Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Barkers Mill Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 1112 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 14, 2009

We have been with Barkers Mill since it opened, and I am very impressed by the staff. Someone before mentioned that they did not think the staff was diverse enough, well I am sure that all has to do with the area that we live in. I am from the DC area, and oviously the area is more diverse just because of population. You have to look at the population here, and realize that it is not as diverse as other states. Would it be fair to hire someone just because of their race/religion just to get more diversity in the school? No, we want the best teachers regu=uardless of the color of their skin or religion. It's not fair to not hire someone because of the color of their skin, just like it is not fair to hire someone just because of the color of thir skin.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2009

The people who are judging the entire school based on one person are rediculous. This school has many great teachers. Most teachers are young women, but this is who works at the elementary level. Many men do not work at the elementary level. The turnover is high, but just like the children turnover rate, it is due to the military. Many of the teachers are married to soldiers and often get stationed at other posts. This is something that cannot be helped. This school has a careing staff and caring administration. The students love going there and the teachers seem to really enjoy working there. It is warm and inviting and children and thier learning are put first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 23, 2009

This school has great teachers! The one thing this school lacks is great leadership. The principal and asst principal are the worst i have ever seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 3, 2008

I would like to comment on the review posted 11/14/08. Before you judge please do your homework. As I have. Alot of men do not teach at the elementary level because they would like to coach a sport at the high level of education. There are very few application for men at the elementary level. As far as the ethnic back grounds they do work at BMES in other grade levels. We have been a military family for 20+years and my child has been in several schools. This is an amazing diverse student body.....We love it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2008

As this school is directly near a military base, and reflects a diverse student body, I am disappointed that the staff is not reflective of this. I would like to see the principal hire a staff of a variety of ethnic backgrounds. I think it's important for students to experience different teachers and make connections. My son has been at Hazelwood Elem and Barkers Mill for 6 years and has always had a young-middle aged white women as his teacher. Never a man, never an African American, it's always the same. Its a disservice to the students to not see people from their background/culture in teaching positions in the building. What statement does this send to the students?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 25, 2008

My daughter loves going to Barkers Mill. Some of the teachers are a little young and lacking in experience, but the principal and office staff are wonderful. I would recommend this school to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2008

I love this school!! The principal is awesome and so is the staff!! My son loved his first year there!! Five stars!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

Barkers Mill School has many wonderful teachers working there. I love Barkers Mill and feel great knowing that my children have a wonderful school to go to everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2008

We have had nothing but problems out of this school. The teachers are young and our child's teacher is often rude and condescending to both our child and to us. Our child has been bullied and nothing was done to rectify the situation. The principal is nice and firm. However, even after speaking with her and our child's teacher about the problems, nothing has been done. The music teacher, guidance counselor, and PE teachers are nice and have been very supportive of our child. This is just one parent's view...however, the teacher turnover is great, so much so that pride in the school and stability is at stake. After two years at this school and the school is only two years old, we are going to do what the teachers are doing and take our child elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2008

My son's teacher Mrs. Lopez was a wonderful teacher. She was firm when need be and understanding and compasionate. Her class made learning fun with her hands on lessons. As for the school itself, I loved it! The principal is a wonderful woman who truely cares for her students. The staff was always friendly coming up with interesting and fun activities for the children and their families. My son still talks about his time at Barkers Mill.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2007

I have had the best experience with this school. My children are so happy to go to school every day. The teachers, staff and the Principal are the best there are. Very good school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

I love this school. What I love the most is that they put the students (my child) first, the parents come second. You will always find a smiling face in the front office, and if I may say very helpful office staff. The principal and assist principal will always stop and speak to you. You are never second rated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2007

I was very impressed with Barkers Mill Elem. I am a military dad who is deployed a lot. My child loved going to this school. The school is very inviting, and very loving. The staff, principal and teachers are outstanding.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 59% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
72%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 49% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
53%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
71%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 84% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 49% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
37%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 48% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
35%
Science

The state average for Science was 56% in 2013.

176 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
51%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 88% in 2013.

175 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 57% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
55%
Reading/Language Arts

The state average for Reading/Language Arts was 55% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
62%
Science

The state average for Science was 63% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
69%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 87% in 2013.

177 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
n/a
Writing

2010

 
 
n/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
African American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic71%
White72%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities35%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students59%
African American57%
Asiann/a
Hispanic62%
White59%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Students with disabilities29%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students77%
African American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
White80%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities41%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students88%
African American88%
Asiann/a
Hispanic85%
White88%
Economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities59%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
African American48%
Asiann/a
Hispanic52%
White68%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Students with disabilities65%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students45%
African American30%
Asiann/a
Hispanic45%
White56%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Students with disabilities24%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students72%
African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic73%
White80%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities53%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students94%
African American92%
Asiann/a
Hispanic91%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities71%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
African American66%
Asian90%
Hispanic66%
White75%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities45%
English language learnersn/a

Reading/Language Arts

All Students68%
African American61%
Asian90%
Hispanic71%
White71%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities48%
English language learnersn/a

Science

All Students88%
African American85%
Asiann/a
Hispanic80%
White91%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities62%
English language learnersn/a

Social Studies

All Students91%
African American84%
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilities62%
English language learnersn/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Tennessee used the Tennessee Comprehensive Assessment Program (TCAP) Achievement Test to test students in grades 3 through 8 in reading/language arts, math, science and social studies. The TCAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Tennessee. The goal is for all students to score at or above the proficient level.

The different student groups are identified by the Tennessee Department of Education. If there are a small number of students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Tennessee Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 41% 67%
Black 27% 23%
Hispanic 20% 7%
Two or more races 8% 1%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 45%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1230 Little Bobcat La
Clarksville, TN 37042
Phone: (931) 906-7235

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT