Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Brighton, TN
Students enrolled: 1,486
 

3 stars
Based on 33 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

28 reviews of this school


Brighton High School 1

Posted October 09, 2014
- a parent
Brighton High School is officially at an all time high. In the past years I have felt extremely highly of this school, but that has all changed. After a personal encounter with administration and other school leaders I am disappointed and dissatisfied with how certain situations are handled. It depends on who the child is and not the situation they are in. There is NO respect for parents and Administration is so focused on having each other's back they fail to do their jobs effectively.

Brighton High School 5

Posted April 09, 2014
- a parent
As a parent of twins currently attending BHS, I would like to thank the teaching staff. There is help for the children who SEEK extra help! My children have both taken advantage of the after school tutoring program for the subjects of geometry, algebra and pre calculus. Regarding the issue of favoritism, all schools will be alike. Teachers are only human - just like parents - we all enjoy the children who seek knowledge, don't go out of their way to cause problems and are fun to spend time with. I am thankful that I am able to send my children to a safe school with teachers who do push them to do well on the ACT which is a determining factor for college admission and scholarships.


Brighton High School 1

Posted September 09, 2013
- a community member
I know teachers at this school that don't like it or what it is about. It is really sad, watching a good teacher turn to a very poor one is something I thought I would never witness. Going to church and speaking to a teacher that says that the school is unfair and not somewhere she would want their students to attend is absolutely ludicrous.Hearing a teacher that works at the school say that her children go to Munford because there is a better education and stronger chance that your child will just blend in is heart breaking. This school needs a major renovation starting from the top! That means with the administrators! They all act like a bunch of over grown teenagers! Very dramatic over very small matters acting as their children act a lot differently. This school get the pathetic award!

Brighton High School 5

Posted August 07, 2013
- a parent
My daughter just graduated from BHS and I totally agree with teacher's post. My daughter has attended 4 schools outside Tipton county since she was 6. I believe Brighton High School is one of the best schools in Tn, and anyone tht disagrees are students who are wanting to slack without goals set for their future. They should b thankful to have a school this interested in their success. It could b so much worse, we would know, we've been in a school tht was the complete opposite. We are so invested in the Brighton school system, that we are selling our home n buying land to build a home n farm n Brighton. We could move anywhere in Tn. , be thankful, you don't realize what you got!!

Brighton High School 4

Posted May 02, 2013
- a teacher
As a teacher I've had the opportunity to teach at various schools,small and large,and Brighton ,like all other schools, has its own set of problems. Not all teachers are great not all students are great. One of the largest problems BHS has is apathetic students and quite possibly these are the earlier posters and their parents that are ripping Brighton. "Favorites" may exist because of work ethic and want to learn or just trying.Teachers love effort and attentive students. The ACT is a big focus but talk to state govt about that. Life is an opportunity, make what you will of it.It's not easy at times and whining doesn't help


Brighton High School 4

Posted April 30, 2012
- a parent
The scores on tests at this school DO matter. They are very driven to making the students perform on the ACT. Maybe too driven. ACT is what gets the students into college, so it makes sense to push them in that area. They are one of the hardest schools in Tipton County, and also one of the best. Regarding bullying, my daughter was being bullied this year at this school. The school was VERY involved in ending that swiftly. They brought all the students involved to the office & talked to each one of them, then spoke with the parents and even other teachers. Then they called me over the next couple of months to check on my daughter to make sure that she was not still getting bullied. My daughter has a 4.0 GPA at this school. And she takes advanced, college prep courses and dual enrollment classes. She 'should' be on a 504 plan, but refuses. And she still made a 27 on the ACT. Granted, every school has their problems & sometimes they are just with certain teachers. This school has their share of bad teachers, just like all the others. But if you have a rowdy child that isn't interested in learning, send them somewhere else please! This school doesn't tolerate them well. :) Thank GOD!

Brighton High School 5

Posted September 27, 2011
- a student
I am currently a sophomore at Brighton High and I am thrilled to be a Cardinal. I am inside this school every day, and I can most definitely say that this school provides a sense of security as well as family. We are now under new administration and they will not put up with some of thestuff our old principal did. I gave BHS a 5/5 because of the academics, school pride, and athletics. GO CARDINALS!

Brighton High School 1

Posted September 02, 2011
- a parent
Lack of leadership across the board. This school has reached a new low. However, if the student is a ball player or the child of a teacher then they are golden. Everyone else..... watch out. Education is not the primary goal here. I am truly shocked at how some of these teachers, coaches, and administrators have managed to remain employed. We moved to this area just for the schools, now we are looking to move elsewhere. For the military moving to this area, do your homework on Tipton County. If your not related to someone who works in the system or you haven't lived here for years, your children will not receive the same level of education or respect. Nepotism runs rampant here!


Brighton High School 1

Posted September 02, 2011
- a student
Unsatisfactory is a complete understatement when it comes to this high school. Quite honestly, I am strongly inclined to agree with the preceding statement(s) made, and as a child in a military family that has not lived here all of his life, i can strongly assert the previous statements to be true. If you have any choice in the matter, go to Munford High School or be home-schooled. As a senior I am truly sad that my diploma has to bear the name of this deplorable institution.

Brighton High School 1

Posted May 19, 2011
- a parent
In response to Brighton High School is not a good school. You need to follow up with the Department of Education !!! If you don't this will continue and nothing will ever be done. The same has happened to several people, if they are forced to change their ways they will have to. Enough compolaints and they will take care of the entire staff. GET UP AND DO SOMETHING!! YOU WILL GET RESULTS!! They must have violated something.. The Department of Education can't do anything if you don't tell them. It is not an easy process and I wish I could contact you personally to help you with it but there is no way to know who is who on here. Those teachers gang up on the kids that are challeged with a subject, rather than educate them. You have to force them and when you do, don't back down. Keep pushing forward... they need someone to hold them as accountable as they hold our children. They did the same thing with my child they nit picked until he snapped and said it wasn't worth it anymore. It is really sad about the education. I bet the middle school set the path for you that is what happened in our case with our three children.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Brighton High School
8045 Highway 51 South, Brighton, TN  38011
(901) 837-5800
Last modified Brighton High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Brighton High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. Top