Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Red Bank High School

Public | 9-12 | 778 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2014

The administration doesn't care about the welfare of their students. They even fired a great teacher for doing the right thing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2013

This school is awful the staff and or teachers don't respect the students and the students are way out of hand the news loves to talk about how bad schools like Howard or brainerd are but this school is just as bad the one good thing about this school is the JROTC program but please avoid this school at all costs
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2011

I am new to the district. My children will be attending next year (2012-2013). Therefore, I cannot give the school an accurate and honest rating.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2011

Few of the teachers at this school are able to work with students who have different learning styles, special needs, and IEPs in a manner that will enable them to succeed. For the most part, the school's leadership conveys a "let them fail" attitude which can be frustrating and debilitating. Like another parent said on this website, many students slip through the cracks. More can be done to instill in teachers that "failure is not an option." If a student is working hard to pass--work with that student and communicate what needs to be done to his/her parent to pass the course. Don't just let the student fail. To me, the odds are stacked against special needs students at Red Bank High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

The schol has no respect for the students, the faculty or the school its self!!! Thats why im going to hixson next year!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 3, 2009

administration staff is horrible. They do not respect their students... point blank period.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 16, 2008

I love being a part of this school. There is so much school spirit and motivation in our athletic department. And as far as acedemics go, i think teachers go above and beyond to encourage us to do our best and go as far as we can. I have met some of the greatest teachers i think i could ever meet.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 12, 2007

Under the new leadership of Principal Gail Chuy and Change Coach Susan Thurman, RBHS is once again flourishing like it did in the old days. Its career academies are winning national awards, its athletic and JROTC programs are the best in the county, and its students often beat out the area's private school students in academic scholarship contests. Its teachers even receive rave reviews from parents who formerly sent their children to expensive religious private schools because of the good teacher-parent contact. It's a new era for RBHS, and I am proud to be a teacher at what I consider the best public high school in the county.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 21, 2006

I graduated from Red Bank in 2003 I learned more there in the broadcasting program than I am in college! The teachers encouraged me in each subject. Overall, good environment.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted January 17, 2006

As a student I enjoy school. The dress code needs to lighten up a little. Overall I like it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 21, 2005

Great school IF you don't have learning disabilities...teachers do what they are expected, but didn't go the extra mile. As far as extracurricular activities, the student has to be self-motivated.Teachers did not work with the parent as much as I felt my child needed. IF it hadn't been for Sylvan Learning Center, we wouldn't have made it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2005

I am a graduate of the 2005 RBHS class. Next year RBHS will be undergoing many new changes with the stricter dress code, block scheduling, and academies. I feel during my time at RBHS a main problem was the faculty not supporting the teachers when enforcing dress code, disciplining a student, or such. I ,however, did enjoy my time at RBHS but feel that improvements need to be made. I hope that with the many new changes to come that RBHS will gradually improve.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 6, 2004

I also graduated last year from Red Bank. Class of 2004. If you were going to Red Bank, then the person on this page would know that our senoir year we did not have to tuck in our shirts. Plus, this is the best part, hamilton county schools stopped saturday school at Red Bank because it didn't work. The person above should explain that seqouyeh technical school is seperate from red bank and that you hadn't gone their for probly 2 years. But if you went from Red Bank to seq. you are still considered a Red Bank student. I will always stand up for that school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 29, 2004

The only thing I see wrong with Red Bank High School is that I have seen many students fall through the cracks. There is no program in place to help failing students to succeed. It seems to focus more on the students who understand the subject matter, and many students who are struggling are left to figure it out for themselves. This is a big minus to this school in my book.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2004

As a graduate of the class of 2004 I would not recommend this high school to anyone. I do not like the environment of the school. The teachers are great but however the classes are too big and they really don't focus on your individual needs. A certain part of the 'team' is also too harsh on kids. Simple stuff like untucked shirts will give you a Saturday school. When you tell a person you are haivng problems with another person they just watch and see what happens. I would recommend Seqouyah however the teachers there are carin and they personally take the time out to get to know you. The environment there is great and the teachers care enough to come and see you play your sport or event and some teachers become second parents to you.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 25, 2004

As a student at Red Bank I must say that I couldn't be happier at anyother high school in Chattanooga. Red Bank students are close to eachother and form famliy like bonds. We all are very close and help eachother whenever needed. The teachers are caring and do their best to teach us what we need to know. They are some of the best teachers I've ever had. I'm proud to say that I am a student at Red Bank High School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2003

We have had one child graduate from this school. There is NO WAY we would EVER allow our other children to attend this school. We are now homeschooling our other children due the poor quality of many schools in this area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2003

Excellent public educational institution in every way. Do not hesitate to send your child to Red Bank High.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
14%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

151 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
41%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

199 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
48%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

200 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
51%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

179 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
52%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

120 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
21%

2012

 
 
16%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students47%
African American51%
Asiann/a
Hispanic54%
White44%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disabilities9%
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students38%
African American14%
Asiann/a
Hispanic18%
White49%
Economically disadvantaged28%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students54%
African American30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
White63%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students55%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
White67%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students42%
African American22%
Asiann/a
Hispanic46%
White52%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students21%
African American15%
Asiann/a
Hispanic9%
White27%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Students with disabilities8%
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African American91%
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities75%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 67%
Black 29% 23%
Hispanic 6% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 69%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (423) 874-1924

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

640 Morrison Springs Rd
Chattanooga, TN 37415
Phone: (423) 874-1900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Baylor School
Chattanooga, TN


Berean Academy
Chattanooga, TN


Scholze Center
Chattanooga, TN



Girls Preparatory School
Chattanooga, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT