Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bluff City Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 23, 2014

As a former student, I recconmend your child comes here. The sanitary was great!! I loved every teacher, and as an intelligent student, the teachers help all the children learn. The teachers are quite caring and understanding. The worst grade is probably 3rd. Everything is well kept, and the learning standards are quite high. Technology is up to date and all the students have fun. My 6 years there, there was no bullying, which is outstanding. This is an amazing school.


Posted October 16, 2013

My daughter just started kindergarten this year and she has a new teacher that just moved to our area. She loves her school and teacher and seems to be doing very well so far. She is a car rider and every day when I drop her off and pick her up the faculty is so nice to us and friendly! So far, the school is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2013

Someone blasted the booster program. It seems funny that they do not realize that parents like him/her are the reason booster clubs struggle. QUIT criticizing and SHOW UP to run the concession stands, clean up, organize, sit at gates, donate money, donate time, ......... The list goes on and on, yet the hecklers sit on the sidelines and feel ENTITLED to all they expect! The boosters for the past few years have been hard working and successful. They are a few great people who do the work for all of the "takers!" I'm not on the board, but my husband and I fill in the gaps every chance we get. TRY IT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2012

My daughter attended this school for 3 years before we moved out of state. There were some wonderful teachers and some not-so-wonderful ones. The new principal, Mrs. Nester, is terrific and fosters a great atmosphere there. However!!! There are a few teachers there who were downright snobby to my child and she had one teacher who seemed quite clueless about teaching. The facility is very old and outdated and doesn't feel fresh and clean at all. There is very little parental involvement - the PTA will have a great leader or two and almost no help. I wouldn't choose this school for my kids but there are some positives - some of the teachers are great...but I want a school where ALL the teachers are great. My child was safe and loved there, but she stood out to some degree because we were not from the area and we were better off financially than a majority of the families. I don't say that to sound snobby, but just to point out the difference - I wouldn't want my child to stand out for being on either end of the money spectrum and I didn't like being treated differently. I would say if you have a choice, go elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2011

Great Great,! i just can not say enough about the Teachers,staff,and the students. awesome school. our son has been going to this school since kindergarden.the best teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Has the greatest children in the world love each and everyone
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2009

This scool is amazing my children love it especially my 10 year old
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2009

they have toooooo much lolly-gagging time you need to be way harder on them sooo maybe my children can get an education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2008

I have two boys here at BC elem, and I love our school. We have some very very good teachers here! We also have a wonderful school councler. These are the people that our childrens future a wonderful better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 7, 2008

No school is perfect & will never be. This is a great school & as all schools there are areas that can be improved. I wish more parents would get involved in PTA & Booster Club, so many people want to criticise the ones who volunteer their time but don't have a clue what these people go through to make things work but will not get involved themselves. I am a member of the Booster Club & I want to take a moment to tell everyone that for the most part of the basketball season there was a board member 'Vice President' named Geraldlena Barnett who practically lived at this school & dedicated herself & her time more than any other board member did. She didn't get the recognition she deserved for the '07-'08 Basketball Season. Great Job Mrs. Barnett, we need more parents like you!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2008

Me and my husband are both educated and have good jobs. There are certain opportunites you want for your children which BCES offers. We are both highly involved with our children's lives, despite demanding careers. I am the cheerleading coordinator for BCES. Yes, a part of the Booster Club who is made up of parents that work hard, but do not get enough credit for how much time we put into it. Which is not why we do it. We do it for the kids. It's easy for cowards to put in bad reviews and not release their names. Did this parent try to run to be a part of the booster club to make it better? Or is this a parent that just wanted to sit in the stands a fuss! It's a great school, despite a few parents that can't help, just cause trouble for the ones trying!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2008

This is a poor excuse for a school. The administration lacks leadership and communication skills. This puts a burden on the staff, students and parents. The principal lacks compation for the children. The booster club has a lot of work to do. The children suffer for the quality of work done by the booster club. Depending on who your child plays for they may never get to practice in the sport they sign up for. If I were moving to this area I would find a different school for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 17, 2007

I would like to thank Mrs. Hatcher and Mrs. Nave for the wonderful work they have done. Mrs. Hatcher has taught both my children and they really enjoyed having her. Mrs. Nave has taught my son and she has been very understanding and compassionate when dealing with his ADHD and I know he will miss her when this year is over. Thanks to both of you for making school fun for the kids and for all the hard work you've done. You will be missed very much next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2004

Bluff City Elementary is an outstanding shcool. I have 2 children there. Any concerns that I have had are addressed with concern and swiftness. Mr. Nelson takes very good care of the school, and the children come first. With school violence today it is important to have a strong leader in the school I feel that my children are safe.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
38%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
70%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
57%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
31%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
69%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students43%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White45%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students77%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students46%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities11%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students59%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities11%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities83%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students64%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students89%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities56%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 67%
Black 1% 23%
Hispanic 1% 7%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 63%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (423) 354-1831

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

282 Maple Dr
Bluff City, TN 37618
Phone: (423) 354-1825

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Mary Hughes School
Piney Flats, TN






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT