Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Westview Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 6 ratings
2013:
Based on 9 ratings
2012:
Based on 6 ratings
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

50 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 9, 2007

My son has been at Westview for the past 2 years, and I have thoroughly enjoyed watching him learn and grow - he loves his classmates, teacher (Mrs Pirtle) and GOING TO SCHOOL!!! My wife and I both have had the opportunity to help with the classes, and go to class activities. It is exciting to be involved in a school that is so family friendly and family oriented. I have enjoyed watching teachers interact with the students - you all have done such a great job (especially Mrs Pirtle - my son had her as both his Kindergarten and First Grade teacer) Keep up the good work!! By the way, I would love to see Mrs Pirtle move to the second grade :-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2005

I agree with the college student. there are many teachers yelling at students, even kindergartners. The safety of the children needs to be evaluated. There is not a fence around the playgrounds and teachers DO NOT watch the children. But pointing that out to Ms. Williams makes her angry. How dare someone accuse her teachers of not doing their job! Academically, my child by far exceeded my expactations. But the saftey of my child and other children are more important.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2005

I am so excited to have my little Pre K 5 year old to go to this school. It is beautiful and the Principal makes sure the children stay in line. No loud children here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2004

This is a wonderful school mrs. Margo and her staff are devoted to providing the quality education of a private school in a public school. Would have put my children in private if not for her wonderful school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2004

It's impossible to express how exceptional I think Westview is in every aspect. We have excellent teachers who work with and include parents. Parental invovlement is HUGE and something that makes us all proud. The children are happy and they consistently score very well on achievement tests. The principal, Mrs. Williams, is fair, bright, and extremely diligent in managing a large staff and a school that grows in enrollement every year because our reputation is so good. You never support staff compain or express negativity. Westview like an extended family and I can't think of anything better for my kids than that.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2003

After reading the negative comment by a visiting college student, I was prompted to add my view of the school. I have never found Mrs. Williams to be rude. She is a kind and caring woman. I am thrilled with the job she is doing as principal. I have had 3 children in Westview and am a teacher myself (though not at westview), and I have been extremely happy with this school. The office staff is courteous and friendly, the teachers whom we have had have been professional, the nurses have been as concerned as they would be with their own children. We discovered this when we had a child break her arm and the nurse called our home a few times to check on her. We are thrilled to have our children at such a school as Westview Elementary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2003

As a proud parent of two Westview Elementary students, I am very surprised at the comments the last person made about our school. Not only do we have a beautiful school, but we have wonderful, caring and intelligent teachers. As for our principal, Margo Williams, makes the school as great as it is. She loves her students and staff, and it shows. I moved to Tennessee from California, prepared for devestation due to my ignorance. What a blessing this move has been for us, because of our wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2003

I think this is a nice school. Parents are able to be very involved. It has the right amount of structure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

My daughter started here in the second grade. We have loved the new school, and her teachers have been the greatest. My daughter is now a fifth grader reading above average, and very sharp in her other studies. Margo Williams has always been very professional and friendly with our family. Mrs. Williams carries herself and her duties with pride. I think it is good for our kids to see Mrs. Williams as strength and honor to our school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2003

I am a College student. I did a visit to this school for my ECED class. The Principal was rude to me. Ms. Margo Williams acted as if she could care less about my interest in teaching in the future or working at this school. While observing this school I witnessed two teachers yelling at students. I will never work at this school. My children are zoned for this school but my children will never ever attend this school! I was shocked!


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

123 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
66%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
61%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

122 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
57%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

121 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
65%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

131 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities44%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students69%
African American38%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities31%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students89%
African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students94%
African American88%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilities75%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students67%
African American27%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities24%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students62%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Students with disabilities18%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students72%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities35%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students94%
African American82%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White95%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities77%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities40%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students67%
African American33%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White70%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students80%
African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities33%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students91%
African American87%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 67%
Black 10% 23%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 2%
Hispanic 3% 7%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9629 East Brainerd Rd
Chattanooga, TN 37421
Phone: (423) 855-6142

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Valley Academy
Chattanooga, TN



Standifer Gap Sda School
Chattanooga, TN


Grace Baptist Academy
Chattanooga, TN



St Nicholas School
Chattanooga, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT