Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Brentwood, TN
Students enrolled: 1,550
Before care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Brentwood High School 5

Posted June 12, 2014
- a parent
Both of sons went to Brentwood High, excellent school - would not have changed to any private school even it was free tuition. Teachers are great, student mix is great - all around great experience. We were involved with things going on at school, made a big difference - parents that stay involved usually makes their children experiences better. A+!

Brentwood High School 3

Posted October 08, 2013
- a student
Academically the school is incredible, very little students take standard classes. The average student takes primarily 2-4 AP classes throughout 9-12 grade, but numerous will take more. I have found that the math, and some of the science departments, struggle greatly. I have been very ill-equiped, therefore I am dual enrolling. Other than that there is very little bad teachers or outdated teachers. The kids on the other hand are extremely judgmental and there is absolutely no diversity. Most students dress, act, talk the same, which makes it even more competitive, giving it many pros and cons. There is generally no drugs/alcohol problems here, there is a yearly surprise drug test where they bring in dogs, and if anyone does or is using they usually get caught because the police is incredibly strict. Overall it is a great school with exceeding academics, athletics, clubs, etc., the only problem is with the arrogant students.


Brentwood High School 5

Posted October 05, 2013
- a student
This is such an excellent school. If you are looking to be excepted by a high ranking college you need to go here. Although some teachers that have been at the school for more then 10 years need to be re-evaluated(or fired) most are very good and easy to learn from. This school does excel in almost every extra circular activity it takes place in.

Brentwood High School 5

Posted July 26, 2013
- a student
I am currently a junior at BHS and I must say, Brentwood High gives its students a private school education for a public school price. I know a lot of other reviews say BHS is only athletically driven, but I am a student who's never played a sport and I find the classes I take (especially AP and Honors classes) to be very rigorous and extremely well taught. The AP and Honors teachers are amazing, but sometimes Standard classes can be brutal to be in (the less academically driven kids tend to be less polite and destroy the learning enviroment for everyone, students and teachers both). The way I see it, as long as students challenge themselves to take AP and Honors classes, the academics at BHS are superb. There are also a great deal of excellent clubs, with groups ranging from Forensics to Anime Club, and our band is excellent I hear. BHS is very safe; I don't see much drugs or drinking or bullying (though as with any school, there will always be rebellious kids). Definitely a great place to learn and get quality education.

Brentwood High School 5

Posted April 09, 2012
- a parent
The review from Dec. 29 has some incorrect information. The arts program in all county schools as a whole here are only fair. But the system and the school absolutely DO NOT "add on the extra to football." The departments are separate, and there is no "extra" in the county budget now anyway. Funding from football comes mostly from the county and from parent booster clubs to some extent. Also, the children are not the rudest in the state by any stretch. That comment is obviously hyperbole.


Brentwood High School 5

Posted January 07, 2012
- a parent
We have a student here and another who will attend in 2yrs. BHS is the best non magnet public high school in TN and one of the top 300 in the nation as ranked in Newsweek Mag. It is a public school with private school quality. The home values reflect that. Our student is enjoying and excelling here. We do wish there was a JROTC program.

Brentwood High School 2

Posted December 29, 2010
- a student
As an Arts student, the school is simply average and focuses highly on athletics. When performing arts budgets are severely cut, they simply add on the extra to football. Everyone there is the same, and the school strongly lacks diversity. The principals are indeed excellent, but many teachers pick favorites, and it shows. The academics are spectacular, and I have no fears about college. Although, this school does have an excellent academic program, many of the students there are arrogant and have a reputation for being some of the rudest children in the state. The academics are amazing, but I would not send my child here.

Brentwood High School 5

Posted April 28, 2010
- a student
Very great School. Im a freshman here. Im in the color guard and winter guard which is so much fun. Im in the special ed program here. The special ed and IEP people are amazing.


Brentwood High School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
BHS is an amazing school...Kevin Keidel sets the tone for a wonderful atmosphere for learning and personal development. I now have 3 children at BHS and they could not be happier! Outstanding athleic programs as well as academics.

Brentwood High School 5

Posted August 12, 2009
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brentwood High School
5304 Murray Lane, Brentwood, TN  37027
(615) 472-4220
Last modified Brentwood High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Brentwood High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top