Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bartlett Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

26 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 2, 2014

We have had good success with our son's teachers from k-5. He has seen consistent improvement in reading and math. He tends to struggle with reading for comprehension but the school's after school training helped develop him to where he no longer needs to attend. He has made the honor roll every report card since kindergarten but the staff was proactive when they saw borderline test results. Overall, I think he is well equipped for Middle School
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2013

This is my daughter's 3rd year at Bartlett and I absolutely love it!!!! Great teachers and staff. They are super motivational and promote confidence filled with fun for higher learning!!! If you can I highly recommend you send your kid/kids here!!!! Gooo Bartlett!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 10, 2013

I love this school! My children have attended for a few years and one is going to continue. The parent participation is like none other. The parents take an active role in this school. The teachers and staff are caring people. They genuinely care for their students and their academic performance. We are very happy to be a part of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2012

Amazing school with an amazing staff! I have 3 sons and 2 nieces that attend BES and they all love it! Not only are the teachers, principal and assistant principal involved with the students but they encourage parent involvement with everything the kids do. The school offers reward programs for various things throughout the year, which the kiddos look forward to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2011

I have always had a great experience at BES. I have 3 children that attend BES and have been in this school for 7 yrs now (starting in prek). The opportunities for parental involvement are great. Children use technology on a regular basis here, starting in Kindergarten! Very pleased!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2010

I think the faculty is wonderful with the students and they truly care; I think this is an exceptional school! However my one and only complaint is there are not many extra activities such as programs, spelling bees, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2010

We love this school. Our children have been safe, well educated and happy. Teachers go above and beyond what is expected and the attitude of all educators and administrators has been great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Excellent academic program and caring effective teachers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2008

My niece has just gotten the TAAS scores for her 10 yr old twins and they were better than they have ever been. The twins have been in this school 1 yr. and have improved. She stated that she believe it was because the grils had more one-on-one with the teachers.


Posted March 4, 2008

I am a substitute teacher who has found Bartlett Elementary to be a warm and welcoming school. The teachers are very helpful to newcomers. The office staff and plant manager could not be more pleasant and eager to assist. The atmosphere is safe and secure, but fun and friendly toward the children and other adults. Substituting at Bartlett Elementary is better than any other place I have been.


Posted December 12, 2007

My daughter attended Bartlett Elem in kindergarten. We could not wait to move out of the area just because of the school. Her teacher was wonderful but the school in general was below average. There was no playground and very little recess time for the kids to get their energy out. The over-all staff was very unfriendly and the school had an unwelcoming feel to it. I was very sad for my daughter to have to attend school there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2007

Our son is in kindergarten at BES, and for the most part, we are pleased with the school.We are already half way through the school year and over half of his class is reading already! The entire staff seems to truly enjoy their roles as educators and support staff. In response to the previous review, there are some holiday parties, which is great if your family only celebrates Christmas. A little bit emphasis on diversity would be a definate improvement at BES. I also feel that the lack of playground is a big detractor to the school. Kids need to get their wiggles out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2007

I have two children who go to Bartlett Elementary (1st and 5th grade). There are a few complaints I have, namely no playground and only a fifteen minute recess per day. My kids have suffered due to not having an adequate place to climb and play. The school also does not provide opportunities for social interaction. In fact, they expect children to be silent much of the day. With such limited social interaction and physical play, it is very difficult for my kids to focus and pay attention for the seven-hour school day. Also, there are no holiday parties. I feel sad that my kids have had to miss out on all of the things that made elementary school great when my husband and I were little. I hope to get my younger child transfered to a new school next year because I don't feel that BES provides adequate supports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2007

Bartlett Elementary is a pretty good school overall. I would like to see some improvements like more minority teachers, at least some talk about black history and for the children that learn on a slower pace than others to not be pushed as fast as the ones who grasp it faster. There is time for some extra teaching. In my school days teachers found the time. The school also needs a playground for the children and a few clubs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2007

My oldest child in now in Kindergarten here, but has been a part of the school for three years. She was a 'typical peer' in the preschool special ed. program for two years, and I could not be more pleased. We considered private school, homeschool, and Bartlett Elem. and chose Bartlett.We have been happy with our decision. The parental involvement, our teachers and Principal are great. I do wish they had a playground, but my child has not lacked for physical ed. having to use her imagination during outside play.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2007

I am a first year kindergarten parent at Bartlett Elem.I am very satisfied with the quality of the academics, the teachers are great, the parental involvement is great, The pricipal is great,and kindergarten Teachers are great! My five year old reads on a first grade level. However, there is one concern that I have, 'February is Black History Month' It was not carried out in the curriculum. It was not even spoken of at all.The children were out of school on the Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King's Birthday. I do believe that this is an important part of history and not only African American Children should understand it But all children.Overall I think Bartlett Elem, is a wonderful school and I look foreword to spending the next five years with them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2007

Great school! The teachers and staff are very caring and concerned. I have a special education preschooler who attends and they have all be great, caring and so understanding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2007

My child is now in 5th grade at BES, and overall I have been pleased. The teachers are great and the staff is wonderful. My concern is the lack of extracurricular activites. My child was excited about becoming a 5th grader and able to particpate in the clubs, only to find out that the school had done away with all of them. I think they were an important part of teaching children responsibilty and giving them exposure to various activites. All other schools in the district continue to offer the clubs. Lastly, this school needs a playground. I can't believe that there is an elementary school that has no outlet for physcial play. The acemdemics are great, but these are still children and the focus needs to be geared toward that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2006

Bartlett is a wonderful school. Parental involvement is very strong. The teachers are excellent. This is my child's second year at Bartlett and we are having a great experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2005

Moving to this area for the special ed classes for my son was the best thing i cld do to help him. If it wasn't for Ms.Shields ,Ms Lynn and Ms marite I don't know if my son wld have progressed.All special ed teachers should learn from them . Thank you all. Shirley Gavrock
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
60%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
77%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
43%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

154 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
56%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
75%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
African American58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic36%
White78%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities44%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students61%
African American49%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
White71%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students74%
African American58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
White90%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities44%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students92%
African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students59%
African American54%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students49%
African American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities24%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students65%
African American52%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African American93%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities76%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
African American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities59%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students69%
African American58%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities59%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students75%
African American59%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities55%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students94%
African American91%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 50% 67%
Black 36% 23%
Hispanic 7% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Two or more races 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room

Language learning

Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3932 Billy Maher Rd
Bartlett, TN 38135
Phone: (901) 373-2610

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT