Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sullivan Central High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 9, 2014

I love central! I have learned so much here and the whole student body is like one huge family! There aren't many cliques and we all work together. Our EOC scores have been better than a lot of the other schools in our county for the past couple of years. Central is a lot of fun and I'm so glad I got the privilege to go here!


Posted November 30, 2009

Wow people really like this school????!!!!?!?!!? Most of the teachers are wonderful, but the ones that aren't are the worst I've ever had!!! The administration is too laid back for their own good and Mrs. Riden never foloows through with her promises. I expect my classes to met my intellectual needs and none that I have taken so far have met my expectations.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 16, 2009

The Environment is just amazing! The student population as a whole can easily be described as polite, dedicated, and responsible. I haven't met a teacher yet I didn't like! This school has such a positive atitude!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 3, 2009

Horrible death trap of a school! Lots of GEDs
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 16, 2009

Sullivan Central is a fantastic school. As a student, I've learned how under-rated it really is. Just because our football program has been going through a rebuilding process and problems with coaches does not reflect the school. The football program is in fact, a great thing. I played for 4 years with some of the best coaches who taught me how to grow up and become a man. I don't regret it at all. As for the school, I love the atmosphere. There aren't many cliques or social groups. Mostly everyone is just mixed together. The academics can be challenging if you take the right classes. I think I'm very well prepared for college and for life because i went there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 9, 2009

Central is an excellent school with lots of opportunity. Ms. Riden and the staff work diligently to help the school and students reach their highest potential. We have found the school to be safe and an academically challenging environment. We have also found the highly qualified teachers exhibit excellent teaching and motivational skills. All too often, large groups of young adults are unfairly stereotyped due to the behavior of a few isolated cases. Give the kids a chance and you may just get to see the best side of them. These kids work hard and play hard. I challenge anyone to go to a ball game and ask 10 students for help finding a bathroom. I'll bet you'll be surprised. Talk to parents of current students and students themselves before being swayed by the opinions of others. Students and parents can expect to get out, just about what they put in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2008

The school is in terrible shape the kids are prone to violence and the principal is not helping the matter.These kids do what they want when they want.I know my son went there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2008

its amazing and the teacher try to influence the children very well
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 22, 2007

School is not all about Football and Band. Their are many other aspects you must take into cosideration. This year has been a year of change for the students and staff. Some for the better and some for the worse. We have takin on new leadership, she has improved our school greatly not just physically but also academicly. Yes our Football may not be the best in the world but our turn-out showes our cougar pride. Sullivan Central has made a huge impact on my life and its made my HS career the time of my life!!! '08
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 6, 2007

Administration is working hard to make the school a better environment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 10, 2006

The Sullivan Central Marching Band is definitely great and has lots of Class. It's Something to be very proud of and a part of. The football program on the other hand is definitely NOT great. It is so bad that Sullivan County families actually redirect and relocate their households in order to attend other schools with more successful athletic programs such as Tennessee High School, Dobbins Bennett, and Sullivan South. There is increasing and significant grumbling and concern from citizens and parents of the Sullivan Central community and signs of community disinterest are evident as there is less participation and there are fewer spectators for which in turn affects the operational costs of our athletic programs.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted July 9, 2006

It is a great school. We have a melody of all different people in the school. I mean it wont ever be perfect. Popularity like another school rules this school if you aren't a prep or jock then your nothing. Even the band (which I am proudly in ) are higher than a lot of people think. This year our football team lost EVERY game and our band won all of our compactions. Our band is the reason why our school gets money and well its a pity . That's my review. Don't get my wrong I love that school. Thank You
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

259 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
44%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

236 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
30%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

224 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
48%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

248 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
64%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

221 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
68%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

271 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
49%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities44%
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students48%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students67%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities26%
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities23%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students45%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilities6%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilities81%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 98% 67%
Black 1% 23%
Hispanic 1% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

131 Shipley Ferry Rd
Blountville, TN 37617
Phone: (423) 354-1200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Gunnings
Blountville, TN







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT