Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brentwood High School

Public | 9-12 | 1516 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 8, 2013

Academically the school is incredible, very little students take standard classes. The average student takes primarily 2-4 AP classes throughout 9-12 grade, but numerous will take more. I have found that the math, and some of the science departments, struggle greatly. I have been very ill-equiped, therefore I am dual enrolling. Other than that there is very little bad teachers or outdated teachers. The kids on the other hand are extremely judgmental and there is absolutely no diversity. Most students dress, act, talk the same, which makes it even more competitive, giving it many pros and cons. There is generally no drugs/alcohol problems here, there is a yearly surprise drug test where they bring in dogs, and if anyone does or is using they usually get caught because the police is incredibly strict. Overall it is a great school with exceeding academics, athletics, clubs, etc., the only problem is with the arrogant students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 5, 2013

This is such an excellent school. If you are looking to be excepted by a high ranking college you need to go here. Although some teachers that have been at the school for more then 10 years need to be re-evaluated(or fired) most are very good and easy to learn from. This school does excel in almost every extra circular activity it takes place in.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 26, 2013

I am currently a junior at BHS and I must say, Brentwood High gives its students a private school education for a public school price. I know a lot of other reviews say BHS is only athletically driven, but I am a student who's never played a sport and I find the classes I take (especially AP and Honors classes) to be very rigorous and extremely well taught. The AP and Honors teachers are amazing, but sometimes Standard classes can be brutal to be in (the less academically driven kids tend to be less polite and destroy the learning enviroment for everyone, students and teachers both). The way I see it, as long as students challenge themselves to take AP and Honors classes, the academics at BHS are superb. There are also a great deal of excellent clubs, with groups ranging from Forensics to Anime Club, and our band is excellent I hear. BHS is very safe; I don't see much drugs or drinking or bullying (though as with any school, there will always be rebellious kids). Definitely a great place to learn and get quality education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 9, 2012

The review from Dec. 29 has some incorrect information. The arts program in all county schools as a whole here are only fair. But the system and the school absolutely DO NOT "add on the extra to football." The departments are separate, and there is no "extra" in the county budget now anyway. Funding from football comes mostly from the county and from parent booster clubs to some extent. Also, the children are not the rudest in the state by any stretch. That comment is obviously hyperbole.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2012

We have a student here and another who will attend in 2yrs. BHS is the best non magnet public high school in TN and one of the top 300 in the nation as ranked in Newsweek Mag. It is a public school with private school quality. The home values reflect that. Our student is enjoying and excelling here. We do wish there was a JROTC program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2010

As an Arts student, the school is simply average and focuses highly on athletics. When performing arts budgets are severely cut, they simply add on the extra to football. Everyone there is the same, and the school strongly lacks diversity. The principals are indeed excellent, but many teachers pick favorites, and it shows. The academics are spectacular, and I have no fears about college. Although, this school does have an excellent academic program, many of the students there are arrogant and have a reputation for being some of the rudest children in the state. The academics are amazing, but I would not send my child here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 28, 2010

Very great School. Im a freshman here. Im in the color guard and winter guard which is so much fun. Im in the special ed program here. The special ed and IEP people are amazing.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 16, 2009

BHS is an amazing school...Kevin Keidel sets the tone for a wonderful atmosphere for learning and personal development. I now have 3 children at BHS and they could not be happier! Outstanding athleic programs as well as academics.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2008

I am a parent of a Junior at BHS and have been extremely pleased with the academic offerings and great teachers. The principal insures that the school runs like clockwork every day. The students come from highly accoomplished and caring homes and are top-notch. The choral and band programs are just awesome. The students are given many travel and performance opportunities. This is a fantastic school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2007

I graduated from BHS in the spring on '07. I loved that school, and I loved the band program even more. Randy Box is a great band director, and he pushes his students because he knows their potential. I did marching band all four years in the percussion section, and the instructors are great. The teachers at BHS are great, but there are those few (like at every school) that can be to harsh, or not able to teach as well as they should. There are plenty of tutors at BHS if your child was having trouble in a class. There are a lot of options for parents that want to get involved in the school. For example, there is the PTO, POGS (parents of graduating seniors), office assistance, help out in the book store, etc..
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 30, 2007

Brentwood High is rated the # 1 public high school in Tennessee. The reason is parent participation. The PTO has a large budget and they meet it every year. Mothers and Fathers are very involved in their child education and it shows. They demand a lot from the faculty and if they don't perform they are told so. I have had 2 boys graduate from Brentwood High and they are performing well in college now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2007

Great school with quality teachers & a broad range of academic & extracuricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 12, 2007

Great parent involvement, but poor teachers in general subjects for 9th and 10th grade. Our daughter is an honors student, straight A's for 10 years. If she needed instruction in Math, Science or English we would have been in trouble. However, the Euro History and Spanish teachers are exceptional. I completely agree with the previous review stating that teachers are kept for tenure reasons, even when they are terrible. My child's English teacher wasn't able to write clear instructions for any assignment-- we guessed what she was trying to say, just to complete the projects. My next child will be going to Franklin High, since I doubt the freshman and sophomore teachers could be any worse. I'm willing to gamble that they will be better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2007

This was my first year in Brentwood High School. I made so many wonderful friends from joining there marvelous marching band program. They have a few obnoxious teachers but there are also lots of great teachers who can help you out a lot. It's a safe school with very little violence. I'm looking forward to my next three years here.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 30, 2007

The school building is the oldest in the county and was sinking this past year. It could use renovation. In addition to a deteroriating school, the teachers in some areas are not strong at all. That being said not all teachers there are incompetent; but overall, they could be improved.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 24, 2004

Acadmically, one of the best in the state. Honors and AP courses challenge kids. Principal loves the kids; they know it. He needs more academic leadership to set high expectations for all students and teachers, not just the high achievers. Math department has reputation of old teachers who can't explain concepts. He has tried to purge teachers that don't reach kids, but tenure makes it difficult. Guidance department is understaffed and weak. Band, athletics, forensics, drama, chorus and many clubs are led by dedicated teachers. Outstanding! Something for everyone, but more effort needed to include more kids. Lots of enthusiastic parent involvement in extracurricular activities, especially for raising money for those programs. Parents step up to pay for things that the district wont. The many talented and professional parents are discouraged from making changes or innovations. Overall, a safe, positive learning envoironment. Students are generally mature, well-behaved and welcoming to newcomers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

169 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
77%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

415 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
76%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

387 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
89%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
92%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

374 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

193 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
74%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students80%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities59%
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students71%
African American58%
Asian92%
Hispanic42%
White71%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students92%
African American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilities58%
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asian92%
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities77%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students92%
African American67%
Asian92%
Hispanicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 67%
Asian 5% 2%
Black 4% 24%
Hispanic 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 5%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Fax number
  • (615) 373-9886

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • School psychologist
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5304 Murray La
Brentwood, TN 37027
Phone: (615) 472-4220

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Brentwood Academy
Brentwood, TN


Currey Ingram Academy
Brentwood, TN



Benton Hall School
Franklin, TN




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT