Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Granbery Elementary School

Public | K-4

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

31 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 6, 2008

Great principal & teachers! Lots of parental involvment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2007

I agree with most of the comments. I have one 4th, one 1st grader in this school. It is a wonderful public school. Teachers are very qualified, principal, parent involvement all perfect. My only reservation is extracurricular activities. There is nothing to engage children other than the recycling program (which is great!). My experience with YMCA Fun Co. was terrible, immediately pulled them out of that disorganized circus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2007

I have had two children attend Granbery since 1994. My second will leave as a fourth grader this month. I am very sad. Granbery is an excellent public school, and has a great deal of excellent parents and teachers. I have been very involved the past 4 years with the PTA. My son has enjoyed seeing mom at school helping to make it even greater! We all have to remember what makes a great school are great teachers, principals, and support staff. The other things that help to make all of this possible is PARENT INVOLVMENT! We will miss Granbery and everyone affiliated with the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2007

My child is in kindergarten at Granbery and I am very pleased with his teacher as well as the school overall. I feel he has learned much more than I ever imagined a kindergartner could. Although he has homework every night I feel it is a great time to use that time to spend with him and it also makes me feel involved with what he is learning. I also volunteer in his class as much as I can which helps me to see how things are done during the day. I like what I see!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2006

The Extra Curricular activities are not scheduled to meet the needs of working parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2006

My son transferred to this school this year from an excellent school. I was worried that they could not meet my standards. The school has went above and beyond what I expected them to. My son loves to go to school because the teacher has made learning fun for him, she is very caring, and always keeps the parents informed on what is going on at all times. As for the parents, his class had about 98% parent involvement. They were wonderful. I would highly recommend this school, it has been a wonderful experience for my family and we look forward to my youngest starting there next year as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2006

I currently have three children attending granberry. I am very dissatisfied with the school as a whole. I am doing everything i can so they will not have to return next year. We have moved three times in the past six years, and this is by far the worst school! my children all did very well at their previous, higher rated schools, and here they are all struggling. It is like pulling teeth to get any help, and usually you don't get it! the after care program is also the worst! i've also noticed that there is not much parent envolvement either. Children do not even have recess!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2004

I've had my son in this school for 2-1/2 years now; never have I seen the children in the lunchroom without assistance. I go to eat lunch with my son at least twice a week, and see the excellent discipline and supervision by the lunchroom supervisor. I also have been pleased with the teachers my son has had, and the safety concerns displayed by the teachers and staff at Granbery. Not being sure what I would think about a public school, I have to say that I have been totally pleased with Granbery and its staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2004

Granbery is an excellent school. The teachers are caring, wonderful people. Our experience has been nothing but positive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2004

My son started school here about 4 years ago in kindergarten, not knowing how to go through a lunch line left him hungry for almost two weeks not reacieving any lunch, I did not believe it when he told me so I went and saw for myself, a small child sitting in a huge lunchroom, with no food while others surrounded him with their trays, a little boy next to him sharing a cracker with him, and my son with his lunchmoney still in his envelope in his hand, the teacher at the head of the room eating her lunch and as she told me 'there were way too many kids for her to watch all of them closley', the principle not at all helpful did not even want to talk to me and called me a lier after about 15 people witnessed my son without food.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

This is a great school, with wonderful parental involvment. I debated on sending my child to a private school, however, after touring and visiting Granberry, I decided to send my son there. Currently my son is learning in kindergarten what I know others are learing in 1st grade at a private school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
83%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
66%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
African American53%
Asian84%
Hispanic65%
White88%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities63%
English language learners55%

Reading/Language Arts

All Students76%
African American71%
Asian58%
Hispanic61%
White86%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities63%
English language learners18%

Science

All Students87%
African American82%
Asian68%
Hispanic87%
White93%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities69%
English language learners73%

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African American94%
Asian90%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities69%
English language learners91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
African American56%
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
White76%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities85%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students70%
African American48%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
White72%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students76%
African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
White80%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities69%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 67%
Black 17% 23%
Hispanic 11% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5501 Hill Rd
Brentwood, TN 37027
Website: Click here
Phone: (615) 333-5112

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Montessori Academy
Brentwood, TN






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT