Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Holston View Elementary School

Public | PK-6 | 403 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 1, 2014

My daughter has been in special needs classes at Holston View for four years now, with additional special needs classes at Anderson School (and Holston View) for another 2-3 years prior to that. My wife and I cannot be more grateful for all the help and understanding she has received from all her teachers, principals and support staff. We have watched her steadily progress throughout the years. Our daughter has a very rare chromosome disorder which causes, among other things, development delays and severe mood swings, which can cause her to be disruptive, combative, and inattentive at times. Her teacher, Mrs. DeVault, and her staff have worked hard to keep her on track. She loves school, always does her assignments, and helps in class a lot. We will always be grateful to the HV faculty for helping our daughter to succeed. Five Stars for Holston View's Special Needs Program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2014

Please see my review of their Special Needs classes. They are the best of the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 29, 2013

I Love My School. It Is Great. I am In 6th grade and Mrs. Ensor is Very Good and so is Ms.Cline. I am sad that i have to leave such a wonderful school next year, but parents it is an EXCELLENT school for all ages and grades Prek-6th. -Thanks Hannah Askea


Posted September 19, 2012

the best school in sullivan county could not be more pleased with all of the schools staff and curiculum
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2012

I have to children that goes to Holston View. I was very happy with the school until the new principle came along. Yes the security is alot better but the teaching has gone down hill. When you are 5yr old and do not finish your morning work the kindergarten teacher would take their snack away. That is so wrong. And the teachers in other grades just wants the kids to teach theirselves because they have no intentions on helping the kids if needed.i will be so glad when we move out if the school district so i can place my children in a better school. There is a lack of teacher and parent communications. The teachers dont want to take the time to make sure the kids have their homework or to let the parents know they have homework.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2011

I have two children at Holston View and have had great experiences with both. The teachers have been very good and have not only taught my children well, but have also formed strong bonds with them. I have had the pleasure of interacting with the principal on several occasions and find him to be courteous, professional, and a tremendous asset to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2011

When a child is in first grade, gets bullied on the bus by a sixth grader both to school and back from school and the bus driver or principle does nothing to stop the situation, I think the bus driver should be fired, the principle admonished by the school board or fired. Whena teacher takes the same child and after 2 weeks of school does not work with the child if a writing mistake is being made but punishes the child, then does not let that child use the restroom when they REALLY NEED to but says they all need to go together so they should hold it, the teacher is incompetent. At this point I have NO respect for this school. To me teaching is showing the right way and having the parent work with the child. Not punishing a child by keeping them in a recess and not letting them have their snack. I personally think the parents have a legal case and I hope it is persued.


Posted August 22, 2011

This is my second review. I posted the first when we moved into the Bristol area almost five years ago and feel that an update is necessary. Holston View has changed principals since the much-beloved one retired. The new principal is completely different in his philosophy and actions.The principal's attitude seems to be based on treating children like small adults. The children are not given appropriate credit for being fun-loving children and the atmosphere of the school has changed drastically to one that reflects a prison. I know that sounds harsh but many parents will agree. The attrition rate for HVE students to transfer to another school has been much higher than normal since the new principal arrived . I am considering transferring my three children as I am very disappointed in the changes made at Holston View. Complaints have been lodged with the schoool board but seem to be ignored. The teachers in prek - 2 are very good but the quality of teaching diminishes after grade 3 due to a few bad teachers that seem to affect the entire attitude. Elem. school should be full of fun and learning and Holston View has lost that somewhere along the way...very sad...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2011

I have two children in this school, and they love it. All of their teachers have been wonderful, caring, dedicated people. They provide a great environment for the struggling student as well as the gifted. The special area teachers and guidance counselor are all so very talented. I'm so pleased that my children's younger years will be spent in such a caring community school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 12, 2010

The majority of the teachers are great. They spend their "after school" time tutoring students who may need extra help. They always go above and beyond their call of duty. Making school the funniest place of learning ever. Thank you too all of them!! It's people like this that has "never left a child behind". You're great in all you do.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 27, 2010

I do not feel that the teachers in this school give the students the time and attention they deserve. My child had a hard time keeping up and even told me that his teacher yelled at him a few times when he needed her help (Mrs. Boggs) acted unprofessional in my opinion and should have never yelled at my child just because he needed help with schoolwork. Is that not what she is there for?? I dont like the way I have been treated by staff either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2010

Holston View is a top notch school! I have gone to schools all across the country. My daughter has the opportunity to go to any school in our area and we chose Holston View! My husband and I are very pleased that our daughter is getting such an awesome education. We feel blessed to have found a school with a loving principal and loving teachers. The PTA is also so supportive of the students as well as the staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2009

I love this school.. I am a substitute for the school system and have been in each school .. And although i find all the teachers in our system wonderful. This school is my favorite.. The teachers here are all wonderful.. My daugher has been at this school since prek- and its out of district for us- i will keep her here as long as i can.. She has excelled in every grade and i have not had a single problem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2009

Love this school.. My child has had wonderful experiencs here.. The principle is fair and a caring man, and the teachers we have had always seemed interesting in their students..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2009

We moved to the area about 6 months ago and have had nothing but problems and run around from this school. We came from an intercity school up north and got better communication and attention there with a far larger teacher to student ratio.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2009

I have had three kids in this school for the past three years. We are transferring schools because I'm not happy with the teachers. They do not take their time with the students. It is a shame.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2009

I have a special needs child at this school. While the teachers are alright- they don't have the time or the patience to work one on one with him like he needs. There is only so much I can do to help him 'get it' on my own.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2008

I have two children in Holstonview school. A 2nd and 6th grader and I have not been more happier with a school as I am with this one. They have the best Teachers. The whole school is the best.I rate you a #10.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2008

My son is in 1st grade and attended k-garten elsewhere. I have been impressed with the teaching staff and the over-the-top effort they give each day. Holston View is a great school with great, involved staff and parents. My son has progressed quickly since he had to 'catch up' after his k-garten year...they really teach the children and expect alot from them but also help them get there by extra tutoring and assistance. My son has rec'd an excellent education and, from speaking with other parents, I can expect this every year at Holston View. As a parent, you do have to be very involved and interactive and with homework and projects to complete it IS NOT a hands-off school for parents...you must dedicate yourself to helping your child, not just expect them to 'get it in the classroom'!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2008

I find this school is a very poor school. I had my child here for two years and watched them decline in their work because of the teachers neglect to give them the attention that they provided to the less educated students
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
58%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
58%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

51 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
71%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
40%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
55%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
46%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

52 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
56%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
67%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
65%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

34 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
62%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students59%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White56%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students71%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students92%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students65%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White63%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students87%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities46%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students94%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities64%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White69%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students65%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White62%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students77%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White76%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 94% 67%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Hispanic 2% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Black 0% 23%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 39%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Sculpture

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Fax number
  • (423) 652-9472

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • Transportation provided for special education students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Ultimate Frisbee
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Ultimate Frisbee

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Sculpture
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1840 King College Rd
Bristol, TN 37620
Phone: (423) 652-9470

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT