Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Mcminn High School

Public | 9-12 | 1349 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

17 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 2, 2014

Mcminn is just like any other public school, but Meigs county is a lot worse. They don't put you in the classes you need and all the popular kids get away with a whole lot of things. The "in" crowd gets treated better than anything. Mcminn is a little better with the classes. As for the teachers, there are some who should not teach at all, but the others are great. The disiplinary system is great. They take action immidiatly.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 5, 2013

As a former student, I can honestly say that McMinn could be a lot worse. The teachers, with the exception of the science department, are generally not good. The higher-level classes in the science department are pretty good, and have prepared me well for my pre-medical studies. Athletics are only overemphasized by the students themselves and P.E. teachers. Parental involvement is horrendous, but that's more on the meth-addled parents rather than the school. The principal is incredibly average, making good and bad decisions in equal measure. There could be more AP classes offered; to be fair, McMinn offers more than most surrounding schools. All in all, the school is spectacularly blah. It's not the most enjoyable thing in the world, but it's not exactly the 7th layer of hell either.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 23, 2011

This high school offers a lot more honors, advances placement, and dual enrollment classes compared to McMinn Central.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 22, 2011

I'm not sure if the post made on sep. 18, 2009 is serious. The errors make my head spin. Is this really from a high school senior?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2010

The school has taken great strides in the last couple of years and is on the road to becoming a premiere high school in the state. It's exciting to be a part of the change and I'm looking forward to where the school culture, academics, and technologies will take the students in the future.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted December 14, 2009

Without a doubt, one of the worse run schools I have ever been associated with. Communications between parents and teachers/staff is nearly impossible. High school kids answer the phone when you call the school..then when connected you get an answering machine. Calls are not returned and some won't even respond to an email. The school is overcrowded, students are treated differently according to their participation in sports, and most of the kids despise their own school. At the end of the year, they don't even bother to mail report cards home and when you take off from work to go pick it up, the people in the office act as though you are bothering them by being there. I could go on and on. I honestly cannot think of a positive comment to make.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2009

Communication with teachers is mediocre at best. It has come down to emails and pre-recorded phone messages from the administration. I also feel that it would be in the best interest of the students McMinn county should consider going to block scheduling. If I had a way to get my children to a school that had this , they would not attend MCHS. As for those who want to say how great it is for athletics, that seems to be the one area they strive for excellence. Hope it improves soon.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2009

I am a senior at McMinn County High School, and no it isn't the best school, but its no different than any other public school. It has some rules but don't they all. I have met some of the best teachers a student could ask for at this school. Overall it is a preety good school. (But I hate there graduation rankings; kids that took easy classes can be valedictorian. How stupid is that?)
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2009

My child attends MCHS & has hated it from day one. All the students want to do is back bite each other & put each other down. I'm sure teachers have heard things going on why can't or won't they do something about it before it is too late?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2009

Freshman year I remember being intimidated by everything that was at McMinn. I'm now a junior, and I realize that freshman year is the high point of the high school experience at McMinn. We have a new principal this year (everyone was ecstatic about who it was), and I never was eager for him to take over. Soon enough, everyone realized that he was not the 'hip' principal everyone thought he'd be. The way he conducts things is degrading to us as students. He treats us as if we are all buffoons and repeats everything at least four times. I, for one, think the teaching staff, for the most part, is pretty mediocre. I have about two teachers from each hallway that I'd consider allowing my (future) kids to have.. Not so much with the others. So yes, improvement is needed. I'm not even going to go into the dress code..
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 15, 2008

Like many other school, some improving would not hurt.. however, i find that due to the amount of students and the staff the teachers and other staff do a good job, kids create havoc for themselves most of the time. but there are kids who really want an education and try to get it. then others who are there to just take up space or other ajendas.. i find the school itself is outdated but the staff really try to make it a pleasant and enjoyable for students and easily accessable for parents.. communication is good and the staff are willing to work in any way to help your child to become all he or she can be.. keep it up mcMinn.. you need support i'm one parent that will do my part.. thanks for allowing my children to benefit from your experience..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2008

We finally have a new principal this year. Let's see if it makes a difference. My youngest son is a Senior this year thank goodness. My oldest son grad. in 2003 and was not at all prepared for college. He too had to take remedial courses. Can not wait to get through this year and get my son a real education through college or technical.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2008

This is an absolutely horrible school. The administrators either need to get better at what they do, or quit. My child is a sophmore and she hates going to school. I'm very involved in her schooling, and I think the school needs uniforms, because the dress cod is too expensive. I think that it would get rid of alot of violence and stero-types. It would be an over all good thing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2007

The school needs to go through some major changes.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 26, 2007

It was a great school. I learned a lot there and the whole town was involved in the athletics. I couldn't see how anyone would not approve of this school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 22, 2007

Im still attending MCHS and it might as well be the worst school I ever heard off. The Principals (including assistants and vice principals) care more about the sports than the students or classes. They also have a ridiculous dress code that doesn't allow the kids any freedom. The pants cant have any loops or extra pockets and must be a basic color and cant be shorts. The shirts must be a solid color without stripes or anything else and must be tucked in. They only allow piercings in the ear lobe. Students refer to the school as a prison.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 14, 2007

McMinn County High was an awful school to let my daughter attend. She graduated in 2003 with a 4.0 gpa and has yet to graduate college. She entered college and had to take remedial classes to catch up. Not a great teaching staff, and athletics are more important than scholastics.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

382 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
22%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

302 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
20%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

345 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
54%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

380 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
55%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

324 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
52%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

315 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
41%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students67%
African American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
White68%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students39%
African American28%
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
White40%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students56%
African American32%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
White58%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities21%
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students69%
African American57%
Asiann/a
Hispanic50%
White72%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students58%
African American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
White58%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities12%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students41%
African American23%
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
White44%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African American94%
Asiann/a
Hispanic94%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities78%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 67%
Black 7% 23%
Hispanic 5% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2215 Congress Parkway
Athens, TN 37303
Phone: (423) 745-4142

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Central High School
Englewood, TN





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT