. They cannot expect ANY school to overlook inappropriate behavior, or tailor each and every child's curriculum to meet their particular level of understanding. Perhaps this person should take some of the responsibility and seek tutoring or extra help for their child. AMS holds a high standard of behavior and education that any caring parent should want for their child. I am proud that my children are students at AMS and look forward to sending my third child there in a few short years!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2006

I also agree with the October, 2005 parent. The school wants all students to excel but some students have a difficult time and need to be approached in learning in a different manner. They should not be forced to all the things that the top students have to do but use alternative ways to get to the point in ways slower students can understand. Not all students can learn to love to read through accelerated reader but could do better through other means.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2006

I agree with the other parent's post that the school is overly concerned with controlling the students versus educating them. However, I have had a pleasant experience with the Assistant Principal, Mrs. Banks, who always listened to my concerns regarding what was happening with my child in the classroom and how she did not automatically defend the teacher's actions, but looked into the situations diplomatically. She also followed up with keeping an eye on my daughter throughout the year and my daughter gained success from this type of partnership with Mrs. Banks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2005

This school lacks in meeting the needs of all students. the curriculum is exactly the same wether your child is an A student or a D student. A large amount of the teachers get away with teaching the bare minimums. The school is so concerned with controling the disruptive students that they have lost sight of of the fact that some children just want to learn and be taught not controled.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

415 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

416 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

416 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
71%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

409 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

411 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

411 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
70%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

287 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
27%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

386 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

283 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
78%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
African American46%
Asian93%
Hispanic61%
White64%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities26%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students78%
African American67%
Asian93%
Hispanic83%
White79%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students79%
African American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
White79%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities37%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities71%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
African American39%
Asian80%
Hispanic67%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities23%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students67%
African American43%
Asian70%
Hispanic50%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities35%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students87%
African American84%
Asian90%
Hispanic78%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities58%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic83%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities81%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students39%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
White40%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities26%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students66%
African American56%
Asian81%
Hispanic71%
White68%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities32%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students86%
African American78%
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
White88%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic93%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities81%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
99%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 67%
Black 16% 23%
Hispanic 4% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students ELL/ESL Coordinator
School social worker/counselors(s)
Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Music teacher(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5470 Lamb Rd
Arlington, TN 38002
Website: Click here
Phone: (901) 867-1541

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Varangon Academy
Memphis, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT