Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Northwest High School

Public | 9-12 | 1151 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 13, 2014

I currently go to this school..students are loud and disrespectful. Many kids cheat but lots of teachers don't care and don't have control over the classrooms. I feel uneducated alot of the times and can't focus on test because I have loud annoying people screaming next to me. it's a ok school. Lots of students talk about sex and drugs. if you find the right crowed then your going to be fine.Some teachers are awesome others i feel like cross the student and teacher barrier line. This school is going downhill fast used to be 1 one in the county not anymore!. The only good thing is cameras are everywhere and the lunch is good that's about it. Also if you come from another state you need focus electives and if your in your Junior or Senior year you will NOT graduate or you have to stay back. regulars electives don't count as focus electives. I have to take summer school and after school classes just to graduate. I have been to 3 different highs schools this is the worst!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 17, 2011

Pretty good school. We had a child graduate in 2010. The school does deserve more attention from the school board.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2009

I graduated from Northwest High School and now my daughter is a Sophomore at Northwest High School. I knew Mr. Stephens as a teacher when I was in school and now I get to see him in action as a principle. He cares about the students and does an excellent job at keeping parents informed as to what is going on with Northwest. Several former classmates are now teachers at Northwest and I am proud to have my daughter in their class. Northwest provides an AVID program that prepares students for college. Northwest offers many after school activities. Northwest was recently featured on Channel 4 WSMV's 'Cool Schools'. The word is out, Northwest is a cool school to go to!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2008

The school cares too much about diciplining the students than their actual education. Dicipling is definitely important but I believe that teachers should learn to choose their battles, it's very difficult for a child to learn from a teacher that they hate and are afraid of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2007

I love Northwest High School, we are a family not just a school. Yea, Northwest does'nt have as much money as the other schools, but Northwest is still the best!!! Amber Huff
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 13, 2007

I am a current student at Northwest, and I feel unsafe, generally uneducated, and basically not cared for. The school is not overcrowded, but rather, the students refuse to exhibit any form of respect towards others, including teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 30, 2007

Northwest was a terrible school. It was very poorly run and the administration was terrible. There are way too many students there which leads to a lot of unnecessary conflict.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted September 2, 2006

Focus on Extracurricular athletic activities is lacking at best. The current Athletic director does not seem to grasp the importance of quality athletic programs and the impact it has overall on the school and individual student. Coaching staff's tend to be focused more on their own agenda instead of helping create a quality program that emphasizes teamwork, discipline, leadership and school pride. Sports has a significant impact on participants. They learn leadership, teamwork, overcoming adversary and much more. All of these relate to real life experiences. Northwest High School athletics lack discipline, quality leadership and consistency in fair treatment of individual players. The athletic director appears to be more interested in his own agenda and not what is best for the school and the students who attend. A Quality athletic program brings School Spirit, Pride along with opportunity for individual athletes Scholarships.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 28, 2005

I'm not a parent, but I am a former student. I loved attending Northwest. I don't think that I would have been any happier anywhere else. The other schools may have the money, but thats really all they have. Northwest has a great teaching staff who really cares about the students. As a former athlete I would deff. say that they would rather have you excelling in school than on the field. Most sports teams require a min. GPA be held, and below a certain grade you have to attend tutoring. If we were in Clarksville and had a teen I would deff. consider puting my child at NWHS!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 13, 2004

I feel that NWHS is one of the best schools in Tn. The faculty is constantly trying new ways to engage the students in learning. The teachers are concerned about not only their class, but all the students in the school. I have always felt safe when being in the school. when my child graduated from NW, she was amazed when she attended college how much more she had be taught than many of the students. If I had another child, I would want them to attend NWHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2004

I have graduated from nwhs and i went there for all four years and being there i went through a couple of principals.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 16, 2004

As a 10th grader, this is my second year here at Northwest High School. I find the school to be okay. There are some good and bad things about the school. A few good things would be a few of the teachrs, the activities, and some of the courses. A few of the bad things would be a few of the teachers, some of the projects, and the overcrowding. Overall the school is an interesting place.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 2, 2004

Environment of attitude. Inappropriate contact in the halls. Lack of attention, concern or connection with the students. No learning, just scan, test and dump. You know,...the typical public school experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2004

I felt that during my stay at Northwest that i did not feel safe. The teachers were not surrounding us in the morning (when most mayhem occurs). I feel that there could be improvement in this. I also felt like NWHS did not let me get a grasp of a real high school expierence.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 26, 2003

Northwest had a great load of teachers. I was only there for a brief couple of years but enjoyed every thing about it. The teachers were always there to listen.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

274 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
38%
Algebra II

The state average for Algebra II was 42% in 2013.

267 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
49%
Biology I

The state average for Biology I was 62% in 2013.

290 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
52%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

288 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
55%
English II

The state average for English II was 59% in 2013.

279 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
63%
English III

The state average for English III was 40% in 2013.

290 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
41%
U.S. History

2013

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students54%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic65%
White57%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a

Algebra II

All Students48%
African American35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
White55%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

Biology I

All Students64%
African American54%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
White70%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities13%
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Students67%
African American52%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
White73%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disabilities22%
English language learnersn/a

English II

All Students58%
African American45%
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
White63%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Students with disabilities32%
English language learnersn/a

English III

All Students34%
African American28%
Asiann/a
Hispanic39%
White35%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

U.S. History

All Studentsn/a
African American94%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilities89%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 67%
Black 25% 23%
Hispanic 9% 7%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Nurse(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Programs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Parent involvement
  • Join PTO/PTA
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

800 Lafayette Rd
Clarksville, TN 37042
Phone: (931) 648-5675

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Kenwood High School
Clarksville, TN


Clarksville Academy
Clarksville, TN


Living God Academy
Clarksville, TN



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT