Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chattanooga School for Arts and Sciences Csas Uppe

Public | K-12 | 674 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 29, 2011

I have been at this school for over a decade and I speak for a majority of the high school when i say that we hate the change in administration over that last 3 years. The teachers and education are still amazing but the level of "student satisfactions" has gone down drastically. Its also not just student who don't like the administration, but parents and teachers also.


Posted February 11, 2011

I'm a freshman at CSAS and it is my first year, but I will graduate from CSAS. It is a superb school and students do have a say in what goes on. We have student government which does change the way the school is run. All of the teachers are fantastic. I have no idea what parents are saying about their students struggling. We are given every opportunity to succeed. People who want their students to be very involved with sports need to understand that although we have a small athletic department we still have sports. CSAS is just a heavily academic based school. We have seminar in all classes and one every wednesday. Seminar pushes students to think about things from multiple views and you learn about many things from seminar. The classes are roughly 150 kids and we are bonded from the start. I truly believe if you want your child to excel and get every opportunity to go to the best college they can go to, send them to CSAS. CSAS requires 18 parent volunteer hours a year and students must also volunteer. For freshmen it is 10 and goes up every year. It is an amazing school and I'm very proud to say I attend CSAS,


Posted October 6, 2010

My son started at CSAS in the 11th grade from Tyner. He was shocked at how much more demanding it was. He never was happy there, and barely graduated. My middle son was able to start there in 9th grade because the other son was accepted, so he experienced this as his high school. My older son was the top of the class at Tyner, but struggled to pass the classes at CSAS. Both were gifted, but both only achieved B's and C's, if not F's, at CSAS. At Tyner Middle, both were A+ students. So there is definitely a discrepancy in the level of education offered at our different magnet schools, And I think there is a definite lack of support for students who should be able to succeed with a little extra help, or guidance, at CSAS. Both my kids were smart, but had few friends, and struggled.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2010

It's on par with expensive private schools, and I love the parent and community involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2010

My child has been attending CSAS since first grade and will be going into 6th this year. This school is awsome! Children start a foreign language class in kindergarden and continue until they graduate. All Children are treated equally! I have read some negative reviews on here and notice they are a few years old. The school is old but many renovations have been done. The school is not crumbling down! Many school buildings in Chattanooga are in need for new buildings and/or renovations. The parents that have said the children run around wild and there are too many field trips, are not understanding the Paideia Philosophy. It is more "hands-on" learning than sitting still and lectured from a book. The very first year my child attended (1st grade), I was pleasantly suprised at how the middle and high scoolers looked after the little ones. I love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2010

This school teaches students to think vs just memorizing facts.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2008

I have two boys in CSAS Elementary and two nephews who are graduates. My nephews are as different as two brothers could be. The oldest is finishing his doctorate in astro-nuclear physics. His younger brother is in college on a soccer scholarship. It is the younger brother who sold me on the school. He is a gifted athlete who struggles accademically and has ADHS. In most schools he would have been segregated to the slow class at a young age and would most likely have stayed there for the duration of his education. At CSAS children are not segregated based on past performance. The children are divided into classes to provide the most diversity and they are all exposed equally to the topics being taught. The result of this is that my athletic nephew went to the National Model UN and is now majoring in International Finance. No more dumb class!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2008

This is my sons first year at CSAS. He loves it and is finally enthusiastic about learning. I personally am thilled with the academic levels of this school. This is going to be a profound experience for us this year. T. Clay
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2008

CSAS is a great environment for kids to learn in. Students at CSAS who work hard come out prepared for college. The size of the student body allows a great atmosphere for kids to feel like they are a part of something special. The building is beautiful and with recent renovations it has become even better. The teachers are most helpful and most have tutoring before or after school to help kids that want to be helped. Parents are required to volunteer 18 hours per year to the school which leads to great parent envolvement at the school. The schools student body is diverse in every way and this leads to a student being exposed to many different view points of the world in which they live. Athletics are available, but the importance is on the academics first and foremost. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2008

My child went here for 2 years, enough to know that I didn't like it and pulled him out. It was awful trying to get him in, very hard. Once he was accepted I was shocked at the amount of extra money you have to pay for all the field trips. They go at least2 a week and you have to pay for all of it out of pocket. There was also no control over the kids, in the halls, classrooms, lunchrooms. Seems to let the children take control. There are NO support for the sports programs. The school is BADLY in need of repair. Was not impressed at all!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2008

i am a freshman at csas, and i came from another school. I thought that i would never make any friends and u would be scared. But my first day the best! I felt so at home and had friends as soon as I walked in. I think that csas is the best school in Chattanooga! I wouldn't change anything about it at all
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 2, 2008

I am a senior at CSAS, and I love it. I cannot imagine what my life would be like if I had spent 13 years at any other school in Hamilton County. A very important aspect of our school, the Paideia Philosophy, has not been given its due attention in previous reviews. Mortimer Adler believed all students should be treated equally and given equal opportunities, and I believe CSAS does a wonderful job of embracing this concept. All of our core classes are honors, giving every student the chance to excel. Seminar is integrated into every course, enabling us to develop critical thinking skills as well as the chance to share our diverse opinions. The Socratic Method of teaching is also utilized. We have a wide array of extracurricular activities and, while it is not our main focus, we have some great sports teams (our boys basketball team went to state last year and our boys soccer team earned a chance at the state tournament the previous year) as well. Our building may have its problems, but our renovations are very close to being finished. The atmosphere of CSAS is also very inviting and gives a true sense of family. I would highly recommend this school to any parent who is truly interested in giving their child a wonderful liberal arts education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 8, 2007

this is the worst school I've ever been to in my life. Children were running around the classroom, and the faculty were o rude.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2007

There are a few of things about this school that I did like when my child went there, however there were many more I didnt like. For example, the building is in bad shape (about to fall down). The sports program is not taken seariously at all. The parts of the school I did like was the Parent involvement and the Arts program. They have a few good teachers and a few bad teachers, but the main problem is the way its run.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 22, 2007

From my experience at CSAS I do not recommend sending your child their. For one there is no way I would feel safe about my son/daughter going there because the building is about to fall down! The teacher quality is ok for the most part however, there are a few bad apples. As for extracurricular activities I was very disappointed in the athletic department (or lack there of). Athletics are a very important part of a child growth, and can be more helpful in life than a lot of the stuff you read from a book. Speaking of books...don't kid yourself, the quality of the library and the computers is very low. This is 2007, not 1957! The only part about this school that is worth while is Seminar. However, most schools do that, so why send them to CSAS?
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 3, 2007

The best thing about CSAS (upper school) is that the Paideia philosophy, on which the educational approach is based, allows room for failure. While other schools are enforcing strict dress codes, CSAS is focusing on teaching the students skills to make their own choices; important choices necessary to meet their own personal goals. That means sometimes mistakes are made, and the student is allowed to learn from them and move on. Any student eager to learn will do well at CSAS. The others will need more parent involvement and guidance but are offered the same chance to succeed in highschool and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2006

Words escape me to describe how wonderful my time at CSAS was. The caring teachers guide students in ways that will assure them success in the future. Every student has high standards to meet, and the teachers are more than supportive. The second floor hallway is lined with pennants from all of the different universities that CSAS graduates have attended, including Emory, Georgetown, Vanderbilt, Mt. Holyoke, and NYU. Ivy League schools come and recruit at CSAS, because they know that CSAS students are prepared to do well at even the toughest universities. In short, I would call CSAS a public private school - a private school education funded by taxpayers. If you get the opportunity to send your child to this school, please do. You'll be glad you did.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted March 18, 2005

My child loves his school and so do we. My son started in k and is now in 2nd. We have had only good experiences at CSAS. It was hard to get in. But well worth the work. We met many of our future friends during the process. My child has thrived in this astmophere. My husband and I really wanted to go to a private christian school, but with 2 other children we couldn't afford it. But CSAS teacher have not squashed my child egarness to talk or bring up his feelings about God. My second child starts this coming up year and I am so excited. We are very proud of our school and very happy with my sons well rounded education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2004

Finally, a dream public school. Never have I encountered teachers so universally interested in my child's learning career. This is our first year, and the shift from a religious private school has not been the easiest. We found our child's preparation, particularly in math and science, was lacking. Still, the teachers understand, and will work with any student wanting to learn. The work prepares very well for college, and the 4 class block schedule per semester seems to be very good for the students. (I admit a little trepidation about going a full year without a math class, we shall soon see.) Highly recommended, very difficult to gain admission. Don't give up, many parents find out about waiting lists and simply don't show up for the interview process, and get automatic disqualification. For a 10th grade slot, our number was over 20, and still got one of four that were available.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
64%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
83%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
64%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
63%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
53%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
72%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
47%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
47%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
51%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
59%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
59%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
44%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
73%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
African American51%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students55%
African American32%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students64%
African American49%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students91%
African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students45%
African American20%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students81%
African American69%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students83%
African American76%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students56%
African American35%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White73%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students73%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students92%
African American85%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
68%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

98 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

116 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
47%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
72%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
80%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
77%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students71%
African American51%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students85%
African American80%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities30%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra II

All Students70%
African American61%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students85%
African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students83%
African American76%
Asian90%
Hispanicn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students74%
African American59%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 48% 23%
White 44% 67%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 2%
Hispanic 2% 7%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students School social worker/counselors(s)
Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Speech and language therapist(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:55 am
School end time
  • 3:55 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Jim Boles
Fax number
  • (423) 209-5831

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
  • School shares bus/van with other schools
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Ultimate Frisbee
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
  • Theory
Media arts
  • Computer animation
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

865 East 3rd St
Chattanooga, TN 37403
Website: Click here
Phone: (423) 209-5812

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Adonai Academy
Chattanooga, TN


Montessori School
Chattanooga, TN




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT