Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Chattanooga School for the Arts and Science Csas L

Public | K-5 | 378 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 15, 2013

I have been at CSAS since kindergarten and could not be happier. My parents could not afford the cost of private schools and now as a Senior I feel like my class load is normally on par with my friends at Baylor, McCallie, and GPS. Almost all of the teachers are passionate and so are the students. The building itself is old, but you can feel the history in it.


Posted August 17, 2012

I could not be happier with this school. I have had my children at several different schools including Normal Park and CSAS is by far the best school in the county hands down! I feel fortunate to now how both my children here. The staff is excellent and supportive and the curriculum is challenging.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2010

It's on par with expensive private schools, and I love the parent and community involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

The teachers are amazing! We have a lot of parents that stay involved in the school and that is really great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2008

I've been at this school since kindergarten, and I'm now entering my junior year. In my opinion, after comparing my education to my siblings and close friends, C.S.A.S. offers the best education around.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 24, 2008

My second child is about to enter K at CSAS and we couldn't be happier. It's an excellent school all the way around. If you want a school that exemlifies the real world, CSAS is the place.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2008

There is not a school I would rather have my child in. The teachers are dedicated and motivated. The students really love their school. The lessons are very challenging and this school is not obsessed with just teaching to NCLB standards, they are educating the whole student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2007

There is no other school out there like CSAS. I can't even begin to say how it has changed my life. If anyone is unhappy with their current school, go to CSAS... things will change.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 7, 2007

I have been so happy with this school. All of the teachers work together and know all of the students. Everyone supports everyone. It is such a positive enviornment. The most important benefit my four children have received is learning how to think and speak for themselves. I am convinced that the weekly seminar program has been responsible for this. Each year when I see the parents in line to secure a place for their children I just smile to myself and say anything is worth getting your child in this school.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

60 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
n/a
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
n/a
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
n/a
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students62%
African American22%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students69%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students89%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students95%
African American82%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students77%
African American56%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students66%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White83%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students69%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
African American48%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White65%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students58%
African American44%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students82%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students94%
African American93%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 53% 67%
Black 40% 24%
Asian 5% 2%
Hispanic 1% 6%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

865 East 3rd St
Chattanooga, TN 37403
Phone: (423) 209-5817

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Adonai Academy
Chattanooga, TN


Montessori School
Chattanooga, TN




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT