Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bluff City Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 29, 2014

Honestly, I did not attend this school very long. But from what I saw, I loved it. The teachers there really helped me out, especially as far as getting used to the school. I am from a northern state, and I felt comfort here as a student. Of course I would recommend that you send your kids here.


Posted March 23, 2014

I love this school. As a parent I enjoyed this school and so does my child, it has changed and become better in rates. My daughter has a very good relationship with her teachers, and has learned so much. Yes it does need an update on sanitary for sure. I wouldn't say it is the best, but it is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2014

I used to go to this school in the 80's and it wasn't great then. My child started here and is now being home schooled. The school allowed her to be bullied for 2 months and when she couldn't take it anymore she was charged with assault. Now her records show her to be the BULLY. The dress code is only enforced for the students. Some of the staff wear very inappropriate clothing. Respect is not given by staff but is expected of the students. The teachers drink soda, eat, chew gum, and play/text on their phones. When asking the principal about this his reply was..."Adults are allowed to do things that children aren't". Good way to teach respect. The students receive harsh punishments for minor offenses. If you go to the school board over any issues your child will get a target on his/her back. If you have to send your child here (and I don't recommend you do) You need to tell them not to stare at the principal or they will get suspended for three days. In a meeting I had to ask him the old childish question..."how did you know she was staring at you if you weren't staring at her?" No comment was given. May as well buy a brick to talk to. PARENTS BEWARE!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2013

I, as a student at Bluff City Middle School, am apalled. The teachers are inconsiderate of students (with few acceptions), the cafeteria and bathrooms are discusting, and the assistant principal does not respect dress code. One eighth-grade teacher in perticular is too judemental in the classroom. I do not reccomend sending your children to this school.


Posted May 2, 2013

I am an educator myself and am appalled at the attitude and work ethic of many of the teachers. For example, one teacher spends his entire class period with his feet on his desk while playing some game on his phone. Students receive no instruction or attention and are expected to read the chapter material and be tested on it that Friday. Another teacher consistently calls the principle in to maintain order for petty discipline issues. Another spends her entire class period bragging about her sons' sporting activities. Students boast that they just need to mention it and she talks and shows pictures the entire time. In addition, there is no RTI to speak of. Students are immediately sent to ISS or alternative school for any minor offense. Many of these students would benefit from a teacher that listened and tried to build a caring relationship with them. Others would be more receptive if the learning environment was differentiated for different learning styles. WAKE UP TEACHERS! Yes, it is your job to do what is necessary to reach the students! Where is the creativity and desire to instill a love of learning in a child.


Posted December 16, 2011

This school is one of the worst I have encountered. They do nothing to stop bullying. Their academic program is horrible. The teachers lack any care for the majority of the students attending. The principal is awful and does not try to reach resolutions for his school or students and is told what to do by teachers. What is good???
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2011

HORRIBLE school all the way around. The principal lacks leadership skills and ability. The teachers have their chosen few of favorites. The academic programs are severly lacking.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2010

I want to know what school some of these people are talking about? The BCMS that my son attended was the worst school I have every seen. The teachers did not care, they beat the students out of the door at the end of the day. Most are just there to collect a pay check. The 3 years that my son attended BCMS was a nightmare. This schools does nothing to curb bullying. My son was told on 2 occasions when he reported bullying to himself and another student that no tattling. That was because the one doing the bullying was a teachers child. I would not recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2009

i like my reading teacher a lot, her name is ms. Evans. and my s.s ms. ervans she is cool too
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 16, 2009

this school is wonderful our F.C.A. program has grown to 90 kids. and our volleyball was the best ever this year. our track is just now starting but i have a good feeling that it is going to be good. our school needs some funner classes if you ask me. every year we do the same thing in our related art classes. but other than that our school is perfect
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 31, 2007

This school has a caring, professional teaching staff that work hard to ensure a quality education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2007

My son has attended BCMS for the past three years. He will be moving on to EHS in the fall and we feel that his years at BCMS have prepared him for the next step in his academic career. As someone who has made a career of working with children, I feel that the staff do well with the children in their care. I do wish the student/teacher ratios were lower, but even with such high ratios, my son has been given the attention and instruction he has needed. If more parents would take the time to focus on the job of raising respectable, honest, hard-working students, I feel that the rating for this school would be much higher. Teachers can only work with what they are given. Thank you BCMS staff! We really appreciate the work that you put forth everyday!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2006

This school is poor. We do not have anything we had last year. The dress code is way too strict.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 9, 2005

I give the school very poor marks. The principle lets the teachers rule. If you go to him with a problem, he says he will take care of it, but he is just moving his lips. Rules are for some but not for all. They want the students to dress like a grandmother. They are rude to the kids saying such things to my granddaughter , such as, Kids are to be seen and not heard. The children are not treated with any respect. The academic program is poor and the sports program is for their pets.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
21%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
46%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
41%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

125 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
36%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
36%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

143 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
54%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

136 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
13%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
39%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
62%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

135 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students42%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White42%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities32%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students86%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities55%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students53%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities6%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students53%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities6%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students60%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities12%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students83%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilities41%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students48%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities6%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities6%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students73%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 99% 67%
Hispanic 1% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Black 0% 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 56%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (423) 354-1818

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

715 Carter St
Bluff City, TN 37618
Phone: (423) 354-1801

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Mary Hughes School
Piney Flats, TN





Gunnings
Blountville, TN


Holston Middle School
Blountville, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT