Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

2 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cheatham Middle School 4

Posted June 09, 2011
- a teacher
As with all things schools change. We now have a very competent and caring principal who is trying to reach out to parents and get them more involved. The restroom dictatorship and silly rules have ended and the school has come up with a better discipline plan (althought not perfect) than those it had in the past. There are many caring teachers. The guidance counselors are wonderful, and the office staff is cheery and competent now that leadership has changed :)

Cheatham Middle School 1

Posted October 07, 2010
- a parent
Students are punished more than once for the same offense. The offense boils down to not being a real offense at all. Examples are miscommunication between the teacher and the chid, children not absorbing requests made by the teacher, and doodling in class on his or her paper. How many of you doodled in college when the lesson was boring? Did the professor punish you? Yes, these children are actually punished for these so-called offenses. What about bullying? This is happening nearly everyday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Cheatham Middle School 1

Posted July 14, 2010
- a community member
i also think that the whole you can only go to the bathroom at a certain time and that you only have 5 min. to go to your locker and some how manage to make to the other end of the hallway, how is that all possible, sometimes it feels like a dictatorship! the food in the cafeteria can be really boring and on some occasions repetative which sometimes takes a toll on the students. i also hate that when you are eating lunch and you are called to be dismissed, the office calls you like 3 times before you can get to your locker and then back to the office! some of the assistants think that they have a right to yell and act as the teacher, when the teacher has stepped out of class for a few min. all in all i sometimes hate this school!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Cheatham Middle School 1

Posted May 16, 2010
- a parent
I wish I had pulled my kids from this school years ago. To learn what the other two middle schools in the area offer, to speak with their competent and courteous office staff, to have a personal, thoughtful conversation about your child's educational needs, well those things will not happen at CMS.

Cheatham Middle School 0
no rating

Posted May 13, 2010
- a parent
My second child is about ready to be out of this school and I can without a doubt say I am VERY Glad too. The school wasn't that bad when my first child went there. We could use more leadership and less dictatorship at the school. I hate the way the good kids never get noticed for anything they do right (well depends on who their parents are...lol) but now let me tell you if your child misbehaves man they are lucky they will get a little tap on the wrist and off to class you go. Now if they do something like have drugs on them they do seem to take care of that but its ok to let the bullys keep bulling and other kids have to take it. well that is bull crap.


Cheatham Middle School 1

Posted February 02, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Cheatham Middle School 0
no rating

Posted December 04, 2009
- a parent
This is my second child to attend Cheatham Middle School and although, the principal has changed during that time, the overall atmposphere or 'we don't need the parents' has remained. I will say there are several really good teachers and the counselors are very nice. However, the principal does not seem at all interested in improving the sports program and has been high handed about parents trying to start soccer which the other 2 schools in the county already have.There is very much a 'dictatorship' feeling there as the children are only allowed to go to the bathroom at certain times of the day, and girls are no longer allowed to have purses in the classroom They are also only allowed to go to their lockers at certain times of the day instead of between each class, so they have to carry books for several classes at at a time.

Cheatham Middle School 1

Posted November 22, 2009
- a parent
I find leadership lacking in this school. Bullying iis tacitly encouraged through policies that often punish the victim and not the bully. Some teachers appear to be trying very hard to help students, but many are overwhelmed and unsupported. Others just plain don't care. Parents are actively discouraged from checking on their children at the front office and safety, particularly in places like halls and restrooms is severly lacking. If your child has special needs, they talk a good game, but typically do not provide help except in very extreme cases. I pulled my kids out of the school system rather than subject them to this experience.


Cheatham Middle School 2

Posted July 05, 2009
- a parent
Communication from school to parents is severely lacking in this school. I would like to see monthly newsletters about what is going on at the school as a way to keep informed. Bullying and fighting is also a problem.

Cheatham Middle School 0
no rating

Posted June 17, 2009
- a parent
would not recommend this school if you have a special needs child!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cheatham Middle School
700 Scoutview Dr, Ashland City, TN  37015
(615) 792-2334
Last modified Cheatham Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Cheatham Middle School Rating: 2 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top