Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Rivermont Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 383 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 26, 2013

My 10 year daughter attends 5th grade at Rivermont Ele. Her grades have risen above and beyond what we had expected!! She loves the school her teachers and her fellow students. The staff are really nice and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2013

My son attended Mrs. Lee's Pre-K class last year. I was very impressed with what he learned during his time at Rivermont. He ended pre-k with strong phonetic and beginners reading, math and superb social skills. The teacher's ability to cater to those who were advanced as well as her ability to nurture those who may have needed more time and attention were very impressive. Great program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2012

My kids came from Birmingham City School System. Their grades were average to poor. When my son attended Rivermont he bacame an honor student and stayed one for his entire school year. His grade level went up 4 levels. His teacher was very professionl and caring. We had to move back to Birmingham, but my son still talks about his experience at Rivermont.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2011

This school needs to get its act together! As a parent of a 1st year student I dont know the ins and outs and wasnt given a rule book until school had been in for over a month! plus I just had to guess what they needed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2011

The principal is an arrogant and insecure woman. She talks over people- whether it be a parent, her employees, or a student- I have witnessed such in each case; this is highly unprofessional and moreover, rude. My child's class did not have a certified teacher until February. The original teacher had to leave- no problem; substitutes were brought in throughout the year- BIG problem; also there was absolutely NO communication on this matter the entire time, until the newly hired teacher did come on board and sent out a letter to parents. She is wonderful, by the way, however, my child did not get truly started in 2nd grade until she was hired. Again- in February!!! Why did it take so long to get a REAL teacher with all the credentials that the state requires- because of the principal- she does the hiring. Its no wonder this school is in improvement status. I can't wait until the school board takes over the school from the principal. I would fire her in a heartbeat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2011

Their are SO many wonderful & dedicated teachers, but as far as the Principal, Ms. Kerns ...well to say the least, I am very unimpressed! I have 2 children there. My oldest child has gone there since pre-k & Ms. Kerns has been NOTHING but rude & unwelcomming to say the least. I am an involved parent with the school & she never makes me feel welcome, not to mention the way she treats the Teachers. My child was is supposed to be in the gifted program, but for 3 years now he is STILL NOT in the program. Get rid of the Principal & this school has great potential. Especially with MORE PARENT INVOLVEMENT!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2010

My three children all go to Rivermont and we all love it there the teachers and students are great and I think the principal is great as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2009

This school has several great teachers and wonderful students. The principal, Mrs. Kerns, however is the reason that my child will not attend after this year. She is awful and ruins the whole feel of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2008

My daughter is in fifth grade. She has attended Rivermont Elementary since kindergarten. All of her teachers have been highly motivating with the methods they use in teaching.The principal and staff are great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2008

Rivermont has some good teachers. But it seems as if the parents are of least concern in most matters concerning administration. Students are next to last on the list, it depends on whether it is something that effects the teachers/administration. I think that it could be a great school, but it is not somewhere I would choose to send my child if I had other opportunities available to me.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2008

I am completely impressed with the level of dedication shown by the staff. Mrs. Kerns, the Principle, and the teachers really go above and beyond the call to work with parents, and students alike, to provide the highest level of education for these children. This school offers many events for the student, parents and the community .tutoring, Literary Night, and Math Night are only a few of the events for which these teachers volunteer. If you are considering sending your child to Rivermont, have no reservations about your decision. Its fabulous.


Posted September 8, 2008

Mrs Kerns has been wonderful in getting my child excited about coming to school. it took some time, but after trying various incentives, my son finally gets up in the morning ready and excited to go to Rivermont.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2008

As a teacher new to this school, I have been extremely happy with the staff, students and the leadership from the administration. My class size is small (just 15 kids) which will allow me to focus on, and accentuate each child's strengths and their individuality. I am excited about a fabulous year in first grade!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 14, 2008

I am a great-grandmother raising 2 students who attend Rivermont. One is in pre-k and the other in kindergarden. They enjoy an excellent accademic program and super teachers. The teachers have emerced themselves into teaching these children, but are somewhat hampered due to the lack of discipline they are allowed to use. What ever happened to the old fashioned way?


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
37%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
30%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
45%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

55 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
20%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
37%

2010

 
 
14%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
14%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
32%

2010

 
 
13%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
12%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
13%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
26%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
24%

2010

 
 
19%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
15%

2010

 
 
22%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

62 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students36%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White36%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students29%
African American23%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White32%
Economically disadvantaged26%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students55%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White58%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students62%
African American64%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students20%
African American18%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White25%
Economically disadvantaged22%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students14%
African American9%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White25%
Economically disadvantaged15%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students12%
African American6%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White25%
Economically disadvantaged12%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students64%
African American62%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students31%
African American24%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White34%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students24%
African American17%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White34%
Economically disadvantaged21%
Students with disabilities36%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students40%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White52%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students61%
African American48%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 47% 23%
White 43% 67%
Hispanic 6% 7%
Two or more races 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 88%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (423) 870-0611

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3330 Hixson Pk
Chattanooga, TN 37415
Phone: (423) 870-0610

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St Jude School
Chattanooga, TN


Dupont Elementary School
Chattanooga, TN


The Bright School
Chattanooga, TN




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT