Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
16 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Arlington High School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted April 24, 2016
- a parent
If you are in standard classes, little is expected. If you are in AP classes, more work than can be completed in an evening is given. No balance.

Arlington High School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted April 24, 2016
- a parent
Even the new Honors program does not require high expectations for students - total service hours required is a joke.


Arlington High School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted April 24, 2016
- a parent
No - on campus fights are a regular occurrence and security guards are on campus.

Arlington High School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted April 24, 2016
- a parent
Cheating is huge issue at AHS! Some of the top students are known to cheat on a regular basis.

Arlington High School 1

Posted April 24, 2016
- a parent
Guidance department is TERRIBLE! No personal concern or help for your students! Student committed suicide and Board will not consider exhaustion from early start time or overload from AP classes as factor affecting mental health of students! School administration dictates outcome for Spec. Ed and 504 evaluations. School routinely fails to follow proper procedures at expense of students.


Arlington High School 4

Posted February 02, 2014
- a student
I recently transferred to AHS from a small religious school, here is my "new student" experience: The students are mostly white upper-middle class, there is a strong "preppy" social group, as well a good-size band group and a decent-size "church kid" group. AHS is very racially segregated: the African-American students sit in one corner of the lunch room and the white kids sit everywhere else. Racial slurs and inappropriate language are VERY common. A segment of the student population is heavily involved in the school, but a majority couldn't care less about AHS. Academically, I would highly recommend taking mostly honors and AP classes. Standard classes generally have the bad teachers and students who don't care. Because the school curves GPAs, taking honors/AP classes shouldn't hurt your GPA if you put in effort. My experience with the guidance department was a poor one. The counselor did not spend much time with me and I was placed in mostly standard classes even when I asked for honors (the promise to move me up if I did well in standard was never fulfilled). All in all, AHS is a good school, but make sure to take upper-level classes and get involved in a club/sport/etc!

Arlington High School 5

Posted January 11, 2014
- a parent
Our daughter is a sophomore at Arlington and we could not be happier. The teachers that we have encountered seemed genuinely interested in her studies. The teachers do an outstanding job of keeping her attention and she seems to truly enjoy learning from them. we would highly recommend Arlington High School to anyone who is considering.

Arlington High School 4

Posted November 13, 2013
- a parent
Our daughter transferred has a senior and her grades have never been better, we love the academic campus atmosphere and the college bound approach to her curriculum, having lunch outside also gives the students the freedom to take a break and accept responsibility with those privileges, great school we all love it! Staff has always shown accountability and genuine interest in them doing well!


Arlington High School 5

Posted May 21, 2012
- a parent
My daughter is a Sophmore at AHS. We love it, the teachers are really great and are very concerned about their students academic welfare. Would highly recommend the school!!

Arlington High School 5

Posted September 17, 2011
- a parent
I found this school to outstanding with a great administrative team and staff. The administration has to make tuff decission and the can come off as rude

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Arlington High School
5475 Airline Road, Arlington, TN  38002
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (901) 867-1541
Last modified Arlington High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top