Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

East Ridge Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 23, 2013

The security and curriculum are great for the kids! The teachers and other staff really care about the students, and answer and qUestions or concerns you may have! I love the car rider procedures!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 4, 2012

This school and the teachers are EXCELLENT! My kindergartener is reading now, small words but still reading! The problem with fighting and bullying coming from the children bused in from other areas is a real problem. I think for the safety of the children who live here in East Ridge the busing needs to stop! Go to school where you live is much needed. I believe it is time for change at East Ridge Elementary for the better!


Posted July 1, 2011

I work at E.R.E., and see great potential for this school. As this school was the result of the merge of two large elementary schools, it seems only fair to expect an adjustment period for systems to get in place, staff to solidify, and kids to feel at home. I am quite amazed at how well the first year went considering all the factors involved. I am certain beyond a doubt that things will become more comfortable and "well-oiled" in the second year. These children and families are amazing, and from all walks of like. We are blessed with diversity and culture, and I am so excited about year number two!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 23, 2010

We love the new school, the old school was also great. The principal and teachers care alot about the children and the education they get. It's a shame that people whom do not live in this area and try to bring their kids to this school have to put it down. Keep up the great work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2010

A Brand new school with lots to offer. But the principal and office staff could care less about the parent. Rules change everyday. Car line is a nightmare. They want our engines off in car line while we wait for 45 min to an hr. which is unsafe in 100 degree weather. The children wait outside for their name to be called and not inside where it's safer. You can't check out you child after 2:45 no matter what. You have to check your child out earlier than 2:45. This can cause the child to loose homework assignment time. This school is a big disapiontment. There are a lot of complaints about the school from zoned parents not just those that are not.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2010

There is nothing nice to say about this new "mega school"!!! Makes me VERY sad:( if you want to feel unwanted, your child talked to like a dog & be able to check your child out without being asked for ID~~ this is the school for you!!I was actually asked why I was in the building on the 3rd day of school!! Not, good morning Mom, thank you for coming, I'm glad to see you involved. Rules change daily without notice. I'm very involved in my Childs education but you will NOT see me at this school being the homeroom mom that I've been for 4 years. My house is for sale & I pray something will change!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2008

The principle of East Ridge Elementary does not appear to be oriented to children of this age group. I have been in the school in the morning when the principle was making morning announcements that were geared toward the children. It was clear to me she was not able to speak to the children on their level. I do not believe she is an advocate for the children as she claims to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2004

The school is wonderful! it is a community within itself. The teachers are kind, loving, and dedicated to their jobs. The atmosphere is inviting and I would reccomend the school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 18, 2004

My daughter had a wonderful kindergarten year at East Ridge Elementary! The classes are small, the teachers are great, and the school has a cozy, nurturing environment. I love the neighborhood and the school population is like a great big family. The principal is very dedicated to the school. The students always seem happy and excited to be at school. It's the best little elementary school in Chattanooga!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
28%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
33%

2012

 
 
25%

2011

 
 
18%

2010

 
 
24%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

138 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
43%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

137 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
28%

2011

 
 
25%

2010

 
 
31%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
26%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
17%

2010

 
 
31%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

133 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
45%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
28%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
43%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

139 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students54%
African American41%
Asiann/a
Hispanic24%
White66%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Students with disabilities38%
English language learners10%

Reading/Language Arts

All Students33%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilities24%
English language learners10%

Science

All Students49%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learners10%

Social Studies

All Students67%
African American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
White72%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities40%
English language learners20%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students32%
African American27%
Asiann/a
Hispanic22%
White39%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students31%
African American18%
Asiann/a
Hispanic22%
White42%
Economically disadvantaged24%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students41%
African American27%
Asiann/a
Hispanic30%
White53%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities45%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students83%
African American76%
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
White87%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities67%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students35%
African American24%
Asiann/a
Hispanic20%
White40%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students40%
African American32%
Asiann/a
Hispanic13%
White48%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities23%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students37%
African American22%
Asiann/a
Hispanic27%
White46%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students73%
African American65%
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
White81%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities27%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 54% 67%
Black 28% 23%
Hispanic 14% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 78%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (423) 493-9298

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1014 John Ross Rd
Chattanooga, TN 37412
Phone: (423) 493-9296

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Calvary Christian School
Chattanooga, TN



Brainerd Baptist School
Chattanooga, TN


Barger Academy
Chattanooga, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT