Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Normal Park Museum Magnet School

Public | PK-8 | 271 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

40 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 19, 2014

The school is overcrowded. They have a lot of perks like field trips every week and it is a magnet school. I don't know that the teachers are any better than the other public schools. The buildings are both old and in much need of repair. They do a lot of fundraising. They have auctions and a festival every year. We left the school and went to a school with smaller classrooms and found these teachers to be just as good or better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2014

Unfortunately our child had a terrible experience at NP. A child was bullying our child and despite reporting this, nothing was done. We chose to withdraw our child from NP and HCDE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 24, 2013

This school presents great opportunities in many fields for the lucky students who attend. It has myriad educational, cultural and athletic offerings.


Posted May 5, 2013

My children have been in both Normal Park schools for five years now. They are THRIVING. My children are both straight A students, with one being in the advanced studies group (and being VERY challenged). From my experience and as an active parent at the school, I have noticed that the parents who are unhappy are the ones who have children that are disruptive in class. I have seen a few of them come to Normal Park from other schools hoping that they will have better luck here. Not every parent and personality is going to get along with every teacher/principal at any school. It's not possible. Any negative comments you read about Normal Park are coming from someone who has behavior problems they are dealing with from their child. Just like any other school, there is always the less desired teacher. It's unavoidable. At Normal Park, my children have never woken up asking to miss school; they jump out of bed excited to go to school. The work they do that is magnet related really blows us away. They are super proud to show us their work on the school's exhibit nights. Normal Park is a great community! Don't hesitate to send your kids to this wonderful school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted August 29, 2011

Our daughter is in kindergarten at NPMM. We have been SO impressed with the school and faculty so far. They are truly amazing and really care about the kids. The principal knows me and even attended my daughter's IEP meeting. Now THAT is a dedicated principal!! We really love it that parents are required to do volunteer work and we actually enjoy it. We are so blessed for our daughter to be attending sucha wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2011

I LOVE NORMAL PARK.......I LUV THE STAFF,THEY R SO GREAT WITH OUR KIDS.......I LOVE THAT THEY HAVE ORDER IN THAT SCHOOL,AND I DONT HAVE TO WORRY ABOUT MY CHILD SAFETY.....EDUCATION WISE,THEY R GREAT,THEY HAVE A WAY OF TEACHING KIDS,AND THEY WANT THE BEST 4 EACH CHILD IN THAT SCHOOL......THEY PUSH PARENTS TO HAVE COMMUNICATION WITH THEIR KIDS,AND FACULTY......ITS A FAMILY ENVIROMENT......I LUV IT,AND MY SON DOES TOO....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2010

NPMM isn't 100% DAP for ECE, but it is the closest thing you'll find. Kids are allowed to be active learners. Weekly visits to museums, the aquarium, the zoo. Kids participate fully. Curriculum addresses the whole child, not a narrow focus - there is a spanish teacher, an art teacher, a music teacher, a science teacher, a PE teacher at the lower school. With so many schools bombarded with budget cuts, it is rare to find There is also continuity - e.g., children start doing "writers workshop" in kindergarten and continue across the grades. There is a thematic strand - students work together on projects based on a "unit" theme. Every nine weeks an "exhibit night" invites parents, relatives, neighbors in to see the projects the children have made. Teachers communicate well, parents are involved, admin is wonderful. Children are clearly always the first priority. THANKS NMPMM.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2010

I have been in other schools and have worked with other teachers and administrators. There is not another school that I know of that has harder working faulty and admin than Normal Park. We put in 80 hour weeks because we care about the students and have pride in ourselves as educators. We are constantly looking to improve and never do the exact same thing twice. We adapt; we innovate; and our students reap the benefits through engaging and innovative lessons. This is the hardest job that I've ever had, but the reward is worth all of the sleepless nights. I am blessed to have two children that attend the Lower School, and they come home daily with excited faces, ready to share the wonderful things that they learned. The curriculum is set by the State; there is no other school that does more with what they are given.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted April 13, 2010

Normal Park Museum Magnet School is focused on the well being and education of the child. They go to great lengths to make sure learning is fun and effective; they know how your child is functioning in school and do whatever it takes to help each child expand their potential and ability to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 23, 2010

We have been very blessed with the excellent work of the teachers and parents of the school. I must said that some of our neighborhood families were promised a position in their neighborhood school, but were turned away and issue was voted down . What happen to 'no child left behind'.


Posted March 16, 2010

I am a 6th grade student at Normal Park, and love it!! All of the teachers Make learning fun! Every body at the school welcomes you, teachers and students. I deeply feel that if I were to go to a very expensive private school, I would either get the same or worse education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 5, 2010

I do like the curriculum of the school and their learning expeditions. However, little to no communication from my son's teacher. Others in the school are much better at communicating which is backwards in my mind. Also, if your child doesn't fit into a certain 'box', expect for them to come up with something wrong with your child, i.e. ADHD, autism, etc. Sorry but schools have no business 'creating' and labeling children with medical diseases and disorders. That's what doctors are for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

There is great parent involvement in this school, which goes to waste. The curriculum is very lacking compared nationally, but about the same as the other local public schools here in chattanooga. They don't have many advanced classes or programs for kids that are at a higher level. Look carefully at their curriculum closely before choosing this school and see if it fits your child. Also, homes in the normal Park area usually tend to be much older and can be run down. Hope this helps.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2009

I have a kindergartner who attends this school and loves it. I am also very pleased with the school. The entire building is stimulating with its decor, the staff is friendly as well as professional and they have great after school programs to join. I'm not sure how the parent involvement goes to waste....And the curriculum is not the same for all. I just had a teacher conference and was pleased to see all of the extra work that was being put forth to challenge my child. My husband initially thought the school was nothing too special until he went to other public schools in the area. I am very happy that my children can walk to school every morning in our quaint neighborhood.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2009

Normal Park utilizes its museum partners in order to strengthen the lessons being taught in the classrooms. The teachers and administrative staff are fantastic and give each child the attention they need in order to learn and thrive in this wonderful environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2009

I love this school. My daughter has just started her second year here and loves it. The only eception is the snooty parents. Not all of them are this way but if you dont make as much money as then alot tend to ignore you or act superior. But they are prett easy to ignore. Wonderful school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2009

The Normal Park Schools are the exception, not the rule for public schools in Hamilton County. These are truely amazing schools, parents, and people. The took leamons and made leamonade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

I am a 8th grade student at NPMM Upper school and it is by far the best school I have ever went to! I love the atmosphere and how it doesn't matter what grade you are in you can still be friends! I also went to Chattanooga MIddle it was an okay school but this is so much better...so if your thinking about putting your kid in this school I advise you to do so! He or she will learn more here than any other school. The teachers are wonderful even if you are not in their grade they know your name which is a lot better than being called 'Hey you' like I was all the time last year by teachers I had every day.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2008

My son has been a student @ NPMM since the 3rd grade and it is by far the best school in this entire city, and now he attends the upper school, and I count it a priviledge to have my son at this school, there aren't enough good things I can say about the teachers and the principle of NPMM I just love it!!! And so does Malik
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2008

My daughter started in 2005 after visiting 3 schools (right after NPMM won best magnet school in the country) and it exeeded whatever our expectations were. Tremendous support from community.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
74%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
75%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
71%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
71%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
69%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
27%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
55%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

83 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

25 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
32%

2012

 
 
14%

2011

 
 
20%

2010

 
 
4%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
33%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
33%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students91%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students80%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students79%
African American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students85%
African American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students93%
African American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
African American42%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students67%
African American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White75%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students79%
African American54%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African American92%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students77%
African American41%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilities60%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students65%
African American24%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students87%
African American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilities60%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students94%
African American77%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities80%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students32%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White31%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students72%
African American57%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students93%
African American86%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

42 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students93%
African American90%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 79% 67%
Black 15% 23%
Hispanic 4% 7%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 27%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school community.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (423) 209-5900

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Soccer
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by community members,
needs to be verified by school leaders.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1219 West Mississippi Av
Chattanooga, TN 37405
Phone: (423) 209-5900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


The Bright School
Chattanooga, TN


Girls Preparatory School
Chattanooga, TN


Scholze Center
Chattanooga, TN




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT