Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bon Lin Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2014

We`'ve got 2 kids at Bon-lin elementary, and would happily recommend this school. Every year our experience is positive, from pre-k onwards.Our kids are happy,and are always looking forward to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

The school has a student support team that helps to identify and support students struggling in the classroom, for whatever the reason. This team meets every 4-6 weeks to monitor students' progress and make adaptations to learning strategies and interventions utilized for the student. If progress is made, the student is continued in monitoring, or if lack of progress is made, a referral for additional educational support/services may be made. Prior achievement test results and benchmark performance is used to sometimes identify students in need of support, but often parents have to and need to, get involved in the process. Parents can request that their child be monitored and supported, and usually also have to request updates regarding progress outside of the typical report card.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2014

We are military and moved to Memphis in summer 2013. I was quite concerned with Memphis schools so I did a lot of research before picking Bon Lin. This school has been absolutely WONDERFUL. From the principal to the teachers, everybody has gone out of their way to get my 4th grader settled into her new school. The teacher morale is very high and it shows in the smiles on their faces. Communication is fantastic and there are plenty of fun activities to participate in for the students. The students are so well behaved and respectful and the teachers actually enjoy teaching. I can't say enough good about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

I have a 5th grader last year and she loved it! I loved it as academics are very important. I liked the staff and the children were for the most part very well behaved! My little has moved on to middle school now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2011

I am very pleased with this school. My child has attended for four years and I have been happy with all of her teachers as well as the administration. The teachers are very committed to the students and it shows. Parent involvement is highly encouraged by the school and parents are very involved in many activities and programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2010

Focus is on TCAP and maintaining high test scores. The school does not have a strong stance on bullies which has been a problem where my son has been hit, pushed and shoved 3 separate times in the first 5 weeks of school. They work hard to bring the struggling students up to passing but do little for the gifted students to challenge them, at least until they reach 3rd grade and get into APEX.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2010

My son is in his 3rd year at Bon Lin and I couldn't be happier with it. The teachers have been fantastic. He's been challenged academically and they've had programs to help him since he struggles socially. The principal has been very involved, as is the PTA. When I join him for lunch, the food is good for cafeteria food. My son especially loves the breakfasts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2010

School is relatively new and quickly becoming overcrowded. My son's class had 22 students this past year and the teacher was overwhelmed. Not willing to work with parents. Was told several times she was willing to work with him, disassociating the fact that if she was going to work with my child, she had to work with me too. Dissatisfied with the previous 1st grade teacher too. Great at communicating with parents, but failed to teach my child to read anywhere near an appropriate level. Paying for private tutoring this summer due to lack of quality teaching. Very regimented schedule with little time for energy release, not good for boys. A LOT of focus is given to the TCAP and Gateway tests. Principals is overrated and retiring. Replacement may be better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

We have 2 children currently going to this school and our oldest is a Bon Lin Middle. This is the way a school should operate. It sets the standard.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

Everything is great. The teachers and staff and kind and do a great job with the studetns.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2009

My daughter and son have both attented Bon Lin Elementary. The staff is GREAT! We are very happy with this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2009

The school mean teachers in some cases my child has dealt with that. The school's lunch is lacking nutrition.The does not me children's needs.(even if they are above average) They are putting preschoolers in that school which is not safe. They do not have good teacher for them either. I wouldn't recommend this school to any children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2009

I think that Bonlin has wonderful teachers, but if you are not in the 80% of the 'average' student then there is a lacking in your needs being met. Of course there are programs for students who have special needs it but I think that Shelby County could do much better. Not only with special needs students but also APEX students. The main area that this school along with most in the country is the food is lacking in nutrition and is almost inedible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2008

We could go up against any private school in the area. The teachers are fabulous and truly love their job and care about the kids. I can't say enough good things. We are fortunate to have a great adminstrators as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2008

My daughter is in Pre-k. I am very happy with the teachers, program and the overall!!!! I'd recommend this school to anybody, it is wonderful!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2008

Awesome! You can't ask for better teachers or principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2008

Would not send my son to any other school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2007

Great School! Great Teachers! Great Great Great!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
75%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
87%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
42%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

127 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
62%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

158 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
71%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
African American69%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities75%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students69%
African American62%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students90%
African American87%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities75%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African American92%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities95%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students70%
African American56%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students64%
African American41%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students74%
African American59%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students89%
African American85%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
White90%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities71%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students73%
African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
White80%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students86%
African American77%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
White90%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disabilities76%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities86%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 67%
Black 31% 23%
Hispanic 4% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Two or more races 2% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 25%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3940 North Germantown Rd
Bartlett, TN 38133
Phone: (901) 937-2344

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT