Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Public district
Cedar Hill, TN
Students enrolled: 524
 

3 stars
Based on 20 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

11 reviews of this school


Jo Byrns High School 5

Posted March 28, 2011
- a parent
I used to work at Jo Byrns for 14 years...and absolutely loved it!!! I have 5 children 2 of which have already graduated from there one that will graduate in a year from now and 2 in the elementary school. I wish it could've stayed a k-12 school but there are so many people wanting to get their kids into this school system....that should tell ya something right there! Teachers are great and students are awesome! It's one big family! LOVE THIS SCHOOL!!!!

Jo Byrns High School 5

Posted June 06, 2010
- a teacher
The teacher and staff work really hard to help every student try and meet there goals in life while they are at Jo Byrns. It is a great school to attend


Jo Byrns High School
no rating

Posted September 22, 2009
- a student
I just graduated from Jo Byrns & it was an excellent school. There wasn't much trouble in this school because of the S.R.O. that worked there officer James. All teachers & staff tried to get to know you on a personal level & I really liked it.

Jo Byrns High School 1

Posted September 13, 2009
- a student
most of the new kids we get here are dopeheads and troublemakers and we shouldnt let them come to our remodeled school and let them tear it up for us good kids that try to make the school look good

Jo Byrns High School 5

Posted February 09, 2008
- a parent
Best school in TN - the teachers go out of their way to help make sure the sudents do well.


Jo Byrns High School 5

Posted November 02, 2007
- a student
i love Jo Byrns. I believe we are like one big family and there is a very friendly atmosphere. It is the definition of 'southern hospitality'.

Jo Byrns High School 3

Posted November 02, 2007
- a parent
this is a laid back school with hometown people. everyone knows everyone. i like that. it makes me feel like my children are safe knowing my neighbors are the athority figures in the school.

Jo Byrns High School 5

Posted April 13, 2006
- a student
I have been to this school since the first grade and it's amazing. Everybody knows everybody so there's not much trouble. The teachers, counselors, and students can work better because there aren't many students there. The teachers are really great and the pep rallies and stuff are really fun. Now I go to DCHS in Dickson now and it's huge. I can't talk to my counselor personally b/c there are so many other kids. It's okay but I like JBS better.


Jo Byrns High School 4

Posted August 26, 2005
- a student
The teachers are fantastic, without a doubt. However, the size of Jo Byrns will never allow for the possibilities in learning that a larger school will. I went to Jo Byrns until 8th grade, and then left to go to high school in Springfield. I would highly recommend Jo Byrns as an elementary school--the hometown atmosphere brings a child up right. However, this school is *not* the best choice for a high-school student.

Jo Byrns High School 5

Posted January 03, 2005
- a student
I think this school is the greatest school ever. It might be small, but the teachers are the students' friends. For the high school section its better to have four hour and a half classes because the students have a better chance at understanding the classes. The high school students aren't as wild as some at the Springfield High School. We are a whole lot nicer, and we care more! We help out with the community more and the clubs are the best!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Jo Byrns High School
7025 U.S. 41 Alternate, Cedar Hill, TN  37032
(615) 696-2251
Last modified Jo Byrns High School is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Jo Byrns High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top