Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
37 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 47 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Glenellen Elementary School 5

Posted October 02, 2015
- a parent
My son has really blossomed in the short time he's been in kindergarten at this year. His teacher is great with the kids and I'm amazed at how much he's learned in class and how much he is enjoying it. I loved the fall picnic we had today and that his class is going on their first field trip next week. The principle and all other staff that I've met are very welcoming and seem competent. So far I have no complaints.

Glenellen Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted October 02, 2015
- a parent
Mrs. Thomas, K Teacher (I love hearing my son tell me what he's learned. It's clear his teacher gets excited about what she'd teaching.) Patti Koloski , Principal (shows genuine care for students) Latoya Allen, Office (always helpful and smiling)


Glenellen Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted October 02, 2015
- a parent
I think a lot of homework is put onto children at such a young age. I don't think the school in particular is adding to it, they are just following the standards they have to in order to pass assessments.

Glenellen Elementary School 3

Posted July 09, 2014
- a parent
My daughter has been going to this school since she was in kindergarten. She is now going into fifth grade. She is a special needs student. When she was in kindergarten her Centerstone therapist decided to let her walk back to class by herself and she walked out of the door and onto the playground. Not one person knew she left until a stranger brought her back into the building. Nobody called me when it happened and I found out through a note in her study buddy. The principal got mad at me when she found out that I got ahold of the superintendant of the school district and didnt go to her first. I didn't have any problems from her first grade through her third grade years. During her fourth grade year they called me several times to come get her because she was suspended and a few times to calm her down. She also split her head open and nobody knew how she did it. As you can see I had a couple major problems and a few minor problems. The teachers she had communicated with me constantly and were very nice. I never had problems with the office staff.

Glenellen Elementary School 5

Posted January 16, 2014
- a parent
I do not have any complaints about this school. My child's teacher does a great job at communicating with parents. My child also looks forward to going to school and is progressing. I feel well informed about what is going on within the school, the district, and the learning center.


Glenellen Elementary School 5

Posted October 03, 2013
- a parent
I am very surprised by the comments about this school and more so about the principal. All four of my kids go and have gone to this school for the past five years. Three of my kids were special needs. The faculty and staff have always been wonderful to work with and very accommodating. There has always been open communication and eagerness to work to together to do what is best for the kids. Cindy Adams alone has always been front and center if we ever needed anything. She has never ceased to amaze me at how well she knows the kids. During the IEP's she is always telling me instances where she observed my kids doing something. I can't think of a single teacher or therapist that I would replace. They have ALL always made me feel like and shown that my kids education and development are very important. My oldest started out at Sango and we moved to Glenellen's district. I was a little bummed at first but Glenellen has just blown me away. I am just having a hard time believing some of the things that have been said. Also, the parents are very involved. Just try finding a parking spot on Family picnic day or for some event. I just love that!

Glenellen Elementary School 1

Posted September 19, 2013
- a parent
Very disappointed in this school for a variety of reasons. When requesting assistance teachers are not hesitant to share class size as a reason for not performing much needed instruction or follow up.. My child has regressed significantly since being enrolled here.

Glenellen Elementary School 5

Posted June 06, 2013
- a parent
Very Clean, Great enviroment. Excellent teachers and Staff. My son just graduated from 5th grade and for the last 2 years he's been in Glenellen I had no complains at all; he mature a lot. Great communication with the 4th and 5th grade teachers they were always willing to help him. 5 stars for Glenellen. Go Tortoises!


Glenellen Elementary School 1

Posted June 21, 2012
- a parent
This school could benefit from more positive leadership. The principal is rude to parents, students and teachers. I have personally seen her talk down to her staff. I have seen this school from the inside and have seen her staff brought down because of her leadership tones. Instead of helping teachers reach full potential it's almost as if she bullies them. The students are definately affected because the teachers are not at their best, worried of when the next shoe will drop. I have seen it first hand and have also seen this as a parent of three students at this school. I also do not believe that the special needs students in this school are treated with the same diginity as the model student. Every child is equal, and I do not feel that is the case in this school. Do not get me wrong, there are and have been wonderful teachers at Glenellen, but most do not stay long because of current leadership.

Glenellen Elementary School 1

Posted May 29, 2012
- a parent
The principal is a dictator, yielding no autonomy to her teachers or the parents. My daughter's teacher was a great teacher and a great young woman, but it was obvious that the weight of this principal crushed her spirit and resolve. This school will not move toward greatness until she is replaced.

Nearby schools

Glenellen Elementary School
825 Needmore Road, Clarksville, TN  37040
(931) 920-6158
Last modified Glenellen Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top