Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

3 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


11 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


New Directions Academy 5

Posted May 03, 2014
- a parent
My School is New Directions Academy, and a saying that our principal says states it best ..."The students education, welfare and changing their lives for the better comes above anything and everybody..these children come first!" Those who complain about N.D.A., have never been there or choose to not care about whether or not their child does well or not. The facts speak for themselves. These kids are not mistreated, and corporal punishment is not used, yes, they may run laps, or do pushups, or other PT's, but nothing that is going to hurt them. They are taught to respect others, and in return, they get the respect that they deserve. If more schools/parents dealt like this, then there would be no need for an alternative school, but obliviously we parents only think we have control. My child is SOC (school of choice) at N.D.A., she loves it, and they love her. She has never been mistreated by any staff member, but she has learned what is expected, and that is what she needed all along. She refuses to return to a regular school, and why should she when she is doing so well there, even her grades improved, and academically, she is right where she needs to be with the district.

New Directions Academy 5

Posted October 21, 2013
- a parent
Yes, this school is strict, yes they have high expectations, but they do not expect more from a student than they believe they can achieve. It is not a specialty school for special needs children, though they do have several and do fantastic with them, they are a place to give good kids who took a wrong turn a new direction and they do a fabulous job with the resources they have to work with. Even when my child wasn't in the school I could call them up when I needed advice and/or help. They can only put out so much effort to help they child when they child and parents don't want to see improvement.


New Directions Academy 2

Posted December 19, 2012
- a teacher
This is very disconcerning as an educator that this school is utilizing physical punishment as a consequence. Many of the students are placed in this setting due to emotional/behavioral issues. I think lawmakers should really take a look at where our tax money is going.. physical punishment or academics?? These youth deserve better!!!

New Directions Academy 4

Posted December 15, 2010
- a community member
I need to give this school a higher rating. The higher rating is based on the comments listed. Teaching the students their mistakes is the first step to learning from your mistakes. If you can learn from your mistakes you will go far in life. Doing physical training gives students that did not do well in traditional academics a chance to excel in something. The traditional school will not let students excel in physical unless they do well in academics so I believe it is a great thing. I am concerned with the comment from a parent that the school does not care if students do well in life but if the school is teaching these students to learn from their mistakes and letting them excel in things other than academics it seems they do care if students do well in life. All schools and students must meet certain standards but how they reach them is very different. I like the alternative school because it offers different ways to reach the goals. I have found most students in an alternative school learn best if they want to learn not if they are forced to learn. From the comments below it sounds like they want to learn!

New Directions Academy 1

Posted December 03, 2010
- a community member
new directions academy focuses on teaching the students their mistakes not acedemics most teachers here are good and they are respecting to the students when they are respected but im a student but i dont like it im just stating facts


New Directions Academy 1

Posted October 31, 2010
- a parent
this school doesnt care whether out students do well in life, this school solely exists as a cruel and unusual punishment that has no standards except to make our children angry.

New Directions Academy 1

Posted November 28, 2007
- a parent
this school is very unsatisfactory....the school worries more about doing physical training, than worrying about school work and learning!

New Directions Academy 2

Posted April 14, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.


New Directions Academy 4

Posted February 15, 2007
- a administrator
This review submitted without content.

New Directions Academy 2

Posted November 04, 2004
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

New Directions Academy
4000 Hwy 48 North, Charlotte, TN  37036
(615) 740-6070
Last modified New Directions Academy is a Public school that serves grades K-12
New Directions Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top