Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Chattanooga, TN
Students enrolled: 435
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Barger Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 17, 2015
- a community member
If a student at any time needs help within reason, they can approach a teacher with the issue.

Barger Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 17, 2015
- a community member
A young child should be given the opportunity to review the work that they learned in school. Which is exactly what the teachers follow.


Barger Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 17, 2015
- a community member
if a child does not understand a homework assignment they are not given a way to quit. Instead they are given many opportunities to figure out the answers.

Barger Academy
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 17, 2015
- a community member
All of the children are instructed to sign a no bullying contract at the beginning of the school year.

Barger Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 17, 2015
- a community member
There are many opportunities offered throughout the school year that are offered to the students and their families to help each other and the school.


Barger Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 17, 2015
- a community member
Each child is individually disciplined so as to not group the perpetrators together.If the need arises of course.

Barger Academy 5

Posted August 17, 2015
- a community member
All of the faculty are extremely devoted to helping each child excel in academics while understanding that not every child learns the same ways.

Barger Academy 4

Posted November 11, 2014
- a parent
This is an excellet school with great teachers and staff. Parental involvement is required because it is a magnet school. It is predominantly African American, with children from all parts of the city of Chattanooga. I volunteer at this school every day as a grandparent, and enjoy it very much. I'm hopeful that the school will continue to improve academically and that the reports in future years will be very positive.


Barger Academy 4

Posted April 30, 2014
- a community member
this school is great ! my daughter was getting honor roll and she is a great singer and actress so a special thanks to Mrs Copland Mrs Cummings Mrs Alsobrook Mrs Ison Mrs Carey Mrs Burton Mr Michell Mrs Roberts and Mrs Wilson Roberts thank you for all your hard work!

Barger Academy 5

Posted April 18, 2011
- a parent
I can not imagine anyone having a bad experience at Barger. My daughter will be going into the 2nd grade next year and my son will start kindergarden. I volunteer and drop into the classroom regularly and am always impressed with the teaching process and the quality of the staff. The principal Mr. Bagby is wonderful, he truly cares about the students and works hard to provide the latest technology to the teachers and students. He is also very approachable and considerate. Another wonderful thing about Barger is the love of the arts. I am so thankful that my children can be a part of a school so rich in culture.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Barger Academy
4808 Brainerd Road, Chattanooga, TN  37411
(423) 493-0348
Last modified Barger Academy is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Barger Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top