Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Scales Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 601 students

We are best known for balanced education for all.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted June 27, 2011

I would like to reply to the post from April 19, 2011. I would very much like to meet with that parent to discuss their concerns and see how we can meet their expectations. Scales Elementary is definitely not over-crowded and we are nowhere near maximum class sizes in any grade level. We do rely heavily on parents to volunteer their time and talents throughout the school - we find that to be one of the assets that makes our school great! Any parent that wants to volunteer, we will find a place for them. But we also realize many families have two working parents and cannot volunteer during the day. We understand and appreciate that and hope that those parents can find other ways to help their children - especially by reading with them at home daily/nightly.

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 19, 2013

My daughter goes here as I did over 30 years ago. It's an amazing school. The teachers, parents, location... fantastic. I went on to receive technical post-graduate degrees as did my sister, and many of my friends. That atmosphere of emphasized education continues to this day. Evidenced by the cost to get into the school district, it's a highly demanded school. A public school with private school feel to it. Can't say enough positive things about the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2013

The classrooms are overcrowded especially in the lower grades. One teacher per 25-28 students is unacceptable. How are the children possibly getting the attention they need? There is an issue with bullying at the school. Although the issue has been brought to the attention of peers, not much has been done to address. It may be that they are more concerned with tarnishing their reputation than actually dealing with it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2012

I am not sure what the negative reviewer is talking about as we have had a great experience at Scales. We were new to the school last year and all of our children felt very welcomed. There are plenty of opportunities to volunteer but we never felt pressured to do so. Not sure what they mean by parents are expected to teach classes. Mr. West has been great to us and the school is hardly overcrowded since there is very little new construction in this area. We have had a great experience at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2011

Scales fosters an atmosphere of parental involvement and an excellent standard in arts and academics. I had two children attend 1-5 grades at Scales and could not be more pleased with the education they received.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2011

This is a truly horrible school. Everyone in Williamson County has rested on its laurels, because the school system USED to be good....25 years ago. Now it is well-known that overcrowding is a huge issue, especially at this particular school. Teachers have such huge classes that they cannot keep up with each individual child's progress or behavior. The school relies on parent involvement...what this basically means is that the PARENTS are expected to go into the classrooms each morning and essentially HELP THE TEACHER TEACH. Because with the overcrowding issue, they do need it. There is not much difference between homeschooling and sending your child to Scales, because they want the parents involved in the classroom so much that that is exactly what is is like. The school is too bureaucratic and I assure you that your child will be treated like a number here, instead of an individual. I'm wondering if Grassland is any better?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2011

The teachers provide challenging environments they create to keep the children of all levels engaged. The PTO provides so many opportunities to volunteer. The PTO provides actual tangible benefits to the students including paying the Technology teacher's salary. The PTO does limited fund raising so you aren t always bombarded with various requess/ sales. At the beginning of the year each family is asked for an $85 donation (it is NOT REQUIRED, but if you look at the PTO budget you'll see it is well worth it). There's also a very fun school event that has a silent auction. I definitely came out ahead at the auction. I think this way of fund raising really eliminates putting families in an awkward position all the time. I couldn't rank how much money families have because we aren't asked to put it on display all the time. Yes I'm in the PTO. Every parent is a member of PTO. There are no dues. There is no joining. Everyone is included automatically. The affluence at Scales doesn't mean keeping up with the Joneses. It means more parents have the time and resources to be involved at the school and make it a great environment!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2009

We have such a great school! Rick West is a very involved Principal and both of his daughters have attended Scales. He manages to know every child s name and is always positive and supportive of the students. The teachers and staff at Scales are exceptional. Our children are challenged academically and enjoy going to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2007

Scales elementary is a very high acheiving school. The teachers are great and the parents are very involving. Everything was taken care of with great detail, plus made tons of fun. We were always safe there plus well watched. The teachers not only prepare you for the rest of your life academically, but also in with manners and respect, and just about anything you would want your child to know. The students are well behaved, and the cirriculum is wonderful. Scales Elementary is a great start for your son/daughters life.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 1, 2006

Williamson County, in general, is a highly sought after school district. Scales Elementary, in particular, is an excellent school due to the high degree of parental involvement as well as positive environment created by its faculty. There are several events during the course of the year that facilitate parent/student interaction. The school is staffed with caring, qualified teachers that truly care about the well being of their students. Rick West, Principal, is a young, energetic leader that connects well with the students. He is also well-liked and respected by the parents as well. The school was constructed in the 1960s, but is in excellent condition. It is located amongst rolling hills and horse farms. It is a very safe and positive enviroment for kids that want to learn. I should know, I have 3 daughters in attendance.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
87%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
97%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

104 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

112 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
87%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities55%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students90%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students94%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities64%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students89%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
Black 1% 23%
Hispanic 1% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 3%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Rick West
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (615) 472-4841

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing

Resources

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Parents play a vital role in the success of scales elementary school. parents and other community members routinely log in excess of 8,000 volunteer hours annually. we welcome parental support in the classroom and aim to have a strong partnership with every parent to help their child meet their potential.
More from this school
  • Scales continues to score extremely well on state testing - scoring all A's in Reading/Language Arts, Math, Science, and Social Studies. Our value-added scores flucuate but we continue to strive to keep them high, as well. We pride ourselves on continually looking for improvement from oursleves and our students.
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Elementary school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Brentwood Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6430 Murray La
Brentwood, TN 37027
Website: Click here
Phone: (615) 599-8600

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Currey Ingram Academy
Brentwood, TN




Benton Hall School
Franklin, TN




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT