Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Granbery Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 715 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

32 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 8, 2014

I graduated from this school 2 years ago and I can honestly say it is the best school. The teachers were really supportive and art class was always a blast. Gifted children were able to go to encore for harder studies but support was given I made a lot of life long friends and I always enjoyed going. Don't hesitate to enroll your child because I guarantee you and your child will not regret it!!!! :)


Posted June 8, 2013

My daughter joined Granbery almost in the last quarter of the academic year - we came from a different country and it was her first school in the US. She was welcomed, tutored and mentored for her TCAP assessments and she shone ! Her 4th Grade Teacher was the BEST ever teacher, dedicated and instilled a sense of discipline. Music teachers were very passionate to teach the recorder and my daughter loved it ! Field trips, After school activities, Concerts aplenty - I volunteered for almost every event that they needed help / chaperones. PTA had a very strong presence and so did the Principal. She is a very approachable and affable lady ! Wonderfully stocked library and beautiful play field - We miss Granbery !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2013

My child attended K and 1st here, love it.. Pros: seasoned seemingly well-liked administration, active PTA, lots of enrichment opportunities (some cost extra or are after school), numerous field trips, positive environment, well-behaved kids, nice parents, focus on performance, high test scores. Cons: technology (although PTA supplements Metro's budget allotment), infrequent computer classes, some teachers embrace the technology resources and some don't (it seems to be their choice), some ineffective teachers. Teaching seems to be normalized to the middle-ground although most teachers do attempt to provide additional challenges for advanced students and to boost lower performers. The PTA focuses on closing the technology gap (online study programs, funds for computers, technology upgrades). I looked at private schools, but felt that differences could be made up by providing home enrichment (and I still think this is true.). I also appreciate the diversity, which I assessed to be 1/2 caucasian and 1/2 a melting pot. Get involved, you'll love it. Previous reviewer's neg assessment of cleanliness, field trips, staying in homeroom for all classes, and principal don't fit my experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2013

Granbery is a great school my son attended kindergarten here and he was very found of school he always loved to go school. Principal and whole staff is very welcoming and helpful......so far the teacher (Miss Miller) my child has had in kindergarten was excellent. Miss miller gave him positive approach of life I will be always thankful to her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2012

My boys have been attending Granbery for three years now, and we love this school! I love the parental involvement and the diversity of the students. This is one of Nashville's best elementary schools by far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 29, 2012

My child is concluding there last of two years here; it has been the longest contraction. The school lacks: Technology, Foreign (2nd) language, Music, Faculty Passion and Arts. They charge ($$$) for everything, never experienced this method in private/charter or other schools (public). 99% of the staff is aged, thus lacking the desire for recess, passion, energy. All classes are in student s homeroom teacher. We have been a part of other curriculum with other schools where classes were assigned to separate teachers, computers, and music. Students are constantly being restricted privileges due to actions of other students. Classes are heavily mixed with academically, behavioral challenged students which slows the advancement of the majority. Parking/Driver lot is a train wreck, cleanliness is frightful. Though my child is exceeding in there academics, expressing dislike for the school has been a constant .Also, Field Trips rarely happens and if it does .Children pay to have a rep bring the Field Trip to the school. I really feel a new Principal & Asst. Principal would do the trick in resuscitating the school. Were quite active involved parents :-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2011

I agree this is a great school and I have two children attending. However, if you are considering this school, I think there are some things you should know. Parental involvement is a major factor at this school. Our experiences so far (3 years in) are that homework is a BIG deal and rarely will you have nights off. So bear that in mind if you are Wed. night church attendees or have children involved in extracurriculars. This has been very challenging for us with 2 working parents as I'm not talking 15 minutes and you're done kind of homework. This school is big and crowded for an elementary school. They manage it well but you will feel the pain in the cafeteria that was not expanded when the rest of the school was. "Lunch" begins as early as 10:10! There is no meet and greet for kindergartners. They meet their teachers/see their classroom on the first day of school just like grades 1 thru 4. Makes for a real zoo on day #1. Their onsite daycare is full and on a waiting list so plan accordingly. They are big on field trips. My two have been on more trips so far than I went on in my whole Metro school career. Start saving your money for those now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2011

This is best public school we have ever experienced for our daughter. She used to attend of the most prestigious private school in Nashville, but we decided to transfer her to Granbery and we are very happy for that decision. More specifically, Granbery enjoys an optimal level of diversity, with caring teachers and very active parents. Really EXCEPTIONAL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2010

My son attended Granbery from K through 4th grade. My daughter started there also and is now in the 3rd grade. This school is excellent for public schools. I debated over whether to place my children in private school. I am glad to say that I am content with my choice. My son excelled there and my daughter is currently doing the same. The PTA there will keep you informed and involved. Teachers are provided with funds from the PTA to help enrich the classroom experience for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

Granbery has been wonderful for our son. We've looked at private schools and discovered that Granbery offers as much and more than most private schools in the area. Wonderful principal and teachers and an excellent recycling program. Amazing parent involvement and a great group of students. Test scores are in the top percentiles. Couldn't ask for a better elementary school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

This public school has been the greatest for my child. He is in the 3rd grade and has adored every teacher since kindergarten, has worked hard and enjoyed going to school every day! We dread deciding on what to do for middle school because we hve been spoiled being at this fabulous school. I wish it went to 6th grade. Or even 5th !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2009

As a former teacher and parent of two that attend this school, I can say without reservation that this is an EXCEPTIONAL school! The teachers are amazing and the administration truly cares about the students and parents. The one concern I have had in three years was addressed to my satisfaction by the principal and only required one phone call to make her aware of a situation that needed to be addressed. My children LOVE school and will be sad to leave it next year when my husband's job relocates our family. I truly feel that my youngest child will miss out by not being able to attend kindergarten here. Could not have asked more from a public school. Diversity, challenging expectations, parent involvement, and dedicated staff...Granbery has is ALL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2009

My son is in Kindergarten this year at Granbery Elementary. He absolutely loves it. My husband and I are very grateful for this little gem of a school in Davidson County.:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2009

Who says public school in Nashville is not good? Granberry changes all my thinking. Taste it , you will know
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2009

My son goes to Granbery and I love everything about the school. I would recommend all the parents to send their kids to this Granberry.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2008

My son is kindergarten and we love everything about it Annie Kirchberg
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2008

I am not sure how to rate this school. We got a special transfer here so we could send them out of our zone. I have a 2nd grader and 3rd grader. My 2nd grader is exceptionally smart and has done fantastic. My 3rd grader did well last year, but so far this year is failing every subject. On his progress report all the teacher said was he needs to be more focused during class time. We are having him evaluated for ADHD, but in the meantime the school is not offering any help/ideas on how to help him get his grades up. Both boys really like their teachers and enjoy school. They both wish there were some sports they could participate in. Overall, they school is very good, with an incredible PTA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2008

Faculty members, students and especially parents are involved, and connected with one another. I could not say anything less than the teachers truly epitomizes the traditional diverse american educators. I am originally from California and I attended an all year round private school and Granbery is currently head to head with some of the best US Schools I have ever experienced. I am blessed to have my 2nd Grader under an educator who contributes by impacting my child in believing in great discipline, great family values starts at home. Remember this, it begins as a habit and later a lifestyle. Start good habits on an early age and it will be embedded and becmes easily for our children to apply on their daily lives, thus changing your lifestyle.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2008

Both of my children attended Granbery from K-4th grades and as a parent I would put it up against any private school, anywhere! Wonderful leadership, wonderful teachers. Overall it was a wonderfull experience for my family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

My 3 granddaughters have attended Granbery since 2005. I have had very positive interaction with all the wonderful teachers and staff. They have the best interest of all the students and have given these girls the tools to go on to higher education.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
83%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
50%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

134 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
66%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
African American53%
Asian84%
Hispanic65%
White88%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities63%
English language learners55%

Reading/Language Arts

All Students76%
African American71%
Asian58%
Hispanic61%
White86%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities63%
English language learners18%

Science

All Students87%
African American82%
Asian68%
Hispanic87%
White93%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities69%
English language learners73%

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African American94%
Asian90%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities69%
English language learners91%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
African American56%
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
White76%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities85%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students70%
African American48%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
White72%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students76%
African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic64%
White80%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities69%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 67%
Black 17% 23%
Hispanic 11% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5501 Hill Rd
Brentwood, TN 37027
Website: Click here
Phone: (615) 333-5112

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Montessori Academy
Brentwood, TN






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT