Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Baylor School

Private | 6-12 | 1024 students

Our school is best known for our strengths both in & out of the classroom.

 
 

Living in Chattanooga

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $185,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $660.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 13, 2014

If you aren't extremely wealthy don't come to this school. It's extremely cliquish. The students are stuck up snobs. 16 year olds driving Mercedes and Bmw's that have never worked a day in their life. The coaches definitely play favorites. With all that being said there is one positive side and that is the academics. Teachers expect a lot from you, and if you can't keep up they aren't very helpful. Good school, but if you from working class blue collard background you will stick out like a sore thumb.


Posted May 1, 2014

Simply the best.. As one person put it, the Standford of high school. They'll beat you in academics and athletics!


Posted January 21, 2014

Baylor school couldn't get any better! It has everything! It is a little bit expencive but Baylor has a great acedimic and sports program.


Posted April 22, 2013

Amazing! It just cannot get any better than this. I have been teaching in the public schools for 11 years and know that my children would never get education like this one in even the highest performing public school. This is one of the very best schools not just in Tennessee but in America. My child absolutely loves it here. There is no area here that I could improve upon. The faculty communicates with the parents, nurture and know the kids and are incredible teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 5, 2013

I went there over 15 years ago and it's still top in education and sports. I wouldn't be running two successful companies w/o attending.


Posted February 9, 2013

I graduated from Baylor last year (2012). This amazing school helped me open so many doors and made me understand that having an education is really important for your future. The 4 years in the boarding community helped me become more mature and respectful to others. The teacher are awesome, always here to help and answer questions. The classrooms are no more than 15 students, so that the teacher can know us for who we are instead of just student. If you have the occasion to go visit the campus or even apply your children there, please do.


Posted February 2, 2013

very best school, i am an international student this year. Baylor offered me a lot of chances.


Posted November 28, 2011

Baylor is a wondeful school. The administration is tuned in to the needs of the students, the campus is beautiful and the teachers really care. But like any school, it has it's good and bad points. The best - fabulous athletic facilities, a holistic approach to each child and their growth and development as a student, small class sizes. The worst - Dining hall food. Although they have made attemps to improve, nobody seems happy; those that enjoy healthy and those that like it all fried. The swim center is rather dirty and needs a good deep cleaning. It has been mentioned but they retain the same cleaning crew. Overall, I highly recommend Baylor for almost anyone. There is a place for each child no matter how nerdy or athletic...I know since I have one of each.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2010

Progressive, interactive teaching methods; emphasis on environment and making the world better; well-educated faculty; up to date technology; excellent facilities and grounds; diverse student body and faculty
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2010

As a student here i love it and know i made the right choice
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 4, 2009

The teachers are phenomenal here. Many have Phd's, and many teach their AP courses to the college level. Baylor was recently named # 1 school in math and science in TN. It's a tough school academically if you choose to take honors or AP courses. The class sizes are very small compared to public high shools and the teachers are energized. Baylor also requires every student to choose an afterschool activity. It keeps the kids active and prepares them for life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2006

Baylor is a great high school that challenges each student to fulfill his or her potential. They really live the mission to equip students to make a positive difference in the world. The boarding community has a wonderful network of support from local families and plenty of school-sponsored activities to keep students busy. The academics, sports, arts, and extracurricular activities are first-rate, and students are encouraged to make time for community service. My daughter is in her third year of boarding, and I couldn't imagine a better place for her to finish high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2005

I'm a senior at Baylor and I have loved my four years. Baylor has offered me many oppurtunities that I would not have been afforded anywhere alse. The Baylor School offers an outdoors program called Walkabout that is one of a kind. Walkabout is more than just an outing program, it is a complete intellectual immersion in an outdoor environment. It is a very unique program and one of the best parts of my high school experience.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 15, 2005

Although i have recently left this school partway through my career, i was always welcomed and included and learned so much from my teachers and classmates. The beautiful campus provided learning experiences beyond the classroom that are truly priceless memories and pieces of knowledge.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 15, 2004

This is my daughters first year at Baylor. She is a boarding student and is in 9th grade. Baylor has offered my daughter many opportunities that she would not have had at our local schools. The administrators took the time to look over her transcripts to give her the classes she needed at the levels she needed. She loves to learn and they have taken the time to find that out. She is in all advanced classes and have offered her a sophmore class in an area in which she excels. This is her first time to be away from home for an extended period of time and the faculty and staff have made her feel welcome and at home. The students have also been a godsend in making her feel at home. This opportunity she has embarked on has been more than we could have hoped for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

The Baylor school has been known for all around diversity and always subscribed to the notion that if your child comes home from school and says I don't want to be there 'they have failed'. My two children never wanted to miss a day and to this day holds the Baylor School in high regards.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 2%
Black 5% 23%
Hispanic 2% 7%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gardening teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
French
German
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:45 am
School end time
  • 3:30 pm
School Leader's name
  • Scott Wilson, Headmaster
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Some boarding, some day
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • ABS
  • NAIS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Honors track
  • STEM
  • Teacher-run
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Limited bus transportation
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Fencing
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Kayaking
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Fencing
  • Golf
  • Kayaking
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
SAT/ACT prep classes
College presentations or information sessions
College prep programs/courses during the year
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

171 Baylor School Road
Chattanooga, TN 37405
Website: Click here
Phone: (423) 267-8505

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Scholze Center
Chattanooga, TN




Girls Preparatory School
Chattanooga, TN



Red Bank Middle School
Chattanooga, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT