Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-5
Public
Chattanooga, TN
Students enrolled: 465
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


13 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Tommie F. Brown International Academy 5

Posted February 03, 2013
- a parent
Our son has attended Brown International Academy for three years the ONLY IB K-5 school in TN and has had a tremendous educational opportunity that NO OTHER school can offer him. Dr.Jennifer Spates is our Principal who bought her A+ game in making this school one of the top schools in Hamilton County. My husband and I are fortunate enough that we could have sent him to any school but selected Brown International Academy. Our son attended the Montosorri school from 6months to the time he was 5 yrs old and then we chose Brown International Academy. Over the past two years Dr. Spates made a plan of action to hire the BEST OF THE BEST teachers at our school and it is amazing what this group of teachers are accomplishing at our school. This meant turnover of teachers but is was necessary and good turnover. Teachers are now asking to be on staff at our school and we have the opportunity to choose the best. Additionally we have a waiting list for children whose parents are trying to get them into our wonderful school. My son speaks fluent German/Spanish, in the Gifted program, Algebra and is active in Golf and swimming. We know this is his foundation for his educational life.

Tommie F. Brown International Academy 1

Posted November 21, 2012
- a parent
Brown Academy WAS a great school. Under new administration since 2011 school year the wheels have fallen off. Bullying goes uncorrected. NAACP is now involved. Parents are pulling their children " Discipline is the worse I have seen in years" quotes a long time employee. 18 Teachers have left in 2012. Central office is totally unresponsive. Politics abound. Childeren are taught to TCAP and valuable programs have been terminated by the new Administration.. No wonder Hamilton County has the most private schools in Tennessee.


Tommie F. Brown International Academy 0
no rating

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
Brown International Academy is the first elementary school in Tennessee to be in the International Baccalaureate Programme! The students are very diverse economically and racially, and we have several children of employees at the new Volkswagen plant in our area. The faculty and staff are absolutely wonderful!

Tommie F. Brown International Academy 5

Posted March 12, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Tommie F. Brown International Academy 5

Posted November 04, 2009
- a community member
Brown Academy is definately a 'turn around' school. The shcool climate is great, it is like a family. The adminstration and teachers are great! They are quickly becoming the school of choice in Chattanooga.


Tommie F. Brown International Academy 5

Posted May 20, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Tommie F. Brown International Academy 0
no rating

Posted May 05, 2009
- a parent
My daughter is a student at Brown and she has done so well, there are not enough good things that can be said about this school. I am grateful that she was accepted in this school.

Tommie F. Brown International Academy 1

Posted July 27, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Tommie F. Brown International Academy 5

Posted April 12, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Tommie F. Brown International Academy 4

Posted March 06, 2008
- a teacher
i think brown is a school that is trying to stay ahead of the curve, that have some good and teachers and programs that really get the students excited

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tommie F. Brown International Academy
718 East 8th St, Chattanooga, TN  37403
(423) 209-5760
Last modified Tommie F. Brown International Academy is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Tommie F. Brown International Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 13 reviews. Top