Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Berean Academy

Private | PK-12 | 14 students

We are best known for family atmosphere.

 
 

Living in Chattanooga

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $131,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $690.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 21 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

40 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 4, 2014

This school Berean is not a school that adequately prepares kids for college. The graduating class of 2014 mostly is going to community college(Chatt State) or no college at all. I know of other graduates working as waiters or labor at plants. Not something you expect for an education that you pay for. They lack basic facilities for sports, science, and computers. They are nice people and teach bible verses but their poor curriculum and limited resources and facilities are more detrimental than helpful to the success of the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2011

Berean Academy is a school that cares about their students. They are praying for them during the school day and they pray from the students and the teachers at their services. When there is a student in need of help, the teachers are there for them and their family. I am grateful that our family has found this church and school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2011

My children have been attending Berean Academy for three years now. Berean has been such a blessing to our family! I have been impressed with the curriculum at Berean, and I feel that my children are receiving a quality education. In addition, I love the fact that they are in a Christian environment where the word of God is not only taught but exhibited in the actions of the faculty and staff of Berean. My children love to go to school, and I know that they are in good hands while they are there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2011

Our daughter is graduating this year with a 3.91 gpa . She is a member of the honor society. She has attended Berean all 12 years. Her teachers know both parents by name, there is excellent parent-teacher communication. Teachers at Berean care deeply about their students and show it constantly. She has had so much fun with many school activities. The students even enjoy socializing with the principle! We feel that our daughter has received the best education possible and is an extremely well rounded person with the influences of Berean Academy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2011

I am a graduate of Berean Academy, and now my children attend this school. The teachers and principle communicate well with us through email, phone calls, notes, and in person. Their grades have increased since attending this school and the cost affordable even with multiple children. The value of their education at Berean has been one of the best choices we have made.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2011

My daughter has been at Berean for 3 years. I love it and She loves it!!! The staff is wonderful. The children not only excell academically but also spirtually. The classrooms are very structured and classmates well respected. This school is such a blessing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2011

We've had our son at Berean for 3 years now. After completing first grade, testing showed that he was reading on a sixth grade level. Thier excellerated reading program has exceeded our expectations. He enjoys his teachers and classmates in an environment that is well structured and geared toward learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2011

We have been involved with Berean for several years now, and I could not be happier with all they offer and the direction they are going. My children have attended there for 6 years. I love the dedication of the teachers and staff to God and to the kids. I am extremely thankful to God for Berean and would recommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2011

Berean Academy is a great school! My kids are very happy here and Mr. Harmon has made so many great changes to make this school even better. The staff are so kind and loving and take the time out to really focus on my kids. Just last month parents were given the opportunity to participate in a survey and immediately Mr. Harmon noticed a place of improvement and is already underway to get the ball rolling. When my husband was getting ready to deploy to Afghanistan and my grandfather was dying of cancer at the same time, I received so much support and encouragement from everyone. I love this school and my kids will continue to attend Berean until they graduate . I want my kids to have an excellent education but I also want them to be surrounded by a great influence of Christan fellowship and at Berean they get the best of both!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2011

our daughter has been attending Berean Academy since preschool & now is in the 4th grade we feel that the teachers & the administrator are a calling of God who care not only for the academics but more important there Spirtual growth which will mold & shape there lives for the future I am very thankful for Berean Academy & highly recommend it to anyone who is interested in a Christian School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2011

My child has been with Berean Academy from kindergarden through 1st grade. So far the school meets my expectations for spiritual growth, great professional teachers, wonderful new administrator and excellent teaching curriculum. I have total confidence and trust in the Lord that from here on out Berean will rise above all others and be the preferred school for your precious children. "Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding".
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2011

FYI this website, either by the school admin or the site itself has deleted a very sincere and honest review of this school that does not reflect a positive opinion of this school by a parent. I do NOT suggest you entrust your child's education with this organization or those whom they are affiliated with.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2011

Our child has been in berean for several years and we are looking forward to keeping him there until he graduates. I love the atmosphere!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2011

This is our child's first year at Berean and we have been very pleased with the teachers, administration, and quality of education our child is receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2011

Quality education for my children as well as quality atmosphere. Teachers and administration are role models for my children. Highly recommend Berean Academy if you are wanting a well rounded school where your children can grow academically and spiritually. Recent changes in the school have made a HUGE impact. It is so exciting to see the school change and GROW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2011

My child has only been in Berean for 1 year but so far she loves it. Coming from a public middle school the administration and teachers has made the transition very easy. We are pleased with the communication provided by the teachers. I feel like my child is challenged and will be well prepared for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2011

My son attended Berean from 3rd to 8th grade opting to attend a secular school for his first 2 years of high school. He struggled with all the ungodly influences of the secular school and asked to go back to Berean this year. I am thrilled as Berean is a great, safe place for a young person to be. He is very happy to be back and enjoying the new administrator!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2011

We have two children at Berean Academy! We are thrilled to have a passionate Administrator! We feel that Berean is headed in a wonderful direction. We are excited to see the school becoming very well rounded in technology, speech and drama, sports and academia.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2011

There are great changes taking place at Berean Academy: 1. New Administration 2. School of Academic Excellence 3. Athletic Program for elementary, middle school, and high school. 4. College Level Basketball Coaches 5. Dynamic Speech and Drama Program
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 10, 2011

We have 1 child at Berean and this is our 2nd year. It is an awesome school with great Christian values. My son has loved it and continues to love it more each day. Our teachers have been wonderful. We look forward to many more years here.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 2%
Black 4% 23%
Hispanic 1% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation Bryan College
Lee University
Chattanooga State
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Joey Harmon
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • AACS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Drama

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Bryan College
Lee University
Chattanooga State
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
College presentations or information sessions
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

441 Berean Lane
Chattanooga, TN 37343
Website: Click here
Phone: (423) 877-1288

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT