Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brentwood Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 7, 2014

Best scores, best leadership, best school--we visited all Nashville area private schools and BMS was the best in every category. We are beginning our 2nd year this Fall and are extremely pleased with the faculty and students as well as the academic challenge and progress of our son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2014

When I first entered BMS, I was excited for a great experience, and all I got was three years of quite possibly the worst school experience anyone could recieve. The teachers have no interest, the administration doesn't care about how you enjoy school, yet if your grades are high or not. I do not recommend this school to your child, and the fact it claims to be the best middle school in the country is absolute nonsense.


Posted August 11, 2009

I have to say that we have had a wonderful experience at BMS. Dr. Kendrick was amazing. She kept order in the school and held each child responsible for their behavior. This is something I have found lacking in many of the parents of the students who required her attention. I know that Mr. Harlin will continue to maintain the high standards we expect. My daughter is academically gifted and she is also comfortable in social settings. She had many opportunities to join a variety of clubs, groups, and sporting teams. I am so impressed with BMS and would highly recommend it to any family. If you want an environment where your child's independence will be encouraged, jump in!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2009

I am a seventh grader at BMS, and my experience is not as bad as these parents make it out to be. some say it is not exciting, well it is a school, you go to learn, not to go treasure hunting. If you want excitement, go to metro, where there are gangs and severely below average test scores, everyday will be and adventure! The teachers are really nice and the system is adapted to your pace of learning. There are many after school programs and no, sports is not the main focus, not even close. Some of the field trips are a tad boring, but your supposed to learn, not have and exorbitant amount of fun. No, the teachers are not mini hitlers and the rules ar not harsh. Those who say BMS is average have been spoiled by brentwood, go anywhere else and see how it's much above average.'also'the'test'scores'are'amazing'and'if''you'are'looking'for'agood'education'come'here'i'am'using'apostrophes'because'of'the'150'word'limit'
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 30, 2008

Brentwood middle school is okay it has great acedemic opportunities but the school is kind of boring we do not have anything fun at the school. My son has attended this school for all three years and he has never really told me one fun thing he did. He also said that all the field trips were pretty bad he said the only on he really enjoyed was going to treemont in the sixth grade. If you want just a ordinary go to school go home, kind of middle school experience come to this school but if you want a middle school experience you will never forget do not come to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2008

I agree with the parent who commented that the Principle of BMS is cold. I must also say that the female vice principle is not any better. I have witnessed disturbing & degrading comments from her to students. There is no reason for that! As for teachers, we've been pleased with all the teachers my child has had over the past two years at BMS. I'd give BMS 4 stars....because of administration I can't give 5.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2008

BMS pays too much attention to sports when compared to academics. The principal is cold and aloof. The disciplinary system is harsh and unfair.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 29, 2008

As a parent of a 7th grader, I have been very disappointed with the overall experience. The political correctness in ridiculous. Being 'selected' for sports teams is very not objective and appears unfair and the principal is a dictator. A good number of parents in Brentwood send their children to the public elementary schools, skip BMS and then return for the High School. That is how bad it is. Many of the teachers appear to be more interested in 'policing' than teaching. Demerits are the order of the day for the smallest of offenses. It could easily be confused for the British Navy, circa 1800. All the field trips since 6th grade have involved Black History month and making pilgramages to Atlanta and the Civil Rights museum. Of course the kids were basically 'color-blind' and did not care until the do-gooders had to inform them that they were all racists!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 1, 2008

I attended BMS all three years of middle school and completed 8th grade in 2007. Nothing is that great about this school besides that it's a Blue Ribbon School and students will get a great education that will prepare them for high school and beyond. School life outside of the classroom can be unsatisfactory as the administration (including principal Dr. Kay Kendrick) is unresponsive to complaints and comments, and my peers at BMS had a reputation for its cliqueyness. Many bad apples of teachers exist at BMS along with some very bright teaching talent. BMS athletics are in the top tier of HVAC competition in almost all sports although it suffers from much disorganization. Also, the dismissal system is a mess, and the BMS fine arts program continues to be weak yet improving. Government obesity crackdowns have caused the school lunch food to dramatically decrease in quality compared to when I first started attending BMS, and the decades-old main building continues to detoriorate. Overall, BMS has nothing to truly offer besides a good education for your middle-schooler.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 28, 2007

I would like to see a change in the administrative staff. The principle is not very responsive to questions or problems. She seems very cold and has never had a kind word for me or my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 29, 2007

I have a daughter and two sons who have attended Brentwood Middle School. The experience my sons have is dramatically different than my daughters. The focus of the teachers is more on dotting the i's and crossing the t's rather than understanding the material. If my wife were not opposed, I would remove my sons from the school, as I believe my sons do not get the education my daughter did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2007

I moved to Brentwood when I was in 6th grade & found that a lot of the kids there weren't so accepting. But by 8th grade, I had found loads of great friends. The principal isn't that wonderful. Agreeing with the statement under here, the principals do not listen. But I did, however enjoy my years at BMS.


Posted May 4, 2007

I'm a student at BMS and frankly I am not too pleased with the administration. The principles don't listen to the complaints of the students and teachers, and when they do listen they don't take our advice. The 'New and Improved' dismissal system is the worst I've ever seen. There are also some teachers which aren't that great but that is to be expected at all schools. I like the principals at the school but they really need to get their act together.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 15, 2007

I believe that BMS is the best school in the state. It is a Blue Ribbon School and that in itself is impressive.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2006

I am the mother of 2 kids at BMS, one in 6th and one in 8th. I can honestly say I have been THRILLED with the education and enrichment my kids are given. The bar is set really high, which I appreciate. I have one child with a learning disability, and the team of teachers worked very kindly with me to make a good plan for her, which is being implemented and she is having great success. The administration is great, I have been pleased for the most part in the priorities and direction of the school. Field trips are outstanding. I have chaperoned one and I was very impressed with what they were taught and the way everything was handled. EXCELLENT School. I would never pay for private while living in this district!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2006

BMS is a wonderful school. Everyone is friendly and open to suggestions and building the best program possible. It is in the Blue Ribbon nominations for th current year and that is awesome. I think it is more like a private school than a public one. No one could go wrong sending his or her child to BMS. Spending money on a private school is a waste of time and energy.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

409 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

410 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
90%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
89%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

373 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
81%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

426 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

199 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
63%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

392 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
86%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
92%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
African American77%
Asian85%
Hispanicn/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities49%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students95%
African American92%
Asian89%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities76%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities89%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Hispanic70%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students88%
African Americann/a
Asian94%
Hispanic82%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities89%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities94%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities71%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students89%
African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities70%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African American94%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities91%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African American94%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
100%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Black 3% 23%
Hispanic 1% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 5%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (615) 309-8532

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5324 Murray La
Brentwood, TN 37027
Phone: (615) 472-4250

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Brentwood Academy
Brentwood, TN


Currey Ingram Academy
Brentwood, TN





Montessori Academy
Brentwood, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT