Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Elmore Park Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

The faculty cares about my children and the new principal is so dedicated to doing everything he can to ensure their success. The kids love their teachers and principals. So happy to be in their school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2014

My son is in 7th grade and he & I both like the school. From my experience the staff is great and willing to help if needed. The PTA membership is good. I feel the faculty is Great. Keep u he good work, you are some the most important people in our kids life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2014

This has been our first year at this school.I am really thankful for all the staff. My son is really enjoying the school. I have had no problems with the staff at all. They keeps me informed on whats going on with him. Good and not so good, The teachers are great with him. The principal and all the staff are great with him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2013

This school will not improve until the administration has been replaced. Should have been done long ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2012

This was our first year at Elmore Park. So far so good! My son is in resource and has a slight learning disability. Teachers have been understanding and very helpful. The school is not huge and love the smaller feel here. Everyone is always nice and registration was great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2012

I've heard from several other parents about problems they encountered with the principal of EPMS, but didn't think much about it. Now that my children are actually attending this school, I can see it is true. Was really hoping that we wouldn't have the same problems, but unfortunately we are. Never had problems this serious with other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2011

Couldn't agree more, I have also had several bad experiences with this principal over the two years that my child has been at this school. I have also complained to the school board about her attitude and behaviour. My child's previous school had a great principal and all the teachers seemed to love working for her. She knew the children by name, and was always very kind to the parents and listened to them and valued their opinion. To come from that atmosphere to Elmore Park Middle is such a shock; there is a very negative atmosphere, I can feel it as soon as I walk in the door. Hope something can be done very soon!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 6, 2011

I think its crazy to see PARENTS judge elmore park. Do y'all go there ? no. For one , miss lowe represents a principle that gets the job done. She does not play games with you and she's not there to be your friend. Thats how its supposed to be, she a good principle , and if your going to complain about ELMORE'S staff , you should first take a look at other schools staff , why don't you send your kid somewhere else like bon lin or appling or any other schools around here , iv been transferred to a couple that where stated to be the best and yet it was horrible. So send your kids there and you'll be running back to epms and have a better point of view of it. Through my years being there every single teacher has been good , there not all nice but there all good teachers. Some teachers are there to have fun and be friends with kids , and others are straight forward with just teaching and thats the "mean" teachers . But over all i personally think epms is one of the best if not the best middle schools in shelby county AND memphis city for sure. And this is from someone who has actually gone there to jude it and not some parents who has never even been to the school before.Ridiculous


Posted September 23, 2011

AVOID THIS SCHOOL!!! The reviews are 100% accurate when telling you the Principal has a MAJOR chip on her shoulder. My child has special needs and she is very unhappy with this school. This school is horrible bc the leadership is horrible. The Principal is a huge problem for this school!!! She is EXTREMELY rude. She doesn't care AT ALL for the kids. She is very snobby and arrogant. My daughter is terrified of her. We have seen staff members SCREAM at the kids like they are in the military. It is SO CRUEL. They didn't know we were watching them but they still did not care. just kept YELLING at the kids. :( The staff does not communicate with the parents AT ALL. We never know what is going on. They have limited activities for the children. My daughter is not allowed to be in choir!?!?! It is how they set up their schedules. My daughter once took ballet at another school, here, she is tormented and I am STUCK until I move. I am very unhappy with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2011

The functional aspect of teaching at this school is ok, but the administration is about a zero. I believe the principal should be replaced as she is arrogant and has a chip on her shoulder.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2011

Our experience at Elmore Park has been mixed. With respect to the teachers, on the positive side, they are both friendly and well qualified; however, on the negative side they do not seem to have any cross-communication amongst themselves. I can't tell you how many times my 6th grader came home with homework in EVERY subject! Not to mention having to go in early for various "projects." And while band has been a great experience, the level of commitment that is demanded in before school & after school practices, not to mention the CONTINUAL request for money!, somewhat tainted the whole thing. In addition to that, we have experienced a year FULL of last minute requests/notifications concerning everything from dues that need to be paid to field trip permission slips. I find their library to be greatly lacking, but perhaps this will be remedied with the new building? Perhaps the greatest disappointment was having my child come home each day (at least early on in the school year) complaining about the level of cursing that the students use in the hallway & at lunchtime. I felt like there were more things to "correct" about the school day than there was to praise.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2011

Elmore Park is an excellent school. Why, because great leadership is omni-present. Ms. Lowe deserves respect, loyalty and support from the staff, parents, students and community. She works dilligently to provide an environment conducive for learning. It would be more beneficial to the school as a whole if the negative comments could revert to a helping hand. There is no perfect system or perfect people. When our children hear all the ugly remarks about the principal, teachers and school, they bring all that bad attitude to school. Grown ups, stop disrespecting other adults on front of your kids. Then you wonder kids carry on in such a way. They are mirrowing "YOU".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2010

This is a wonderful school. Not everything is rosy in our experience, but the administrators and faculty work to solve problems. And they truly care about the students. Parents are invited into the school, but there just aren't too many opportunities for participation in middle school. The PTSA is expanding programs for parents, but it's still growing. Once the construction is complete and programs are standardized, I will give it 5 stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 26, 2008

i love this school and the faculty and staff the people there at elmore park are great they allways give 100% in my education they never give up . the classes like pe and art are great too . They also have a band there that is so fun and the teacher is so up beat i would know because i am a flute player im in 8th grade
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 12, 2008

I have used Great Schools.net the last two times we have moved to find a home in the areas of the best schools. We recently moved from N.C. and my son is attending Elmore Park. I was very disappointed in the happenings the first day of school. My son was registered for school the week before school start and I had a conference with the principal to discuss his special needs. When he got to school on the first day, they didn't even have him in the system yet. He had to sit in the guidance office for 2 hours while they put him in the system. He missed homeroom and didn't get his books or a lunch number, which held up the line at lunch, which was embarassing to him. They did not have locker assignments, and the list goes on. Very Disorganized! I hope it gets better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2007

Elmore Park Middle is the 'BEST' public school my child has atteneded in this city. These teachers actually seem like they care. They are HIGHLY QUALIFIED and have high expectations for each child and will not allow them to just do the bare minimum to get by like the teachers in the city schools. I have waisted 6 years of my son's life and education allowing him to attend the city schools where most of the teachers in that system don't care if your child is behind or if they aren't doing well. Just as long as they get thier checks.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 26, 2007

I skeptical about Elmore Park MS before my child attended last school year. How relieved I was to learn I was wrong. The principal and faculty have proven to me that they are in their roles for a reason. I knew that had the same or similar expectations for my son and I did. Good behavior is an expectation. Bad behavior is not tolerated. This controlled environment allows for education to be the priority what a win! My child s grades were excellent, he was pushed to do more than status quo, and he was successful. Thank Ms. Lowe and staff for taking a stand and making a difference in the lives of many young people. Outstanding!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2006

This is the best school our child has ever attended. The principal and teachers are exceptional. They have almost no problems with bullies, even though middle school is the most common age for bullying, thanks to their peer mediator program. Our child attended a costly private school and Elmore Park has beat it hands down - socially, academically, etc.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

208 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
39%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

208 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

208 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
63%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

218 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
33%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

218 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
47%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

218 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
60%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

218 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
21%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

212 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
62%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students59%
African American45%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities16%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students69%
African American48%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities28%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students81%
African American59%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Students with disabilities52%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities64%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
African American45%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilities55%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students57%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities52%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students86%
African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities68%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students91%
African American77%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White95%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities78%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
African American61%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities52%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students65%
African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students90%
African American78%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities76%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African American90%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities92%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
93%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 67%
Black 17% 23%
Hispanic 5% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Two or more races 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6330 Althorne Rd
Bartlett, TN 38134
Phone: (901) 373-2642

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT