Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Creek Wood High School

Public | 8-12 | 879 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 11, 2012

As a past student of this school, I can honestly say this school fails in preparing your children for college. The power of I system is a joke. I was very successful in school. I was a 4 sport athlete and winner of many faucilty awards. Currently I am attending college at the University of Tennessee and can when I entered school here, I felt unprepared. Others coming in from this state as well as other states were much more prepared for the heavy academic course load than I was. This school failed in preparing me for that. In a social aspect, yes Creek Wood is awesome it is a great safe environment to attend school in, but like I said previously failed me on an academic level, which is why we attend school in the first place.


Posted October 31, 2010

My son had so much trouble until he entered this school. Now he is being challenged academically and loves it. He has decided to become a mathematician and has better grades than ever. This school provides great one on one time between teachers and students and I couldn't ask for a better high school experiance for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

Creekwood High School is the best high school in DC. Although they do sometimes over work my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2008

I have 2 of my children currently at Creekwood. I give it a 5 star rating. My son has really came out of his shyness being there and his grades are so much better than they were in earlier grades. The confidence they have instilled in him is undescribable. My daughter as well is doing good. This is her first year and shes loving it. The teachers and staff have done and are doing an outstanding job with our youth. Keep it up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2008

I am on my 3rd and last child to go through Creek Wood and we absolutely love it. It is so much better than Dickson County High School. Everyone seems to be really involved in the school and I have found everyone to be very helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2008

5 stars I like this school,2 of my kids have gone there and they liked it there
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2007

I do not like the food that my kids have to eat there it is not healthy I thought you were suppose to be teaching our kids to be healthy. I also do not like the way the faculty has handeled some situations either. My daughter cries at least once a week because she hates the school. Creekwood does not have parents envolved.. only a select few. I think also that some teachers are very unfair to some of their students. They always pic their favorites.. and the ones who play sports seem to have things a little more leanient
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2007

I would agree that CW has a great sports program because, in Dickson County, a lot of money is focused on the sports teams. Discipline and saftey are taken very seriously at CW. Creek Wood employs many teachers that are the kind your children will never forget. The Choir program at Creek Wood is outstanding. Overall, I recommend CW because the teachers are great and the facility is nice and new and clean, but I felt like my classes were sometimes too easy.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 31, 2006

At Creek Wood, we have a fantastic level of parental involvement and a principal that is always available. Our modern facility is the absolute greatest!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2005

They have really good teachers that really care about their students. Thier academic programs are top notch. They produce some of the best adults. The sports program is one of the best that I have ever seen. The coaches work around the clock to make sure that the team is the best that it can be. I say for being a new school it has done very well for it's self. I have a son that goes there, and his academics have grown so much thanks to the adminstraion. They make sure he knows what thery are teaching and they put it in terms that they can understand. Thank you CWHS for being so great!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

173 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
19%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

223 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

200 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
23%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

230 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
56%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

227 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
56%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

211 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
37%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White51%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities22%
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra II

All Students29%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White29%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students70%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities32%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities6%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students52%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities93%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 67%
Black 2% 24%
Hispanic 1% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3499 Hwy 47 North
Charlotte, TN 37036
Phone: (615) 740-6000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



W James Middle School
White Bluff, TN




Bilandy Academy
Dickson, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT