Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Richview Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 29, 2013

This is a great middle school! The PASS program is wonderful and their are so many extra activities offered here-from Robotics, to International Club, Art Club, Key Club etc. The teachers here are excellent and they absolutely have the students as top priority. The school nurse is superb and the office staff goes above and beyond to get things answered. Sports are great here also. Academically; they challenge students and prepare them well for higher education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2012

I am currently in eigth grade at Richview, and I love this school! I personally believe that it is the best middle school in the county. For the most part, the teachers are very good at their job. Of course there are those few teachers that some students don't like, but all of the teachers are very fair. Our principals are very kind. They make you respect them, but will also crack jokes and compliment you. The guidance counselors are amazing along with the rest of the staff. As far as the students go, Richview is a diverse school. Most of the students are what you would call "preppy" and do sports such as dance, cheer, golf, baseball, and football. Our sports team do very well, by the way. There are also some "ghetto" and "gothic/skater" type of people at this school. In my opinion, Richview isn't as cliquey as other schools. For the most part, everyone is nice to everyone here. There are many clubs provided as well, a few being Jr. Civitan, FCA, and art club. If you come to Richview, I promise you will have a good time, as long as you behave and show respect for everyone especially adults. I hope this helps! (:


Posted March 5, 2011

If your child is not in a main stream classroom you can forget about your child getting the education they deserve. If your child has an IEP I would not recommend this school! They place labels on your children no matter how much you try to work with the school. Their is always an excuse why things can not be done to make your childs education better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2010

Some teachers single out children who have ADHD or even perhaps other issues and in turn my son has made straight F's all school year in one single grade because of it.I even so much as had two meetings done and helped with home work and emailed the teacher.Not pleased at my sons science teacher what so ever.I also have found Richview to be very displeasing by the fact every single time I have went in to pick my son up I was ID then another parent was not ID.And they some times joked about it and when I brought it up to their attention they should ID everyone regardless how often the parent picks up the child not just picking and chooses.At sometimes I felt my son was over whelmed with homework and also was told he should know these things when he asked for help from one teacher.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2010

It has many programs to fit the needs of a very diversified student body. Parents are kept informed about their student and communication is very good. Teachers have a very caring attitude with students. Office personnel are always very welcoming and friendly. I am very pleased with this schools performance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2009

The school is great the teachers will do anyting for the students.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 23, 2009

Richview is a very well organized school and people are way too hard on the sixth graders
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 24, 2009

I think the teachers there, think they know your kid and try to do whats best for them but really they have no idea what their talking about!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2007

I started Richview last year. It has not been a horrible experience, but 7th grade is awful. The teachers give so much homework, and my back weighs in the 20's sometimes(lbs)! At our lunch we are to be silent,in the hallways silent, and in class silent. We never get to talk. My grades are decent but I am also very smart. The parent involvment is not very good. Parents are usually never there. The new principal is very nice, though, and is trying to make this a good year. I am very happy with the pep ralleys frequently! There are many academic activities available, but none that are very interesting. The related arts teachers are ok. I do not really perfer mine, but I have liked the ones I have had in the past. Richview is not very good. I will be happy to leave.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 12, 2006

The academic programs in this school are very solid. Because of certain mandates, the extracurricular activities leave a bit to be desired. As a sixth grade mom I wasn't sure about the parent involvement, but have been very pleasantly surprised, as the teachers are very open to having the parents in a hands on roll during the day. The principal is very supportive to volunteers and has an open door policy to everyone. I am really pleased with the communication from the teachers. Over all, one of the better middle schools in our county.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 5, 2005

My child had a wonderful start at Richview Middle last year in the 6th grade. He had amazing teachers who treated him as if he was their own. I hold his teachers in the highest regard and hope others will have the same experience this year as my child Cruises on into the 7th grade feeling confident and secure.Thanks Richview for allowing my husband and me to feel sure our child is getting the very best education. We have one more coming your way in a couple of years. Have a great school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2005

I think that Richview has a wondeful academic program. They have some of the best teacher in montgomery county. They focus on each indivual childs needs. They have a good extracurricular program including Basketball, Baseball, and football. Im glad that I attends Richview Middle school. There is no other school in the county that i would rather attend. The classes are good class sizes, they are not over crowed so the teachers can work more with the students. My Middle school experience will be one that i will never forget.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 45% in 2013.

341 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
40%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
36%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

341 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
71%
Science

The state average for Science was 62% in 2013.

341 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
76%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

341 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 47% in 2013.

334 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
34%

2010

 
 
32%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

334 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
63%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

335 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
66%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 81% in 2013.

335 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 41% in 2013.

268 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
35%

2010

 
 
27%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 47% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 64% in 2013.

293 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
69%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 82% in 2013.

327 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students40%
African American31%
Asiann/a
Hispanic19%
White45%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilities17%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students68%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Hispanic48%
White75%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Students with disabilities32%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students82%
African American62%
Asiann/a
Hispanic70%
White87%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilities40%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students95%
African American91%
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities72%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students50%
African American22%
Asiann/a
Hispanic38%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White55%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Students with disabilities10%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students58%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White64%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disabilities14%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students79%
African American59%
Asiann/a
Hispanic69%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students89%
African American73%
Asiann/a
Hispanic75%
Native Hawaiian/Pacific Islandern/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities50%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students41%
African American30%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White46%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Students with disabilities24%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students56%
African American29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
White63%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students76%
African American63%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Students with disabilities40%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students92%
African American81%
Asiann/a
Hispanic82%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilities76%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 65% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
100%
English I

The state average for English I was 68% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a

English I

All Studentsn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Gateway/End-of-Course (EOC) exams to test high school students in language arts, math, science, and social studies upon completion of relevant courses. Students must pass the algebra I, English II, and biology I tests, called the Gateway exams, in order to graduate. The Gateway/EOC exams are standards-based tests that measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 74% 67%
Black 15% 23%
Hispanic 4% 7%
Two or more races 4% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 33%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2350 Memorial Dr
Clarksville, TN 37043
Phone: (931) 648-5620

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Unity Christian Academy
Clarksville, TN


Rossview Middle School
Clarksville, TN


Weems Academy
Clarksville, TN


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT