Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Bells, TN
Students enrolled: 439

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Bells Elementary School 4

Posted April 28, 2014
- a parent
We're nearing the end of our second year at BES. Having moved here from a much larger city, it was such a relief to know I was sending my daughter to a safe, small town school. The teachers have been friendly and involved. I'm not sure if its still the same principal that's being referred to in previous reviews, but the current principal can call every dang child in that school by name. I've seen no problem with security, and have in fact seen it increased in the two years we've been there. There is probably more they could do in extracurriculars and school events (I want spirit weeks and themed dress days!) and there does not seem to be much parental involvement. But my girl is doing very well in school and enjoys going every day - what more can a parent ask for? Wait, oh yeah, BES was also one of only FIVE elementary schools in the entire state of TN to receive exemplary status based on TCAP (end of year testing) scores. I'll take it.

Bells Elementary School 1

Posted May 05, 2013
- a community member
I agree with the last posting. The principal for sure has issues. I thought there were no smoking on school grounds. Several teachers at this school is allowed to leave their students unattended to have themselves a 'smoke' break. Horrible to have around these young children. Also, people, please note: because of budget cuts, many of the assistants will not be returning next year. Pray for your kids.


Bells Elementary School 1

Posted March 05, 2013
- a parent
This school is very lax in safety of children. They appear to be a good school on the surface, but it is clear to this parent, that the principal is unqualified as are some of the teaching staff. Certain teachers are more concerned about socializing with other staff members than about teaching or watching your child. When one teacher has over half the class that is failing, it comes down to the issue of the teacher, not the child.

Bells Elementary School 3

Posted March 28, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Bells Elementary School 5

Posted July 30, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Bells Elementary School 2

Posted April 27, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Bells Elementary School 5

Posted January 12, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Bells Elementary School 4

Posted October 26, 2007
- a parent
I feel that Bells city school is above average in academics as well as extracurricular activities. When compared to other schools in the surrounding counties this school has a lot to offer. The teachers really care about there students and are willing to go the extra mile to make sure the students obtain the best possible education.


Bells Elementary School 3

Posted August 06, 2007
- a parent
There really isn't a lot available for academically gifted children. The EXCEL program is offered but it fails to challenge these children in an y way.

Bells Elementary School 2

Posted November 30, 2004
- a parent
This school is VERY lax in their monitoring of children. Also, there is not pickup policies. Also they have no PTA for the parents to be involved.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Bells Elementary School
4532 Hwy 88 South, Bells, TN  38006
(731) 663-2739
Last modified Bells Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Bells Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top