Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Brighton Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 28, 2008

My daughter just finished k-with the best teacher in the world, ms.Kirby taught my darling daughter to read , she caught a speech prob.I had her tested in pre k for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2007

I'm a parent that has had all of my children attending this elementary school. THe teachers are great; academics excellent; and the principal is wonderful. They all work together as a team and also include the parents which is a wonderful transistion for a parent and the child. All of my three children have enjoyed this school very much. Now I only have one little girl left to attend and she really loves it, She will be in the first grade and can't wait to start.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

I currently have 3 children in Brighton Elementary School. Overall, my experiences with teachers and leadership have been top notch. One of my children requires a bit more challenging work to keep him interested. I struggeled with his first teacher this year for communication. It was a one way street from me to her. A conference, 3 trips to the school, and one to the school board, we have a new teacher and I am once again extreamly happy. Antoher childrequires extra help in reading and the literacy lab have done wonders with him. Without it I don't know where we would be. I sing Brighton Elementary praises. However, it is your responsiblity to stay involved. If not, as with any school, you child could be left behind. Get to know the teacher and have open communication with them. It will make your school experience much better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2007

I can not say enough good things about Brighton schools. We moved here just because of the fantastic schools Brighton has. I have 2 kids in the Elementary. Top quality in all areas. A very careing and helpful faculity.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2006

Brighton Elementary is an excellent school. I have 2 children, one in kindergarten and one in 2nd grade. I have had positive experiences with all of the staff. The communication between the parents and teachers is incredible. The PTO is amazing. They are so involved and helpful. My children are performing above grade level due to the individualized attention they receive from the highly qualified staff. They also enjoy all of the support classes they take: music, P.E., library, computer, and art. I would recommend this school to anyone moving to the Tipton County area! Thanks to everyone at BES! What a great place to be!:)
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted September 19, 2005

Honestly, I would give this school a 'so-so' rating. My daughter went to BES for K and 1st. Our neighborhood was rezoned and now she attends the new AES. BES staff 'wasn't' exceptionally friendly but I did love both her teachers. However, the Math curriculum is in much need of improvement. I can't help but believe that the poor foundation she received in Math is now leading to her problems with it. She has attended AES 2nd and now in 3rd grade. She is continually going down hill in Math and she started off loving the subject in 1st grade. I am not sure if either school is at fault here or if it's just a reflection of the Tipton Co. School system in general since their Math scores are always low statewide. Here's proof -http://www.k-12.state.tn.us/rptcrd02/index.asp
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2005

My grandson went to this school last year after moving from Memphis, I thought Memphis schools were bad, but since he has gone here., his grades has fallen from A& B's to C & D's. Teacher's doesn't want to teach anymore. They write lessons on board, Student suppose to write them down and do the work themselves. We need BETTER TEACHERS. TEACHERs with degrees in what they are teaching. We need class rooms with less students so the students can get hand on hand teachings. Plus they need to pass a law on the BULLIES. NO Bulling! We should have stayed in Memphis.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2005

I moved to this area for the schools and I'm thrilled I did! With one child in 7th grade and one is 2nd, it helps to have teachers that are involved and interested in your child's learning and I feel that the Brighton staff are excellent in their efforts to keep our children on the right track! The staff at BES are helpful, courteous and friendly and strive to answer any questions that I may have or help resolve any problems that may arise. Keep up the good work! Lynn King
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted March 8, 2005

I have 1 child at BES in Kindergarten and I could not ask for a better school. My daughter's teacher is above excellent and the administration and office personnel are first rate. I can't wait for the next several years! Thanks BES!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2004

After attending a good school where the whole staff and all the teachers were involved, This school doesn't compare. In the grades(k,1,4,5) my children have been in especially kindergarten, the communication and participation on the teacher's parts are lacking seriously. And the math program is horrible. The children basically teach themselves, at least in 4th and 5th. Most of the time the teachers don't even teach the math, they just help after the child has read the lesson and did the work alone. If I knew before about this school I would have picked a different district to live in. My children who are A and B students don't like the school and ask on many occasions to change schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2004

My oldest son attended this school and he is presently now in Brighton high, and my second son is attending this school last year, and now transferring to Austin Peay Elementary, hoping they have same best faculties as Brighton schools! I would recommend anyone to go to these schools! They have help working with me with my boys because I am deaf and they helped make sure that I know and understand their schools stuffs and they provided interpreter for me in case I needed one for meetings or anything. I know they have some deaf students attend these schools, too. They will welcome any students to these schools and work with them to success their achievements!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2004

this is an absoulutely wonderful school I would recomend any one who wants a good school with great staff, to choose this one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 3, 2004

I have had a daughter in the school since kindergarten-and in that time-myself and friends say it was a good school and our daughter is growing up to be a young lady thankd to caring faculty.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
66%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
31%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
41%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
59%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
70%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students52%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White53%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities28%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students47%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White48%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities28%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students73%
African American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students80%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students55%
African American25%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities22%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students54%
African American17%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White57%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilities26%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students63%
African American25%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White67%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities22%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students91%
African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities57%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students48%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White50%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students50%
African American43%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students72%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students94%
African American93%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities73%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 87% 67%
Black 9% 23%
Hispanic 2% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 56%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (901) 837-5879

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1201 Old Hwy 51 South
Brighton, TN 38011
Phone: (901) 837-5860

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT