Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

New Providence Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 3, 2013

I have 2 children that attend 6th grade this school year @ New Providence Middle School. They love it. We are new to the neighborhood, so they didnt know any other kids going into this school. Their grades have improved and they are involved in many extracurricular activities. They have had no problems with any bullying or fighting. The teachers are great and they stay in touch with me if they have any concerns or if they have good things to say. I volunteer once in awhile for things at the school, so am able to see for myself what is happening. The only thing I would change is the dances they have right after school until 4pm. I think they should let the students come home first and then have the dance from like 5-7pm.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 14, 2013

This is an overcrowded school! My child has had to deal with being bullied and the response to the bullying complaint did not produce any real results. My child was told to try to get along with the student that was bullying him and even placed on group projects with this student. Before the physcial bullying began Ihad spoken with a teacher about my concerns of derogatory & inappropriate racial name calling in the school and she stated that this is how teenagers play with each other. I pointed out that this was not appropriate in people of opposite nationalities and that was not the case. Also my child's teachers seem to be more concerned with being his friend than his teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2012

Okay I guess. I think my experience was so-so. I mean the teachers are great! But there are some weird students.. Though the lunch is always are funny because people make funny mixtures with there food!


Posted May 13, 2012

Most of the teachers are great! The students are okay. I guess the only bad thing is that people will always curse at lunch and " claim " their seat.


Posted November 17, 2009

I think NPMS is one of the best schools in the county. The teachers care about the students. The principal, Mrs. Barnett, is very supportive and cares about us. All of the bad reviews are from parents, not from students that actually attend the school. I am PROUD to say I go to New Providence Middle School.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2009

The teachers seem to really care about the students. The have a large class number, multiple times a day, yet try to give individual attention to each student. Especially those that seem to need help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2008

I Think NPMS is a good school. It isn't what a school looks like that makes the school. It takes parental involvement on a daily basis. You could have the newest of everything but if you don't have the parents and staff working together then it's not going to be. This is my sons first year and I was impressed the minute I told the staff I wanted involved I was. I have a great e-mail system with the teachers. So Don't judge a book by it's cover!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 8, 2008

im in 6th grade and i have heard alot on how bad the school is but i loved it when i got there. this is how it works the first day of school all of the 6th graders will go straight to the gym and all the teachers will come up and call out the students in their homeroom but the thing is there are 3 different teams one each grade level in 6th grade there is the racers trailblazers and champions i am on the racers and i have the best of fun and the trailblazers are cool too. but anyway each team has 5 teachers so each teams teachers will call your names and you will have to walk out of the bleachers and line up. 6th grade is fun you will have alot of your friends on your team and its so much fun you will love it!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 2, 2007

I am in 7th grade and I love this school, it is one of the best schools in montogomery county. This school provides wonderful oppritunities, it has great after school programs. The people here care about us. The teachers will stop whatever they're doing and help us, they enforce the rules, and I've never had a promblem that they didn't help me with. They teach things over until you get it and use creative methods to help us remeber. The staff is very good, my parents have never had any promblems getting in touch with any of the staff.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 2, 2007

I have never been to such a school where teachers are caring, the principal is very funny, and the academics are very good. There is so much good of the school, that I don't have anything to complain about. All I can say is that this school is the best in Montgomery County.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 1, 2005

I attend NPMS & I think that it is a great school. New Providence gives great learning oppertunities. Yea, sure I had a couple of teachers that I didn't like, but all of my teachers have tried there best to make me do my best.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 26, 2004

I am currently in the 9th grade and I attended NPMS for three years.People may say that the teachers don't care about how the student does that they're just there to 'pick up a pay check',well there just wrong.Every year that I was there,my teachers knew my personality and if I came in upset about something they would ask me if something was wrong.All those teachers are there to help someone and not just to get paid.The teachers may make mistakes and forget to sign an agenda every now and then,but they are human and do make mistakes.I hate to think that these people who are unsatisified could be the kids who got into trouble during the time they were at this school.The communication is wonderful and I wouldn't want to go to any other school no matter how high it was rated by the government.They do an excellent job!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 14, 2004

I am going into the tenth grade and attended NPMS for three straight years. I am the 2002-2003 Mustang of the Year, meaning that I am the best of the best. I feel that it is disgraceful to the school and the surrounding communities to have a bad perception of one of our schools. Although our school board may argue about the year's budget, the office personnel may get carried away talking about things unrelated to the workplace, and you might see a dustybunny or two under a desk, I can guarantee you that it is the same in workplaces all across America. This school is not in the below average performance rating given out by the federal government; I would much rather put my trust in qualified officials that know what they are talking about, rather than believe kids that are tired of school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 27, 2004

I have 2 kids that went to this school. the one thing I have noticed is the office personal have the kids do all of the work while that talk to each other. The teachers really don't care about our kids. It took me paying to have my child tested else where to find out that he is ADD, but the teachers saw the signs and not once called or sent a note home telling me they see somthing going on or that my child was having bad mood swings at school during his dads deployment. The staff at the school do not commuticate with the parents at all, even when the teacher says okay I'll sign his assignment book. They never do or call, write or email the parents. They are there to collect a pay check and thats it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2004

I am currently an 8th grade student at New Providence Middle School and I have been here the past 3 years. I am in a military family and I have moved several times and seeing alot of other schools I feel New Prov is certainly a great one. The teachers at this school are great, they listen to everything we say. They are very much willing to go over a lesson a million of times just to make sure we get what we are learning. Sure are school might not look so great on the outside, but the people who learn and teach here make the experience worthwhile.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 10, 2004

I think this is one of the worst schools I have ever walked into. It's dirty, old, and has a horrible atmosphere. The administration does nothing to enhance parent communication. While several of the teachers have been incredibly caring and gifted, the administration is overbearing and has a horrible attitude towards the students. I am ashamed to admit my children go to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 31, 2003

We sold our house (in Woodlawn) and moved to get our son out of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

The fact that many of the teachers and staff members continue to teach and work here rather than transfer to another school(and these oppurtunities are there) says a lot for the fortitude of the staff and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

As a student, I really like the school. I read a comment that said that our school is really dirty and that it's plain horrible. It's not. Actually, I think it's really clean. The principal really enforces the rules, while keeping the school in good spirits. The teachers I've had have taught me more things in 2 months than my best friend in one of North Carolina's top public schools have. The safety of the school is very good, too. Although my friends and I think that some are ridiculous, like not being able to wear jackets in class, this also makes it so that nobody can conceal a gun. About anything considered a distraction to the learning enviroment or a safety hazard....is forbidden, or only allowed on special occasions. We are a lot better than 2 stars.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 23, 2003

I have had two children attend NPMS and I find that overall the school is good. I have NEVER had a problem with speaking to a teacher or the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

317 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
33%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
39%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

317 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
60%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

317 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
65%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

379 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
41%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
28%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

379 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

379 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
64%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

379 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

316 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
29%

2010

 
 
17%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

339 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
40%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

317 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
65%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

339 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students40%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic40%
White42%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Students with disabilities24%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students60%
African American57%
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
White61%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilities39%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students79%
African American68%
Asiann/a
Hispanic81%
White82%
Economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disabilities49%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities81%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students35%
African American23%
Asiann/a
Hispanic41%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White38%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Students with disabilities19%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students45%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White47%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Students with disabilities25%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students64%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanic77%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students91%
African American82%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities64%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students31%
African American21%
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
White33%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Students with disabilities12%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students40%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic42%
White44%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Students with disabilities20%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students64%
African American61%
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
White65%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Students with disabilities37%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students84%
African American85%
Asiann/a
Hispanic92%
White81%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities43%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
100%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 56% 67%
Black 24% 23%
Hispanic 12% 7%
Two or more races 6% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 60%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

146 Cunningham La
Clarksville, TN 37042
Phone: (931) 648-5655

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Kenwood Middle School
Clarksville, TN


West Creek Middle School
Clarksville, TN


Clarksville Academy
Clarksville, TN


Living God Academy
Clarksville, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT