Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Chattanooga, TN
Students enrolled: 779
 

3 stars
Based on 19 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

15 reviews of this school


Hixson High School 4

Posted March 26, 2015
- a teacher
The information on this sight, including many of the reviews are several years old and out of date. We have grown to 850 students, no longer require students to wear uniforms, and have changed the daily class schedule to offer numerous enrichment courses. This means Hixson students can graduate with as many as 36 credits; far more than required by the State of Tennessee Department of Education.

Hixson High School 1

Posted July 18, 2013
- a parent
Tardiness and attendance is a great problem for this school . That causing low test scores, disruption of the student that get there on time and somehow it slips through without know one knowing ? I know of one disable student that came up missing was found down the road. In general I think the school would do a lot better cracking down on parents that are always late getting there children to school on time and sticking with the policy on how many days a child allowed to miss school. Creaks in this school not only hurts the child that always late or absent , but teaches them once they left school it okay to be late or not show up for work :therefore causing a higher poverty rate.


Hixson High School 3

Posted May 31, 2012
- a parent
I think that teenage pregnancy can be a problem at any school! I have one daughter who will be starting her 3rd year at a private university,, the thought of kids is far from her mined, she knows getting pregnant would take her back ten steps from getting education. My son who has been blessed with a full ride to a private university,, who just graduated from Hixson High is determan to get an education before even thinking of staring a family. So what I'm saying is it the schools fault for any poor decision a child makes or does lessons and morals start at home.

Hixson High School 3

Posted May 30, 2012
- a parent
Please give more info about hixon high school heard there are high rate of teenage pregnancy any update.

Hixson High School 5

Posted October 17, 2011
- a parent
Hixson High provides excellent opportunities for learning for all HHS Students..... from tutoring programs, college seminars to opportunities for parental involvement.... HHS has it all! We have a freshman this year and have been impressed with the amount of communication from all teachers as well as being welcomed to come into the school. Love the opportunity to form educational partnerships that will help my child succeed! AWESOME SCHOOL


Hixson High School 5

Posted September 13, 2011
- a parent
Hixson has been a very positive experience for my son. I love the teachers and staff, communication is excellent, and they are always there when you need them.

Hixson High School 5

Posted September 13, 2011
- a parent
Great school. Excellent principals, teachers, and staff. The sports programs are improving every year also.

Hixson High School 1

Posted March 07, 2010
- a parent
Poor. The principal Ms. Couch is bias and unfair to the students. She does not support her assistance pricipal's decisions and often makes comments to students about other students. Not a professional.


Hixson High School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a community member
It has an excellent faculty, high standards and happens to be the best high school in my area.

Hixson High School
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
Well for one I am a graduate of Hixson High School, and I have always admired the high values that are upheld by this school. Its staff, Teachers, and Student body Take a lot of pride in their school and many Area businessmen have come from Hixson High School.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hixson High School
5705 Middle Valley Road, Chattanooga, TN  37343
(423) 847-4800
Last modified Hixson High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hixson High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. Top