Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Public district
Chattanooga, TN
Students enrolled: 563
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Chatt High Center For Creative Arts 5

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
My daughter began at CCA in the 6th grade and this year she's a senior. She has enjoyed her time and has done well. The staff has been supportive and open minded. The performances are beautiful but rehearsals can be quite demanding. Kids should plan on some long days with great outcomes. I wouldn't change a thing.

Chatt High Center For Creative Arts
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
The teachers, administrators and support staff are hard working and supportive. Their performance is quite effective and well accepted by the students and the parents. Thank you!


Chatt High Center For Creative Arts
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
The school holds students and parents to a high standard. Activities that would be considered disrespectful are not acceptable.

Chatt High Center For Creative Arts
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
The school requires students to select a major to follow throughout their education. Classes that support that major are assigned to each student. The school has caring teachers, administrators and support staff. Students are led by example.

Chatt High Center For Creative Arts
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 30, 2015
- a parent
The school promote independent thinking but will not allow dishonesty. Appropriate disciplinary actions will be administered.


Chatt High Center For Creative Arts 5

Posted May 09, 2015
- a parent
CCA is an excellent school! This is my daughter's first year and the curriculum is top notch

Chatt High Center For Creative Arts 4

Posted April 27, 2015
- a student
CCA is a performing arts school and the arts classes and teachers are the best the city has to offer. With all the performances, rehearsals, and schoolwork, you will have to have discipline to keep up. As for parents who are considering sending their child here, CCA will teach them self discipline, accountability, and responsibility along with lots of fun and preparation for furthering their education.

Chatt High Center For Creative Arts 2

Posted January 27, 2015
- a parent
The language arts teachers were excellent; the math and social studies teachers were a little above average; the science was uneven with one teacher being demanding, dis-organized and unpredictable but who at least knew science and the other being someone drafted from another related field. The various art and music teachers are experts in their fields, versus having a teacher who just majored in a field in college. The principal is more a politician than an educator, so appearances are stressed over the reality. I am giving the school two stars because of the unnecessary work and stress level, the emphasis on 'common core' for political reasons, but the language art department probably deserves a five.


Chatt High Center For Creative Arts 5

Posted August 24, 2014
- a community member
This is my first year at CCA and I am a vocal major and so far it has been great! Obviously there is a lot more ahead for me though. There's rarely any bullying. You can be who you want to be and nobody will judge you. Although there is no sports ( which I'm happy about ) until about high school when you can take it for a semester. I think the teacher and learning is great!

Chatt High Center For Creative Arts 2

Posted December 26, 2013
- a community member
I believe that CCA is a great school for an alternative student. The academic classes here are pretty up to date, however could be improved. I believe to fit in at this school and truly get the "full package" of the arts, academics and socially you have to be a different kind of student and person. The people are fairly welcoming here, the teachers are overall nice, the school building is kept clean and bullying is kept at a low. However, if you do not consider yourself an alternative person, very different from the "normal person", then I do not recommend going here. The majority of people that come into this school will experience some kind of major culture shock, which isn't a bad thing considering that is the real world. As far as punishing at CCA, I would say some serious issues are ignored(such as cheating, drugs, fighting and alcohol). I feel like this is an overall good school for your 100% artsy, alternative student. But, if you don't feel that different from your "normal" classmates, I wouldn't recommend CCA.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Chatt High Center For Creative Arts
1301 Dallas Road, Chattanooga, TN  37405
(423) 209-5929
Last modified Chatt High Center For Creative Arts is a Public school that serves grades 6-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Chatt High Center For Creative Arts Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 53 reviews. Top